Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Resume Play,why can't HD do this


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 of 20 OFFLINE   Peter Neski

Peter Neski

    Supporting Actor



  • 915 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 2005

Posted December 30 2007 - 05:09 AM

one of the few bad things about HDDVD and Blueray is the fact that theres no Resume Play feature on HD Titles,Why is this,If you play a Disney title and stop in the middle,your really are in for it,First the dvd has to load all that stupid Java crap,then comes 8 trailors which you can't hit the menu button on,so you have to keep clicking the chapter next button,till you finally get to the menu. While the stardard HD menu is lame,the design of going to the next menu and so on,is simple and easy to do ,it makes sense so HD gets a Big + for that,for not doing new menus for HD/DVD flippers HD get a big - for that.

#2 of 20 OFFLINE   Mike Williams

Mike Williams

    Screenwriter



  • 1,020 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2003

Posted December 30 2007 - 06:25 AM

i've noticed that on Dracula and Halloween, the disc is able to pick up where it left off, so I think it has something to do with authoring the disc rather than the players.

#3 of 20 OFFLINE   WadeM

WadeM

    Supporting Actor



  • 948 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 2006

Posted December 30 2007 - 06:39 AM

I agree that this is a big minus!!

#4 of 20 OFFLINE   Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

    Studio Mogul



  • 38,124 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1999

Posted December 30 2007 - 07:56 AM

If you get in the habit of using the "bookmark" feature, it'll act as a "resume" feature. I know HD DVD has bookmarks, but can't recall if BD has bookmarks.
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012

#5 of 20 OFFLINE   Brandon Conway

Brandon Conway

    captveg



  • 7,701 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2002
  • Real Name:Brandon Conway
  • LocationNorth Hollywood, CA

Posted December 30 2007 - 12:01 PM

A handful of BDs have bookmarks. Some BD players will resume play with some discs. I know the PS3 and the Panasonic BD10 resume play with Warner and Sony titles.

"And now the reprimand, from an American critic. He reproaches me for using film as a sacred & lasting medium, like a painting or a book. He does not believe that filmmaking is an inferior art, but he believes, and quite rightly, that a reel goes quickly, that the public are looking above all for relaxation, that film is fragile and that it is pretentious to express the power of one's soul by such ephemeral and delicate means, that Charlie Chaplin's or Buster Keaton's first films can only be seen on very rare and badly spoiled prints. I add that the cinema is making daily progress and that eventually films that we consider marvelous today will soon be forgotten because of new dimensions & colour. This is true. But for 4 weeks this film [The Blood of a Poet] has been shown to audiences that have been so attentive, so eager & so warm, that I wonder after all there is not an anonymous public who are looking for more than relaxation in the cinema." - Jean Cocteau, 1932


#6 of 20 OFFLINE   Douglas Monce

Douglas Monce

    Producer



  • 5,514 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2006

Posted December 30 2007 - 03:26 PM

It's not some players with some discs. The controlling factor here is if the disc was authored in advanced mode or not. Up until recently most blu-ray discs were not authored in advanced mode, so they would resume play. I believe that most if not all HD DVDs have been authored in advanced mode, which is why people thought that HD DVD players couldn't do resume play. Bottom line, if it is and advanced mode disc, it won't resume. Get used to using the bookmark feature. Doug
"I'm in great shape, for the shape I'm in."
Bob Hope in The Ghostbreakers

#7 of 20 OFFLINE   Sam Davatchi

Sam Davatchi

    Producer



  • 3,151 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 1999

Posted December 30 2007 - 07:22 PM

Well their advanced mode looks lame and doesn't look so advanced! Posted Image They should work on the resume feature. I have heard we are able to break atom and other stuff nowadays! Posted Image

#8 of 20 OFFLINE   Douglas Monce

Douglas Monce

    Producer



  • 5,514 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2006

Posted December 31 2007 - 08:23 AM

Yeah we can put a man on the moon but we can't resume our HD media! Whats the world coming too???? Doug
"I'm in great shape, for the shape I'm in."
Bob Hope in The Ghostbreakers

#9 of 20 OFFLINE   Matt Butler

Matt Butler

    Screenwriter



  • 1,921 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 23 2001

Posted December 31 2007 - 08:36 AM

Lack of resume is the only thing I hate about Blu. Ive only had Blu for a few weeks but Ive never heard about the bookmark feature. I run a Sony bd301. Do I have bookmark?
My Blu Rays
http://www.blu-ray.c...ol...=Dj Matt B

Favorite films of all time in no order
1. Zodiac 2. Dawn of the Dead (1978) 3. The Good The Bad and The Ugly 4. Blade Runner 5. The Warriors 6. Dark Knight 7. The Godfather  8. Bullitt 9. Experiment in Terror 10. Raiders of the Lost...

