Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Going to HD need advice...


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Geoff H

Geoff H

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 64 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 29 2002

Posted January 07 2008 - 06:46 AM

I'm in need of upgrading to HD and am doing a little groundwork before any purchases. I currently have a Yamaha RX-V 1300 receiver that does not have HDMI or DVI connectivity - Is this going to be an issue or can Blue Ray/HD connect via optical or coax?

Advice/Comments appreciated,

Geoff

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

    Lead Actor



  • 6,530 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted January 07 2008 - 07:20 AM

HDM (HD media) can connect via optical/coax, but all audio will be downmixed to DD/DTS (depends on the player what codec and bitrate the downconversion is). You can only take advantage of HD audio codecs (DD+/TrueHD/DTS-HD) three ways:

1) 5/7.1 analog outs to analog ins on the receiver (some player do not have analog outs)

2) HDMI with decoding in player - Requires with an HDMI audio capable receiver. Not all players decode all HD audio formats (especailly DTS-HD/MA), so check the specs.

3) HDMI with decoding in the receiver - Requires player that can bitstream high bitrate audio and an HDMI 1.4 receiver. All codecs can be decoded in this way, but some interactive extras may be inoperable in this mode.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Phil Iturralde

Phil Iturralde

    Screenwriter



  • 1,868 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 07 1998

Posted January 07 2008 - 07:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff H
I'm in need of upgrading to HD and am doing a little groundwork before any purchases. I currently have a Yamaha RX-V 1300 receiver that does not have HDMI or DVI connectivity - Is this going to be an issue or can Blue Ray/HD connect via optical or coax?

Advice/Comments appreciated,

Geoff

Jeff Gatie #1 option is what I'm using w/my 6CH-Analog INputs/OUTputs - Yamaha RX-V1300 & Toshiba HD-A35 to hear DD+ & TrueHD!!!

Works & sounds Glorious!!! Posted Image Posted Image
My HT Enthusiasts Google Website
---- Toshiba 62HM196 62" 1080p DLP HDTV pic's (#1 in Consumer Reports)
DVD Aficionado (DVDAF) on-going list.
Acquisition Rule #59 “Free advice is seldom cheap.” (Quark @ DS9)
JBL S-Series + SVS 25-31PCi (SN: 00034) w/NSD Upgrade!

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   joe277

joe277

    Extra



  • 23 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 2007

Posted January 07 2008 - 08:10 AM

Are you upgrading to HD-DVD/Blu-Ray or just upgrading your cable to HD ??

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Geoff H

Geoff H

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 64 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 29 2002

Posted January 07 2008 - 09:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe277
Are you upgrading to HD-DVD/Blu-Ray or just upgrading your cable to HD ??

Yes, Blue-Ray or HD, Probably Blue-Ray...?

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   joe277

joe277

    Extra



  • 23 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 2007

Posted January 07 2008 - 10:21 AM

Alright. Here's the low down. There are TWO ways to enjoy HD Audio codecs. The first way is to have a receiver that can handle the HD audio through HDMI. The other way is to purchase a Blu Ray or HD-DVD player that can handle the decoding. This onboard decoding will allow you to output the uncompressed audio through the Analog 5.1/7.1 outs on the dvd player. This second option requires a receiver that can take in Analog 5.1/7.1 signals. I believe that your Yamaha receiver does have Analog 5.1/7.1 inputs. The only other option you have is to use the compressed DD/DTS audio. Some people actually prefer these compressed codecs. In theory the uncompressed audio should be better, but for now, it's only a slightly better quality, but the future is bright for HD Audio. You can always get a player now, and later on upgrade your receiver. Good luck.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Geoff H

Geoff H

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 64 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 29 2002

Posted January 07 2008 - 10:51 AM

Thanks Joe,

Stupid question: Is it one interconnect per channel, i.e., 6 for 5.1?

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   joe277

joe277

    Extra



  • 23 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 2007

Posted January 07 2008 - 11:15 AM

Yes. Analog rca cables. I prefer to use nice ones, but you don't have to go crazy with them. But something better than the cheap rca's that come with equipment. I use AXIS brand. They're generic and inexpensive. They don't have an array for those type of inputs, but you could just buy multiple sets of the stereo analog audio cables.





Forum Nav Content I Follow