Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HDMI out of a HDPC, does it carry Audio?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   CaseyL

CaseyL

    Supporting Actor



  • 803 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 29 2002

Posted November 02 2007 - 09:44 AM

Well that's pretty much my question. If you get a video card that has HDMI, will it carry an audio signal? I guess the first question I should ask is can you get a video card that has HDMI, or is it only DVI converted to HDMI?

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   SethH

SethH

    Screenwriter



  • 2,867 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 17 2003

Posted November 02 2007 - 10:30 PM

You can get a card with HDMI, but they're still pretty expensive and you don't have too many options to pick from. I do not think they have include the audio signal, but I'm not sure.

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   Ken Chan

Ken Chan

    Producer



  • 3,302 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 11 1999

Posted November 03 2007 - 07:12 PM

Googling seems to indicate that some do support audio through the HDMI connection, although there may be gotchas. The drivers may only work in Vista. The drivers might clobber your regular audio drivers. You may have to connect the S/PDIF out from your audio card into the video card. So definitely investigate the card that you're considering carefully.

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   El Gordito

El Gordito

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 24 2009

Posted March 24 2009 - 10:10 AM

Hello all I am new here, but this is the same thing that I am working on today. From what I have found so far is the HDMI (the video card also has 2 DVI outputs on it as well) output on my video card does not send any sound to my receiver, but it sends picture. I had anticipated this when I put together my computer, so when I picked a sound card I got one with an optical output for sound.

Now what I have is 2 cables, one tosslink and one HDMI that are running to my receiver then then receiver dumps picture to the T.V. and does sound as well.

Like I said i all of my cables arrived this afternoon and I haven't had too much time to play with the settings on my computer. I will keep you all updated on how it works and will let you know if I find a way to get my video card to produce sound. (I don't think that it is possible, but it would be a waste of a HDMI cable because HDMI is capable of carrying digital sound)

#5 of 9 OFFLINE   Eric Samonte

Eric Samonte

    Screenwriter



  • 1,327 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 31 1999

Posted March 25 2009 - 07:15 AM

Actually, I just bought a Powercolor Radeon HD4830 with HDMI out for $64 AR. The HDMI works fine on an HDMI TV. I have yet to try if it will output 7.1 sound to a receiver however.

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   RichardFlores

RichardFlores

    Agent



  • 31 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 29 2003

Posted May 04 2009 - 07:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Samonte
Actually, I just bought a Powercolor Radeon HD4830 with HDMI out for $64 AR. The HDMI works fine on an HDMI TV. I have yet to try if it will output 7.1 sound to a receiver however.

let me know if this works.

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   Eric_L

Eric_L

    Screenwriter



  • 1,991 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 02 2002

Posted May 05 2009 - 11:19 PM

I just bought a Gforce 9400 and it has a slot on it to attach the audio from your sound to it fir the HDMI. I have not tried this because it is on my kids game PC, but it seems to be pretty clear that the HDMI would carry audio.

Meanwhile, my laptop has HDMI video only.

I would suggest you download the manual for any card you want to buy and see if it includes a connection to your audio for HDMI.

#8 of 9 OFFLINE   Eric Samonte

Eric Samonte

    Screenwriter



  • 1,327 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 31 1999

Posted May 07 2009 - 03:05 AM

Haven't tried it on my HT yet but when I got the card, I downloaded Realtek HDMI audio drivers for it. I just have to choose the audio out from Realtek HD audio out to Realtek HDMI audio out. No connections needed, not even a reboot of the machine.

#9 of 9 OFFLINE   Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer



  • 12,120 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted May 07 2009 - 06:19 AM

I have an ATI Radeon HD 2400XT that has a DVI to HDMI dongle that passes both audio and video to my Panasonic plasma just fine. I have yet to try to hook it up to a receiver to see if it passes the DTS and Dolby HD audio.

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."