Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

New to Blu? Buy a PS3: the most featured BD hardware available...


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
726 replies to this topic

#721 of 727 OFFLINE   Nicholas Martin

Nicholas Martin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,683 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 18 2003

Posted April 03 2009 - 02:15 PM

Maybe it has something to do with the "bitmapping" options? I have it turned off because I honestly don't understand what it's meant to do.

When I think of the word bitmap I think of a picture file, not music Posted Image

#722 of 727 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Executive Producer



  • 10,170 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted April 04 2009 - 10:36 AM

It does, however, break DiVX playback of quite a few files Posted Image But otherwise, fine.

Edit: strike that, it just doesn't like the MIME type that a lot of UPNP servers give it; after making some changes, all is back to good.
trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#723 of 727 OFFLINE   CraigF

CraigF

    Screenwriter



  • 2,372 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 20 2002
  • Real Name:Craig
  • LocationToronto area, Canada

Posted April 05 2009 - 07:45 AM

I think the CD bitmapping options are just digital "enhancements", and like for most video "enhancements" I habitually turn them off. I haven't even tried them with the PS3, so I don't really know, but just from past experience... I have not even updated my own PS3 yet (on a sort-of "vacation", have only done the PS3 here) and for all I know they *may* have improved the CD->HDMI sound. Hard to tell with the available sound system...

#724 of 727 OFFLINE   ManW_TheUncool

ManW_TheUncool

    Producer



  • 5,875 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2001
  • Real Name:ManW

Posted April 05 2009 - 02:27 PM


Hmmm... My kid wants me to put some movies on his PSP. Maybe I should check out the PlayStation Store for that (so I don't have to spend time converting DVDs myself Posted Image). How much do they charge for PSP movie downloads anyway?

Do I actually need v2.7 for this? OR is v2.6 good enough, if I don't want to play them on the PS3 itself? Honestly don't see the point of playing PSP downloads on the PS3 -- unless they are at least equivalent to very good DVD quality.

Thanks.

_Man_
Just another amateur learning to paint w/ "the light of the world".

"Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things..." (St. Paul)

#725 of 727 OFFLINE   member666

member666

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 67 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 08 2009

Posted April 05 2009 - 02:49 PM

I was actually wondering that myself. Can't be too much.
Party People

#726 of 727 OFFLINE   paradajz1

paradajz1

    Auditioning



  • 13 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2009

Posted April 06 2009 - 07:12 AM

thanks for the info..

#727 of 727 OFFLINE   Aedave

Aedave

    Auditioning



  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2009

Posted April 06 2009 - 11:44 AM

No your not going crazy
when using the optical connection from the PS3 to the STR-DE885/985 while watching blu-ray movies, DO NOT USE DOLBY DIGITAL! The reciever can not process a 640kbps feed.
Sony USA ARTICLE KB C549452 Link

My personal solution:
From PS3 Settings menu
Sound settings -> Audio Output Settings ->
Digital Out (Optical) ->
no check for Dolby Digital 5.1
check for DTS 5.1

The STR-DE885/985 CAN NOT process optical bit-stream:
Dolby Digital @640 Kbps (AKA: Blu-Ray Out put)

The STR-DE885/985 CAN process optical bit-streams:
Dolby Digital @480 Kbps
DTS @1.5 Mbps

Rather strange that the Reciever can handle 1500Kbps of information but can't handle 640Kbps.

DCPosted Image