Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

New Toshiba Firmware ver. 2.0 for A3/A30/A35


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 of 25 OFFLINE   Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

    Lead Actor



  • 6,531 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted February 12 2008 - 06:43 AM

Supposedly incorporates forced 1080p/24, enhanced HDMI/DVI/HDCP compatibility and fixes pixelization/freezing with some disks.

Download updates to your Firmware on your HD DVD Player

Also available via player update process.

#2 of 25 OFFLINE   Ron Reda

Ron Reda

    Screenwriter



  • 2,281 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 27 2001

Posted February 12 2008 - 11:22 AM

Sweet, I was wondering when the A3 was going to get an update...I don't have mine hooked up via ethernet. Thanks, Jeff!
"Music is a magic carpet loaded with oils and other soothing potions, it's just what you need when you don't know what you need, when you've got more questions than answers." - Bob Lefsetz

#3 of 25 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted February 12 2008 - 12:13 PM

Thanks for the heads up. Maybe the last upgrade we get! Posted Image
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#4 of 25 OFFLINE   Ron Reda

Ron Reda

    Screenwriter



  • 2,281 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 27 2001

Posted February 12 2008 - 12:31 PM

Here's what it supposedly does: Firmware Update Version 2.0 Applicable Models: HD-A30, HD-A3, HD-D3, and HD-A35. Overview: As part of our commitment to provide world-class service to our customers, Toshiba is supplying this firmware update for use by purchasers of the Toshiba HD DVD Player models listed above. This firmware update improves support for 1080p/24Hz and auto mode(for HD-A30 and HD-A35), improves network connectivity for supporting the download of web-enabled network content associated with certain HD DVD discs, and also addresses certain disc playback and HDMI/DVI related issues identified by Toshiba. Important Note: Certain HD DVD discs may contain or have the capability of downloading studio-provided, web-enabled network content. To minimize any potential compatibility and/or connectivity issues it is recommended that you perform the firmware update process to ensure that your HD DVD player is using the latest firmware version. I think I'm going to wait this one out to hear what it actually does before I go updating my player. Granted, it does glitch on some discs, but only on a handful (and who knows if they will be the "certain discs" they're speaking of). Kind of an "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" thing. I guess I'm just afraid that it'll turn into a brick... ***EDIT*** Jeff, Sorry, didn't mean to thread crap...I just wanted to point out that I've read some horrors stories about people's players not handling previous FW updates correctly thereby brickwalling it. I'm not trying to scare people away, just more trying to inform them that the potential risk is there based on others' experiences. Hope I didn't offend you.
"Music is a magic carpet loaded with oils and other soothing potions, it's just what you need when you don't know what you need, when you've got more questions than answers." - Bob Lefsetz

#5 of 25 OFFLINE   Ron Reda

Ron Reda

    Screenwriter



  • 2,281 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 27 2001

Posted February 12 2008 - 03:55 PM

^
"Music is a magic carpet loaded with oils and other soothing potions, it's just what you need when you don't know what you need, when you've got more questions than answers." - Bob Lefsetz

#6 of 25 OFFLINE   Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

    Lead Actor



  • 6,531 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted February 12 2008 - 04:42 PM

Why would you offend me? I just gave a link, not a recommendation. Although I've personally updated 3 players 6 times and never had a problem, some people are more cautious .

#7 of 25 OFFLINE   Stephen_J_H

Stephen_J_H

    All Things Film Junkie



  • 4,212 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2003
  • Real Name:Stephen J. Hill
  • LocationNorth of the 49th

Posted February 12 2008 - 04:49 PM

I haven't done any firmware updates, as I'm waiting for Toshiba to mail me my update disc, since I don't have an Ethernet connection near my player (my network's wireless; kinda makes you suspect I'd be a PS3 guy but.... no.).
"My opinion is that (a) anyone who actually works in a video store and does not understand letterboxing has given up on life, and (b) any customer who prefers to have the sides of a movie hacked off should not be licensed to operate a video player."-- Roger Ebert

#8 of 25 OFFLINE   Joe Fisher

Joe Fisher

    Screenwriter



  • 1,379 posts
  • Join Date: May 11 2001
  • Real Name:Joseph E Fisher

Posted February 12 2008 - 05:38 PM


Hopefully with this update my Shaun of the Dead disc will finally play without any pixelization in the final 8-10 minutes.

#9 of 25 OFFLINE   Yumbo

Yumbo

    Screenwriter



  • 2,243 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 13 1999

Posted February 12 2008 - 11:07 PM

American Gangster causes the 408 error still when web connected.

#10 of 25 OFFLINE   Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

    Lead Actor



  • 6,531 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted February 13 2008 - 12:24 AM

Either reinitialize from the General->Maintenence->Initialize menu or clear out the entry for American Gangster in the General->Maintenence->Persistent Storage menu. Sometimes this helps after an update because the persistent storage still has some corrupted stuff in it from the last time you tried to load.

#11 of 25 OFFLINE   Ron Reda

Ron Reda

    Screenwriter



  • 2,281 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 27 2001

Posted February 13 2008 - 08:54 AM


OK, cool! Thought what I did might be construed as thread crapping, but apparently not. Posted Image
"Music is a magic carpet loaded with oils and other soothing potions, it's just what you need when you don't know what you need, when you've got more questions than answers." - Bob Lefsetz

#12 of 25 OFFLINE   Gary Seven

Gary Seven

    Grand Poo Pah



  • 1,510 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 15 2003
  • Real Name:Gaston
  • LocationLake Worth, Florida

Posted February 13 2008 - 09:07 AM

Updated with no problem over ethernet. Kind of funny having a wireless adapter hooked up to a dvd player. Good tip regarding the intializing of persistant storage. Thanks Jeff.

#13 of 25 OFFLINE   Ron Reda

Ron Reda

    Screenwriter



  • 2,281 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 27 2001

Posted February 13 2008 - 09:57 AM

Gary, what player(s) do you have?
"Music is a magic carpet loaded with oils and other soothing potions, it's just what you need when you don't know what you need, when you've got more questions than answers." - Bob Lefsetz

#14 of 25 OFFLINE   donfr

donfr

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 13 2008

Posted February 14 2008 - 06:01 AM

I installed the 2.0 firmware last night on my A30. The upgrade all seemed to go nicely. However, I soon noticed that some of my DVDs, both SD and HD, would cause the player to make a "grinding" sound during the first 7-8 minutes of the disc. It's as if the player was having a hard time tracking the discs during those first minutes. As the player gets past those first few minutes, the sound will gradually decrease to a normal level. Of course, none of this happened with the prior firmware (1.3). The player worked great. I called Toshiba, and they said I can only send it back to them for service. And they said that there is no way for me to revert to the earlier firmware. Anyway, be warned about this upgrade.

#15 of 25 OFFLINE   Ron Reda

Ron Reda

    Screenwriter



  • 2,281 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 27 2001

Posted February 14 2008 - 10:28 AM

So even if you still have a copy of the old firmware, you can't revert? Ugh...
"Music is a magic carpet loaded with oils and other soothing potions, it's just what you need when you don't know what you need, when you've got more questions than answers." - Bob Lefsetz

#16 of 25 OFFLINE   Ron Reda

Ron Reda

    Screenwriter



  • 2,281 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 27 2001

Posted February 18 2008 - 06:39 AM

Anyone else updated their firmware? I'm wondering if it's worth it considering how mine actually works somewhat OK right now.
"Music is a magic carpet loaded with oils and other soothing potions, it's just what you need when you don't know what you need, when you've got more questions than answers." - Bob Lefsetz

#17 of 25 OFFLINE   Blaine Skerry

Blaine Skerry

    Second Unit



  • 277 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 15 2001

Posted February 22 2008 - 05:03 AM

I updated my A3 to 2.0 about a week ago and have played three HD DVD movies with no problems. I had version 1.1 when I bought the player and since updating I really haven't noticed any differences.

#18 of 25 OFFLINE   Gary Seven

Gary Seven

    Grand Poo Pah



  • 1,510 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 15 2003
  • Real Name:Gaston
  • LocationLake Worth, Florida

Posted February 22 2008 - 06:28 AM

Sorry didn't respond earlier... I didn't see your question. I have an A35 and a PS3. A35 has a Linksys adapter hooked up to the ethernet port.

#19 of 25 OFFLINE   Stephen_J_H

Stephen_J_H

    All Things Film Junkie



  • 4,212 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2003
  • Real Name:Stephen J. Hill
  • LocationNorth of the 49th

Posted February 22 2008 - 08:08 AM

Gary, which adapter is that? I have my network set up with USB wireless adapters, but I've never seen one that goes into the Ethernet port. That would be really useful for me (and probably a lot cheaper than running Ethernet over my powerlines with one of THOSE adapters).
"My opinion is that (a) anyone who actually works in a video store and does not understand letterboxing has given up on life, and (b) any customer who prefers to have the sides of a movie hacked off should not be licensed to operate a video player."-- Roger Ebert

#20 of 25 OFFLINE   Gary Seven

Gary Seven

    Grand Poo Pah



  • 1,510 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 15 2003
  • Real Name:Gaston
  • LocationLake Worth, Florida

Posted February 22 2008 - 10:24 AM


I'm at work now but I believe this is the one I have...

Linksys WET 11 Wireless Ethernet Bridge/ Gaming Adapter - eBay (item 170195541423 end time Mar-01-08 06:21:22 PST)

I didn't see it at the Linksys site so I guess buying used is the only way. The one I have was used originally for the XBox (the first one).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users