Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HD-A2, which black level setting?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer

  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted October 29 2007 - 03:40 PM

Are you guys using the on or off setting for black level? Thanks.

#2 of 11 Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer

  • 18,527 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted October 29 2007 - 10:20 PM

Uhm (I know I should consult my player and manual now, but) if you mean the IRE setting, I think it's off.
It would only affect the S-Video signal anyway, IMO.


Cees

#3 of 11 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer

  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted October 30 2007 - 06:38 AM

When you go thru the setup, I think they refer to it as black level enhancement. Thanks.

#4 of 11 Allan^L

Allan^L

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 106 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 05 2004

Posted October 30 2007 - 02:32 PM

I use the On setting. Everything was super dark and looked barely lit when I had it in the Off setting.

#5 of 11 Jari K

Jari K

    Screenwriter

  • 2,951 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2007

Posted October 30 2007 - 09:47 PM

I keep everything (I have XE1) "off" and in "0". All the settings should be done from the TV/projector/etc. Proper calibration is the key.

#6 of 11 JustinCleveland

JustinCleveland

    Screenwriter

  • 2,059 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 23 2002
  • Real Name:Justin Cleveland
  • LocationMadison, WI

Posted October 31 2007 - 02:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jari K
I keep everything (I have XE1) "off" and in "0". All the settings should be done from the TV/projector/etc. Proper calibration is the key.
Ditto.

#7 of 11 troy evans

troy evans

    Screenwriter

  • 1,294 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2005

Posted October 31 2007 - 07:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jari K
I keep everything (I have XE1) "off" and in "0". All the settings should be done from the TV/projector/etc. Proper calibration is the key.
I'll third that.
" I think it's time we go to plan B". "What's plan B?" "That's the one where we don't do something stupid".

#8 of 11 Shoaib Lateef

Shoaib Lateef

    Second Unit

  • 403 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2002

Posted November 02 2007 - 07:00 AM

If you are using HDMI, this setting doesn't matter. This only affects analog output.

You won't see a difference anyway if using HDMI!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan^L
I use the On setting. Everything was super dark and looked barely lit when I had it in the Off setting.

This is only true if you're using a non-HDMI connection (analog).
Displays: Panasonic AE900U projector, Sony A10 series 50" RP LCD, Samsung LN-T4642H flat panel LCD
HD-DVD: Toshiba HD-A2
Blu-Ray: Samsung BD-P1000

Format Neutral: I swing both ways!

#9 of 11 Mike Williams

Mike Williams

    Screenwriter

  • 1,020 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2003

Posted November 04 2007 - 04:37 AM

Allen, having your setting in the ON position would actually drop the black levels to 0 IRE, which effectively crushes the blacks. It should not be brighter in the On position than in Off. The Off setting sets black levels at 7.5 IRE, which is the proper setting for broadcast. Perhaps it varies with movies, but working in television, settings are to be set at 7.5. I'm not even sure why there is a setting to drop it to 0.

#10 of 11 Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer

  • 18,527 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted November 04 2007 - 08:58 AM

The IRE 0 setting is for the Japanese market, I believe.


Cees

#11 of 11 Allan^L

Allan^L

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 106 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 05 2004

Posted November 04 2007 - 01:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoaib Lateef
If you are using HDMI, this setting doesn't matter. This only affects analog output.

You won't see a difference anyway if using HDMI!



This is only true if you're using a non-HDMI connection (analog).

I'm using a HDMI>DVI cable as I have a CRT HDTV with a DVI connection only. Not sure if that's affecting things. Still, everything looks fine with the black level setting "on."

ETA: Hmm, I've since set the black level back to "off" and everything looks fine. Go figure!


Back to Blu-ray, DVD, LD, Tivo, Satellite and Other Playback Devices


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Forum Nav Content I Follow