What's new

New to HT, need help (1 Viewer)

anhassi

Auditioning
Real Name
Andy
I am new to home theater and don't know much about surround sound audio. I am finishing my basement and need to acquire a home theater audio system.

I am certain I can do better piecing a system together rather than a home theater in a box, but do not kow what to look for. The space is 12 X14 with walls on 3 sides and would be open behind the main seating area to the far end of the basement (maybe another 30 ft)

I have a budget of $2000 and need to to power TV (satelite), PS3, Xbox 360, and possibly a Wii. I was eye-balling the Bose V20 complete system. Can I do better than this in terms of cost and quality?

Thanks

Ennsio

Second Unit
Real Name
Chris
Yes, you can definitely do better than Bose in terms of cost and quality. Bose makes very expensive products that are low in quality of the parts and poor in sound, but very easy for the layperson to set up. There's a lot of options for speakers and a receiver for $2000 that would blow the Bose out of the water, and with a little knowledge about the field and the help of this forum, you should have little trouble picking the appropriate gear and setting it up correctly.

Here's a couple places to go to learn more about surround sound:
http://www.aperionaudio.com/catalog/...ourses,49.aspx
http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/inf...fo-center.html

If you want to look at speakers, here's a few places to start:
Paradigm's website: www.paradigm.com
Athena or Energy speakers at Audio Advisor: http://www.audioadvisor.com/products.asp?dept=49
SVS Subs and speaker packages: www.svsound.com
There are many more options though, and I'm just helping you get started.