-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Projector vs. HDTV


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 of 15 JPetrillo

JPetrillo

    Auditioning

  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 2008

Posted January 22 2008 - 09:16 AM

Hello everyone Posted Image

I was originally considering buying a big screen HDTV, but now I'm thinking about getting a HD Projector instead, since obviously I could get the same size (or bigger) screen for a smaller amount of money!

In my own experience (which isn’t much) projectors that I've always seen in person where never as good of quality as those nice big HDTV's. I wouldn’t want to get a projector unless I could get the same (or better quality) as a 1080p HDTV.

So my question is: are there any projectors out there that have at least the same quality as 1080p HDTV's and if so which ones are they?

Thanks for your help in advance!

#2 of 15 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer

  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted January 22 2008 - 12:34 PM

Yes, 1080p projectors. Go to Projectorcentral.com and Projectorreviews.com.

#3 of 15 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,109 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 22 2008 - 02:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPetrillo
In my own experience (which isn’t much) projectors that I've always seen in person where never as good of quality as those nice big HDTV's.
You haven't seen a projector in a properly set up room (100% light control), properly calibrated and fed a quality HDTV source. My Panasonic AE900U projecting on a 103" DIY screen looks just as good as my 55" Mitsubishi rear projection TV. If you want to install the projector in a living room with a lot of windows or want to use a drop down screen (they wrinkle) or take any other short cuts then you will end up with a disappointing picture. The environment and screen is sometimes more important than the projector you choose.

Post your location in your profile. You may find a local willing to give a demonstration. I've had a few people over to see my setup and were impressed. Especially when I told them that my screen cost less than $100.

-Robert

#4 of 15 jblfx

jblfx

    Extra

  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 07 2008

Posted January 22 2008 - 02:43 PM

I own a Sharp XR-10S projector with a 100 inch screen. I know its not the top of the line, but I think it looks awesome! I have the HD cable box hooked up to a receiver then to the projector by S-video. Most digital cable channels look really good. DVDs and HD cable channels look great.

So I can only imagine what a higher priced projector would look like.

#5 of 15 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer

  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted January 22 2008 - 07:01 PM

jblfx, why are you using S-video instead of component? HD signals can't even be sent over S-video.

#6 of 15 Doug_H

Doug_H

    Supporting Actor

  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted January 23 2008 - 08:40 AM

I give another vote for PJ. There is nothing like a well calibrated projector for watching movies and sports. I have a Plasma and DLP TV in other rooms and I will always prefer the PJ.
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#7 of 15 jblfx

jblfx

    Extra

  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 07 2008

Posted January 23 2008 - 02:20 PM

Well, this projector didn't come with component plugs. It only has s-video or composite video. But we are getting HD cable channels. While watching a local station, you can flip back and forth between the regular and HD version and see a huge difference. I would assume that if this projector was not HD compatible we wouldn't get a picture at all, correct?

#8 of 15 Doug_H

Doug_H

    Supporting Actor

  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted January 23 2008 - 02:43 PM

Luis

The cable box downconverts the video to a level S-Video outputs can handle. I use both outputs on my HD box so I can set up the DVR without turning the PJ on. It is connected to a $79 9" TV that is definitely not HD.

I am sure the picture is better than the SD channel being upconverted but it is not HD.
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#9 of 15 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer

  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted January 23 2008 - 06:40 PM

jblfx, what you need to do is use the VGA input on projector to run component cables. You have 2 options: 1) Get a VGA/component adapter that plugs into VGA input on projector. You then hook up component cable to that. Or 2) Get a cable with VGA on one end, and component on the other end. I used method #1 with my old X1 projector. I recommend Monoprice.com to purchase either one. You'll notice a nice improvement once you switch to component cables.

#10 of 15 plinkoking

plinkoking

    Auditioning

  • 12 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 24 2008

Posted January 24 2008 - 04:52 AM

good info thanks

#11 of 15 jblfx

jblfx

    Extra

  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 07 2008

Posted January 24 2008 - 08:37 AM

OK, well it looks really good. We've had it for about three years now and we're very happy with it. Thanks for all the info.

#12 of 15 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer

  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted January 24 2008 - 12:28 PM

I'm sure it looks good, but it can look even better.

#13 of 15 jblfx

jblfx

    Extra

  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 07 2008

Posted January 24 2008 - 03:38 PM

I would like to try the VGA/Component adapter, but the way we had to set up our projector it would be hard. We have a two story house so our living room is very tall. The projector is behind us on the ceiling of the dining room entryway witch is lower. So the S-video and rear surround speaker wires had to come from there around to the front where the screen, dvd player, receiver, and cable box are. I had to go on ebay to find a 50ft s-video cable. So unless someone sells a 30+ft VGA/component adapter cable ( anyone know of someone?) I'll have to wait till I can put our home theatre in a regular room.

#14 of 15 jblfx

jblfx

    Extra

  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 07 2008

Posted January 24 2008 - 04:10 PM

Well, just went to ebay and found some VGA/Component cables up to 100ft! Found some that have it in 35 to 50ft. Will remeasure tomorrow then order one. Wish me luck.

#15 of 15 Joey Link

Joey Link

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 20 2005

Posted January 27 2008 - 09:19 PM

You're going to love the improvement!