Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Wireless Connectivity Problem With Vista and Netgear


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Chas_T

Chas_T

    Supporting Actor



  • 758 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 01 2002

Posted December 28 2007 - 02:45 AM

Wondering if someone can help with a wireless connection problem. Details: Dell Inspiron 531 AMD Chip Vista Premium 32 Bit Netgear WGR614 Version 1 with the latest software for that router. Netgear WG311v3 802.11g Wireless PCI Adapter with the latest driver and software from Netgear. Driver Version 1.0.0.52 5-3-07 and it supposed to be Vista compatible. I am using WEP security and Mac Address filtering Currently the PC that I am having the problem of connectivity is located about 6 feet in distance from the wireless router. Here is the problem: The Netgear WG311v3 802.11g Wireless PCI Adapter connects at the highest strength signal, holds it for 1-4 minutes, then seems to drop the signal and rescans. It will go through the process of rescanning, finds the connection with an IP address, drops it and then continues the pattern. I am able to access the internet when the connection is available. The software just constantly scans rather then staying on channel 7 when the strong signal is available. I've changed the channel on the router just to see if it makes a difference. It does not. I also have the same Netgear WG311v3 802.11g Wireless PCI Adapter on a Windows XP machine and it''s rock steady with the connection. I also have a laptop with a NetGear wireless card that connects without a problem. These 2 machines always connect without a problem. I Rebooted router and DSL modem numerous times; reinstalled software and wireless adapter numerous times; Reconfigured WEP security strings and double and triple checked MAC address Please help. Far to many hours with this problem. Happy New Year to all the HTF guys. Thank you, Charles

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Chas_T

Chas_T

    Supporting Actor



  • 758 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 01 2002

Posted December 29 2007 - 08:57 AM

After 4-5 days of trying to resolve the issue, I gave up. NetFear was basically useless with their tech support after exchanging emails, so I purchased a Linksys WRT300N and a WUSB300N. Instant security connection through Vista without any problems. Excellent signal in my home of 4 bars and 215-270 MBS. This router only had 3 Stars on NewEgg, but it seems to be working just fine. Purchased at Staples on a whim shopping today. Sometimes it's worth it to just spend the extra money and start anew. What a frustrating experience with the NetFear stuff. However, Vista is still a work in process. I can't get the drivers for the HP 1012 to install. This is life in Vista. Update: I know I am talking to myself here, but after numerous reboots and NOT trying to install the software for the HP 1012, it installed itself. Go figure. Only reason I am posting these results for the router and the printer is in case someone else has the same frustrations.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Kean-Hock Yeap

Kean-Hock Yeap

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 82 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2004

Posted December 29 2007 - 01:20 PM

Hi Charles, the problem I suspect was with your WGR614 router. Even though your Netgear wireless adapter is Vista compatible, the router isn't (not listed in Netgear's Vista compatible device list: NETGEAR Product compatibility for Microsoft Windows Vista. ) The problem may lie with the router's inability to deal with IP version 6 feature implemented in Vista. I had an older router that had that same problem.
Perpetual Novice

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Chas_T

Chas_T

    Supporting Actor



  • 758 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 01 2002

Posted December 31 2007 - 02:30 AM


Kean,

You are probably correct about the WGR614 router with it's inability to deal with Vista. It would have been helpful if NetGear's tech staff could have supplied the information upfront and there would have been less time and frustration on my part and I am sure other unknown users. If NetGear would have done this, I probably would have just purchased another router with the NetGear name. Instead, I went with another company and they've lost a customer. Their loss?? Posted Image

Happy New Year to you and all the HTF guys.

Charles

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   nolesrule

nolesrule

    Producer



  • 3,084 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 06 2001
  • Real Name:Joe Kauffman
  • LocationClearwater, FL

Posted December 31 2007 - 04:01 AM

Charles, in my experience, you're better off with Linksys than Netgear anyway.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Chas_T

Chas_T

    Supporting Actor



  • 758 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 01 2002

Posted January 05 2008 - 05:37 AM

Joe, The Linksys has been superb with its signal strength and ability to provide responsive uploads and downloads. I know there have been issues with the WRT300N according to the Linksys forum, but I've been very impressed with their product. It's the first Linksys wireless router I've owned and I'd buy from them again.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   nolesrule

nolesrule

    Producer



  • 3,084 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 06 2001
  • Real Name:Joe Kauffman
  • LocationClearwater, FL

Posted January 05 2008 - 06:40 AM

Linksys used to have their issues just like their competitors, but ever since Cisco bought them, I feel their products are the best choice for home consumers.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users