-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Toshiba HD-A3 upconvert SDDVDs over component?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   PeterK

PeterK

    Supporting Actor

  • 519 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 14 2004

Posted February 21 2008 - 07:37 AM

sorry if the answer to this question is burried somewhere in here, but i want to buy one of these later this afternoon.
since the A3 is so damn cheap now, and my dvd player is starting to skip discs, I'm going to go for. I just want to know if it will upconvert over component or if I have to use HDMI. I would just prefer to use component, my tv is DVI anyways so i'd have to go to all the hassle of ordering a HDMI to DVI cable from bluejeans just to display a picture that won't be any better than component anyways.
I might even pick up cheap HD-DVDs as the firesale on them begins...
Vin Diesel will never, ever buy Bose

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Stephen_J_H

Stephen_J_H

    Producer

  • 4,007 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2003
  • Real Name:Stephen J. Hill
  • LocationNorth of the 49th

Posted February 21 2008 - 07:44 AM

You have to use HDMI, as all HD players (and this includes BD) will only upconvert over component if the disc is not copy-protected. That selection is limited, and includes Harry Potter and the Philosopher's/Sorcerer's Stone and some early Paramount titles, though I couldn't tell you which ones. The HDMI-to-DVI cable will only work if your DVI connection is HDCP compliant (check your owner's manual). HDMI-to-DVI cables are cheap anyways, and can be had at your local Wal*Mart.
"My opinion is that (a) anyone who actually works in a video store and does not understand letterboxing has given up on life, and (b) any customer who prefers to have the sides of a movie hacked off should not be licensed to operate a video player."-- Roger Ebert

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Zack Gibbs

Zack Gibbs

    Screenwriter

  • 1,687 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2005

Posted February 21 2008 - 08:12 AM

There is a very clear increase in quality from component to HDMI/DVI as well. You'll see the difference.
"Because he's the hero that Gotham deserves, but not the one it needs right now... and so we'll hunt him... because he can take it... because he's not a hero... he's a silent guardian, a watchful protector... a DARK KNIGHT."

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   PeterK

PeterK

    Supporting Actor

  • 519 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 14 2004

Posted February 21 2008 - 08:39 AM

ah, so assuming none of those are true (can't remember if my tv is HDCP, it's one of those toshiba 720p 50" CRT RPTVs...can't even remember the model number off top) will this player still output a 480p signal over component or unprotected DVI? will is just downconvert HD DVDs or will those not even play?
Vin Diesel will never, ever buy Bose

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Dave>h

Dave>h

    Second Unit

  • 371 posts
  • Join Date: May 01 2004

Posted February 21 2008 - 08:49 AM

It'll play hd dvd at full resolution over component, just won't upconvert.
I understand there are ways around it but discussing them is forbidden on the boards.

DAve

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Stephen_J_H

Stephen_J_H

    Producer

  • 4,007 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2003
  • Real Name:Stephen J. Hill
  • LocationNorth of the 49th

Posted February 21 2008 - 09:48 AM

Dave is correct. HD DVD will play at 1080i over component, but upconversion will not occur over component. Thankfully, none of the studios utilised the ICT token on HD DVD to restrict resolution through component to 480p.
"My opinion is that (a) anyone who actually works in a video store and does not understand letterboxing has given up on life, and (b) any customer who prefers to have the sides of a movie hacked off should not be licensed to operate a video player."-- Roger Ebert

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   JohnMor

JohnMor

    Producer

  • 3,345 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 06 2004
  • Real Name:John Moreland
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA

Posted February 22 2008 - 09:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zack Gibbs
There is a very clear increase in quality from component to HDMI/DVI as well. You'll see the difference.

Not necessarily. My HDMI/DVI connection isn't as good as my component. The color rendering is better, but the fine detail is less. Go figure. Over component I can literally count the pores in the actors' faces, but via the HDMI/DVI connection, their skin is smoother and less detailed. I was very disappointed.