#10 of 20 OFFLINE   David Wilkins

David Wilkins

    Supporting Actor



  • 827 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 05 2001

Posted December 31 2007 - 11:04 AM

It's incredibly lame and stupid. Simply no excuse for it. This is basic stuff, like sliced bread. True, it's a minor thing, but that's all the more reason it should be a no-brainer...something we should never have to ask for. Like expecting the light to damn well come on when you flip the frigging switch. This might be hi-def, but it still ain't rocket science.

#11 of 20 OFFLINE   Douglas Monce

Douglas Monce

    Producer



  • 5,514 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2006

Posted December 31 2007 - 11:09 AM

I'm still not exactly sure why they can't resume in advanced mode, other than the fact that it has to load all this data into memory. I don't know why the disc can't play where you left off once the data has loaded. Doug
"I'm in great shape, for the shape I'm in."
Bob Hope in The Ghostbreakers

#12 of 20 OFFLINE   Kyle McKnight

Kyle McKnight

    Screenwriter



  • 2,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 08 2001

Posted December 31 2007 - 02:45 PM

Wow, I wasn't aware of this. I'm so used to DVDs that I stopped watching, starting back up where I left off, I can't believe this feature would just be dropped.
Kyle McKnight

#13 of 20 OFFLINE   Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Executive Producer



  • 10,179 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted December 31 2007 - 05:55 PM

By not including the resume feature, they broke the one of the tenets of the unspoken code of technological advancement: offer at least what the predecessor offered, especially if people use/like that feature. Resume play was available on DVD, and is apparently used by quite a few of us, it should have been included in HD/BD. Period. Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy my PS3/BD but this was a major gaff of an omission.

XBox Live: TheL1brarian (let's play Destiny on XB1)


#14 of 20 OFFLINE   Douglas Monce

Douglas Monce

    Producer



  • 5,514 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2006

Posted December 31 2007 - 09:21 PM

Again its not that they left it out, my SD DVDs resume in my HD DVD player, and some blu-ray discs that are not authored in advanced mode do resume in my blu-ray player. There is some technical reason why HD DVDs and blu-ray discs authored in advanced mode don't resume. I have, however never heard the reasons why it doesn't work. I'm really only guessing about data needing to be loaded into the player's memory. But I'm not sure why that would have an effect on the ability to resume. Doug
"I'm in great shape, for the shape I'm in."
Bob Hope in The Ghostbreakers

#15 of 20 OFFLINE   David Wilkins

David Wilkins

    Supporting Actor



  • 827 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 05 2001

Posted January 01 2008 - 03:50 AM

Bing! That's precisely the issue. The bookmark feature isn't nearly as quick or simple. It's hard to believe that programming all that goes into choosing the bookmark feature and implementing it, was less trouble than "resume play". Jeez, you can resume play with a VHS, so long as it hasn't been rewound.

#16 of 20 OFFLINE   EricW

EricW

    Screenwriter



  • 2,309 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 01 2001

Posted January 01 2008 - 04:17 AM

i'm going to assume that the reason is DRM. it's the only logical reason why developers would do it. maybe accessing the last-played point gives hackers a window to breaking the code or something? i can't imagine any other reason.
"now, if that's a fact, tell me... am i lying?"

#17 of 20 OFFLINE   Peter Neski

Peter Neski

    Supporting Actor



  • 915 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 2005

Posted January 01 2008 - 05:33 AM

My Pioneer dvd player lets me even take the dvd out of the player,and when I put it back in,it goes to the same spot,

#18 of 20 OFFLINE   Douglas Monce

Douglas Monce

    Producer



  • 5,514 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2006

Posted January 01 2008 - 08:56 AM

Most standard DVD players do that. Doug
"I'm in great shape, for the shape I'm in."
Bob Hope in The Ghostbreakers

#19 of 20 OFFLINE   Mark Zimmer

Mark Zimmer

    Producer



  • 4,269 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted January 02 2008 - 03:06 AM

Toshiba being the prime backer of HD DVD probably had something to do with it; many if not most of the standard Tosh DVD players I've owned or tried out lacked this feature, even on high end machines. Toshiba apparently doesn't believe it's an important feature, and didn't make any effort to require it in the HD DVD specs. They were wrong. What Blu's excuse is, I have no idea.

#20 of 20 OFFLINE   Aaron Silverman

Aaron Silverman

    Executive Producer



  • 10,060 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 1999
  • Real Name:Aaron Silverman
  • LocationFlorida

Posted January 02 2008 - 05:35 AM

This is a madhouse. A MADHOUSE!!!! Seriously. . .we can store our own clip shows and synchronize viewings with online buddies, but can't resume play of a stopped disc? Stop trying so hard to come up with anything NEW and instead get something USEFUL working! With a 2-year-old around, this is a serious issue!
"How wonderful it will be to have a leader unburdened by the twin horrors of knowledge and experience." -- Mr. Wick




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users