Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

EVGA 8800GTS and HDCP with DVI


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Al_S

Al_S

    Second Unit

  • 452 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2000

Posted December 14 2007 - 04:33 AM

I have an EVGA 8800GTS 320MB card and just purchased an LG Blu Ray/HD DVD ROM drive for my PC. When I try to play a movie I receive an error stating that my video card is not HDCP enabled. I installed the latest video driver and it still does not work. I called EVGA support but they were no help telling to switch to the VGA input. Does anybody know what I can do to play a movie over my DVI connection to my LCD monitor. My Sceptre 22" Gamer monitor is HDCP compliant. The box to my video card states that it is HDCP capable.

#2 of 6 ChrisLazarko

ChrisLazarko

    Supporting Actor

  • 867 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 13 2003

Posted December 18 2007 - 02:25 AM

First what is the model of your player? Sony has alot of know issues with Blu-Ray as well as alot of others. HD-DVD seems to be a bit better with not having these problems apparently.

First, make sure your monitor is running at it's native resolution. If that doesn't work, try every other resolution and play the video. Sometimes monitors will only run HDCP compliance in certain video sizes... Don't know why. :-

Also, what DVD program are you using? Some earlier programs have problems with HDCP Compliance. Make sure you have the most recent update of your DVD Player software. If you don't, un-install it and get the most recent version and re-install it. Don't just patch it!

The video card is definantly complaint as well as monitor. Double check you are using a DVI cable though, not VGA.

Also, running two monitors will work so make sure you are using only one, and that the second one is definantly disabled.

If you still can't get it to work there is software that will ultimately bypass it so you won't get that crap. Here is the link:

SlySoft AnyDVD HD

Hope something I said helps.

#3 of 6 Al_S

Al_S

    Second Unit

  • 452 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2000

Posted December 19 2007 - 08:08 AM

Thanks for the info. I did try the AnyDVD software but the picture came out really grainy. I have ordered a new video card with HDMI out and will be trying that to see if that solves my problem.

#4 of 6 ChrisLazarko

ChrisLazarko

    Supporting Actor

  • 867 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 13 2003

Posted December 19 2007 - 09:00 AM

Well if you do purchase a new one I would be interested in your 8800gts card. Let me know if you are interested to sell it if you do go down that route.

#5 of 6 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer

  • 12,071 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted December 21 2007 - 09:19 AM

Al:

I would be interested to hear what you end up getting. And how it worked out.

Parker

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#6 of 6 Al_S

Al_S

    Second Unit

  • 452 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2000

Posted December 23 2007 - 04:42 AM

I purchased a Palit Radeon 2600 XT Super Video Card - 512MB with HDMI out. It does pass the video now for both HD DVD and Blu-Ray and it does look great. The only problem now is that my LCD monitor is not 1080 native so when I move to my desktop it can be kind of grainy looking. I guess that is the tradeoff. I may start looking for an LCD that is 1080 native with an HDMI input.