-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Finally talked my Mom into switching ordered her a 20" iMac...


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
24 replies to this topic

#1 of 25 Eric M Jones

Eric M Jones

    Second Unit

  • 398 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2000

Posted February 24 2008 - 06:16 AM

After many years of working on it I finally talked her into going Mac. She's been through 3 pc's since her first. On one hand I'm excited because I can actually help her when she calls with some annoying computer question. Being a Mac guy for many years I only know the very basics of windows and always found it very annoying to attempt to trouble shoot over the phone. On the other hand me thinks I'll hear from her more often...

Now I'm hoping that screen sharing works as well in Leopard as promised being able to control her machine remotely (we live 350 miles apart) should simplify life considerably.

-EJ
 Visit my blog coregeek.net

#2 of 25 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul

  • 39,586 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted February 24 2008 - 10:02 AM

Did the same thing for my Mom a few months ago.

Her windows PC was having problems. She was just
getting used to Windows (she's a novice) when I switched
her over to a 20" iMac.

Took her a mere day to get the hang of Leopard. Was no big
learning curve for her. She only checks email and browses the web.

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#3 of 25 Jeffrey Johnson

Jeffrey Johnson

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2002

Posted February 25 2008 - 03:08 AM

Eric - let me know how well screen sharing works, as I have had the same idea for my grandparents. They're currently running Windows ME on an old 700mhz PC with 16MB of RAM and I keep telling them that it's time for a new computer. Screen sharing would help me convince them to go OSX, as my grandma is constantly "clicking on that thingy next to the other thing and then the thing disappeared and now a different thing is there", which results in me driving to their house to make a toolbar come back or something else equally easy, but impossible to determine over the phone due to the lack of a cohesive definition of the problem.

#4 of 25 Eric M Jones

Eric M Jones

    Second Unit

  • 398 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2000

Posted February 26 2008 - 12:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey Johnson
Eric - let me know how well screen sharing works, as I have had the same idea for my grandparents. They're currently running Windows ME on an old 700mhz PC with 16MB of RAM and I keep telling them that it's time for a new computer. Screen sharing would help me convince them to go OSX, as my grandma is constantly "clicking on that thingy next to the other thing and then the thing disappeared and now a different thing is there", which results in me driving to their house to make a toolbar come back or something else equally easy, but impossible to determine over the phone due to the lack of a cohesive definition of the problem.

Yup. Been there done that way too many times. I'll keep you posted. Machine ships in a few days.

-EJ
 Visit my blog coregeek.net

#5 of 25 Yumbo

Yumbo

    Screenwriter

  • 2,243 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 13 1999

Posted February 27 2008 - 08:28 AM

Just received mine. Wow!

Would it be faster than my G5 2.5ghz dual tower generally?
Certainly quieter.
Opening iMovie HD is worlds apart. I hate to think (FEEL) a small iMac is better than the tower I paid big mulla for.

#6 of 25 Keith Plucker

Keith Plucker

    Screenwriter

  • 1,026 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999
  • LocationSacramento

Posted February 27 2008 - 03:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey Johnson
Eric - let me know how well screen sharing works, as I have had the same idea for my grandparents. They're currently running Windows ME on an old 700mhz PC with 16MB of RAM and I keep telling them that it's time for a new computer. Screen sharing would help me convince them to go OSX, as my grandma is constantly "clicking on that thingy next to the other thing and then the thing disappeared and now a different thing is there", which results in me driving to their house to make a toolbar come back or something else equally easy, but impossible to determine over the phone due to the lack of a cohesive definition of the problem.

I would agree it is probably time for an upgrade but you could use the free version of LogMeIn to get remote access to that system from OS X. However, it does require some kind of basic broadband, are they using dial up?

In any event, you can check it out at http://logmein.com

-Keith
As far as I'm concerned, it's a damned shame that a field as potentially dynamic and vital as journalism should be overrun with dullards, bums, and hacks, hag-ridden with myopia, apathy, and complacence, and generally stuck in a bog of stagnant mediocrity. - Hunter S. Thompson, 1958, from cover letter he wrote for a newspaper job.


#7 of 25 Jeffrey Johnson

Jeffrey Johnson

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 69 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2002

Posted February 28 2008 - 08:25 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Plucker
I would agree it is probably time for an upgrade but you could use the free version of LogMeIn to get remote access to that system from OS X. However, it does require some kind of basic broadband, are they using dial up?

In any event, you can check it out at http://logmein.com

-Keith

Keith - Thanks for the recommendation! I'll have to check it out. They do have broadband, so that's not a problem. But this is also a very good excuse to have them get rid of their ancient technology (I was shocked to see recently that their PC doesn't even have a USB port)...

#8 of 25 Yumbo

Yumbo

    Screenwriter

  • 2,243 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 13 1999

Posted March 07 2008 - 10:21 PM

Ok,

I really feel like a Windows user now...I just tried installing it (to run ONE PC program) after no luck with Parallels.

AND IT FAILED (Boot camp install kept looping - I QUIT with F3), and now I can't boot into ANYTHING.

I just have the chime and a blank grey screen.

I tried Target disk mode, install discs, Leopard disc. NOTHING. Just allows me to eject discs.

Someone please have a solution, other than APPLE repair?

#9 of 25 DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer

  • 13,599 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted March 08 2008 - 02:16 AM

The BootCamp installed failed? And this hosed your whole Mac? I've only done one BootCamp install, on my system, and it went smoothly and by the directions. I've had a few glitches since then because of Parallels, but that's not what you're describing.

Have you called AppleCare? Can they help with a BootCamp inflicted damage?

