What's new

Projector vs. Plasma (1 Viewer)

mecheman

Auditioning
Real Name
Eddie
Hello Everyone,

This is my first time doing this but here it goes.

I'm planning to build a house by the fall. In the basement I'm figuring I'll have a home theatre 14' x 20'. I'd like some input on the following:

1) I was thinking of getting the Panasonic 58" plasma, 1080p. However I think I would like the big picture a projector gives you. Will a 1080p projector give me as good a picture? What about motion blur? If a projector is the way to go then what brand and model?

2) What receiver is the best for under $500.

3) I was thinking of in-wall speakers. Is there a big difference in sound?

Any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Ennsio

Second Unit
Real Name
Chris
Welcome to the forum.

I'll take a first shot at addressing your questions, but I do not have a 1080p tv or projector yet so I'll let others address that more specifically from their experience.

First, a 14' x 20' room is a good size for a home theater. From an accoustic point of view, you want to avoid square rooms or rooms with dimensions that are divisible by the same number (i.e. 15' x 15 or 15' x 20'), because you get sound cancellations in certain frequencies due to sound waves bouncing off the walls and canceling each other out. 14' x 20' is close to 14' x 21', which would fit under the "dimensions divisible by the same number" category. Since you have not built your house yet I don't know how flexible your room dimensions are, but if you modify it at all, just keep this principle in mind.

Now to your questions: