-

Photo
- - - - -

New and have some questions...

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic

#1 of 5 KevTN

KevTN

Auditioning

• 14 posts

Posted January 23 2008 - 01:30 PM

Hello everyone. Newbie here. I have been researching things for a while but am a bit confused about somethings too.

I am getting ready to redo my den; taking down a wall to put up some builtin bookshelves on either side of my fireplace. Then I am going to hang a flat screen over the Fireplace. I am thinking they are going to have to 'tear' down the sheet rock for the shelves and while they do that I am going to use the oppurtunity run my wires.

My questions are:
1) I am wanting to run the fewest wires to the tv I can. I understand that you can run all of the components to a reciever ie, Digital cable, blu ray, speakers, and xbox and then one HDMI out. Yes No? (I am looking at a 3 HDMI in, and 1 HDMI out)

2) My fireplace is gas. So I am thinking that I can run the wire(s) up the side of the fireplace (hidden by the bookshelf) then go horizonal to the spot I need to pull the wire out above the fire place. Good idea or not?

3) This goes to the size of the screen. Ego say go as big as possible, but I would think that if I go too big it could 'overload' the visual and those who are subject to motion sickness would not enjoy their viewing pleasure. Is there some rule of thumb for this?

4)Anything else I might need to know/think about?

Thanks, I'm looking forward to any and all answers and gaining valuble information here.

Have a good night,
Kevin

#2 of 5 Mike_J_D

Mike_J_D

Stunt Coordinator

• 213 posts

Posted January 23 2008 - 02:00 PM

My replies are in bold.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevTN
Hello everyone. Newbie here. I have been researching things for a while but am a bit confused about somethings too.