#10 of 25 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul

  • 39,586 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted March 09 2008 - 09:10 PM

Yumbo,

With my limited knowledge....

Did you try booting the computer with Leopard disc in drive
while holding down the "C" key?

I know that's how you can at least tell the computer to reinstall
the OS or format.

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#11 of 25 Yumbo

Yumbo

    Screenwriter

  • 2,243 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 13 1999

Posted March 09 2008 - 09:18 PM

Bula Ron,

I took it to AVS, where OPTION, boot was suggested, but nothing was working...so I asked a customer of mine who took the old iMac G4 lamp off my hands, who suggested OPTION-S, which allowed me to boot off the external.

Friggin Windows Setup had wiped my internal drive.

I have little desire to re-attempt installing Windows - DOS is still UGLY.

So, I've re-installed everything which was a snap, and understandable as well, not to mention PRETTY, lol.

So many of our customers keep admiring it, and want to order one as well. I quite like the new keyboard, but not the mouse. I still prefer my Kensington Orbit trackball.

#12 of 25 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul

  • 39,586 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted March 10 2008 - 01:08 AM

Yumbo,

I don't quite understand your response. Forgive me.

I know I may have given an obvious answer, but was that
the fix that got you back up and running?

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#13 of 25 Yumbo

Yumbo

    Screenwriter

  • 2,243 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 13 1999

Posted March 10 2008 - 07:28 AM

Nothing was working except for OPTION-S-BOOT.

C-BOOT didn't.
Boot with external didn't.
OPTION-BOOT kept freezing after external listed (no C drive).

Reformatted my internal drive with Disk Utility and re-installed OSX.

#14 of 25 Yumbo

Yumbo

    Screenwriter

  • 2,243 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 13 1999

Posted March 12 2008 - 04:17 PM

Finally got Parallels running today with Windows XP off an ISO.

Ran the PC program which is out of date after all. That's all she wrote.

#15 of 25 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul

  • 39,586 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted March 12 2008 - 08:53 PM

I rarely resort to having to fire up Vista on my Mac
via Parallels, but whenever I do, I am amazed at how
great Parallels works.

That has to be the best software ever produced for OS X.
I have had it for a year now. It was "good" back then, but
today it has gotten so much better. The ease of dragging
and dropping files between operating systems is amazing.
The software is 100% perfect except for the fact that it still
can't support the aero graphics as was promised.

Anyone looking to have some fun should invest in Parallels
and install XP or VISTA on your Mac. It really works that well!

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#16 of 25 Eric M Jones

Eric M Jones

    Second Unit

  • 398 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2000

Posted March 30 2008 - 01:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey Johnson
Eric - let me know how well screen sharing works, as I have had the same idea for my grandparents. They're currently running Windows ME on an old 700mhz PC with 16MB of RAM and I keep telling them that it's time for a new computer. Screen sharing would help me convince them to go OSX, as my grandma is constantly "clicking on that thingy next to the other thing and then the thing disappeared and now a different thing is there", which results in me driving to their house to make a toolbar come back or something else equally easy, but impossible to determine over the phone due to the lack of a cohesive definition of the problem.

Forgot about this thread... Happy to report that screen sharing has worked very well with both machines at my house. Mom just took her machine home today so we'll see it 350 miles between the two makes a difference.

Unfortunately running Leopard on my iMac G5 is another story...

-EJ
 Visit my blog coregeek.net

#17 of 25 Eric M Jones

Eric M Jones

    Second Unit

  • 398 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2000

Posted August 02 2008 - 06:30 AM

Well after several months of only minor glitches things aren't looking good for my mom's new iMac. She's been getting regular kernel panics. Have to say I'm a little frustrated considering I spent years trying to get her to switch and now only 5 months of owning one her iMac is bombing???!!!!

-EJ
 Visit my blog coregeek.net

#18 of 25 DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer

  • 13,599 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 02 2008 - 07:07 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric M Jones
Well after several months of only minor glitches things aren't looking good for my mom's new iMac. She's been getting regular kernel panics. Have to say I'm a little frustrated considering I spent years trying to get her to switch and now only 5 months of owning one her iMac is bombing???!!!!

-EJ
What does AppleCare say about it? That's definitely not normal. I've had a few kernel panics but nothing like you've described. I hope you can get it fixed: Apple or Windows, no one wants these problems.

#19 of 25 Yumbo

Yumbo

    Screenwriter

  • 2,243 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 13 1999

Posted August 02 2008 - 07:14 AM

Hi,

Could be:

1. Dust (clear it out)

2. Bad software (run the updates or re-install if it persists)

I had my laptop do that badly after I dropped it - re-install helped.
My tower was doing it last month - dusting, and updates helped.

I am referring to the black filter screen that forces you to restart.

Run the software updates remotely if you need to.

#20 of 25 Eric M Jones

Eric M Jones

    Second Unit

  • 398 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2000

Posted August 02 2008 - 07:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveF
What does AppleCare say about it?
Haven't gone that far yet. I'm troubleshooting it now, although that's hard to do when there's 350 miles between you. There a firmware update that I'm going to try first and if that doesn't work I'm going to have her take it to the local Apple service center. There are no Apple stores close to her.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveF
That's definitely not normal.
I hope so, although I'm getting a little discouraged. I had a smilier issue with my G5 iMac. I had to take it to the Apple store 3 times and argue my point each time until they finally conceded and decided that it needed a new logic board. Granted it has worked fine since but that was a 2 month ordeal I would not like to duplicate!

That said I had never had hardware issues with the prior 4 Macs I had before the G5 iMac.

-EJ
 Visit my blog coregeek.net


Back to Apple and Macintosh



Forum Nav Content I Follow