-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Connecting computer to Onkyo TX-SR605 and Question re HDMI splitters


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   lptudor

lptudor

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 2007

Posted September 05 2007 - 04:16 PM

I'm purchasing a new home theater system that includes the Onkyo TX-SR605 as the AVR. Since I'll be running new cables and electric, I figure this would be a good time to pull wires from my computer. The computer I have now is several years old (so doesn't have anything cool like HDMI output) and will eventually be replaced. My question is what should I pull to connect the computer to the AVR (both for the time being and to future proof with a new computer). My primary objectives will be to run Netflix downloaded movies to the TV (or similar concept) and to play music stored on my computer through the speakers and zones hooked into the AVR.

My second question relates to HDMI splitters. I need to connect two TVs to the AVR noted above--both of them are 720p (one plasma and one LCD). However, the AVR only has one HDMI output. I've read about people having bad results with using HDMI splitters. Can anyone give me any insight into whether it works well or whether it's necessary to get one with an amplifier. Any insight/personal experiences?

Thanks in advance!

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   lptudor

lptudor

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 2007

Posted September 07 2007 - 03:59 AM

On the issue of HDMI splitters, can someone tell me whether running my DVR (Vip622) through the AVR (Onkyo TX-SR605) will have an impact on my ability to take advantage of the DVR's dual tuners and ability to watch recorded programming? After making the post above, it dawned on me that if I split the HDMI signal, that could cause me to only get the same video/audio transmitted to both TVs -- thereby eliminating the ability to watch separate programming on two separate TVS.

Can anyone tell me if my concerns are valid and what sort of work around I could implement in order to get 1) all the benefits of a dual tuner DVR; and 2) the highest quality signal to each TV (which are both 720p)?

By the way, I'll be controlling these components with a Logitech Harmony 890.

Thanks

TV 1: Panasonic TH-50PX77U (50" 720p plasma)
-TV 2: Toshiba Regza 26HL67 (26" 720p LCD)
-AVR: Onkyo TX-SR605 (HDMI switching and video conversion)
-Speakers: Aperion (422 [left, right and rear surrounds]; 422-C [center]; S-8 sub
-DVR: Dish Network HD DVR ViP622 [although I could stick with Comcast and get their DVR]
-DVD: Toshiba HD-A2)
-Remote: Logitech Harmony 890

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   JJMJ71

JJMJ71

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 102 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 29 2007

Posted September 07 2007 - 06:01 AM

From what I understand, If you split the signal both TVs will still get the same signal. The receiver has a zone 2 line output for sound, but not for video. So the Onkyo receiver will not help you in this regards either. On the back of the Dual tuner DVR should be two outputs for each channel. You would have to run seperate audio cables to the receiver for the two zones and seperate video cables to each of the TVs.

I am not an expert in this area so I hope someone will chime in here and correct me if I am wrong, but that is my understanding of how your system could work.

Cheers,
JJ
Sunbeam Cinema Build Thread

Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we're here we should dance....
Author Unknown

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   lptudor

lptudor

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 2007

Posted September 07 2007 - 05:35 PM

Given the fact that the D* DVR sends two feeds-- one signal in HD via HDMI and one to the second TV in SD -- and in light of way you say above, I wonder if this would work? Run the HD feed from the D* DVR to the AV receiver and then split the HDMI output from the AV receiver (with the full 720p HD signal) to go to both televisions. This would mean that both TVs would be subject to the same video/audio feed if they were both on at the same time. However, I wonder if I could then use the SD signal and patch it straight from the DVR into the TV.

Or perhaps there's a much better solution out there?

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   JJMJ71

JJMJ71

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 102 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 29 2007

Posted September 08 2007 - 04:18 AM

Everything you said sounds viable. That would probably be the best that you could do without having two HDMI outs on the DVR.
Sunbeam Cinema Build Thread

Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we're here we should dance....
Author Unknown

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   lptudor

lptudor

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 2007

Posted September 12 2007 - 09:49 AM

I think I could possibly use a powered splitter for this application as suggested in this post. (Anyone having questions re powered splitters v. unpowered splitters may wish to follow this link:

http://www.avsforum....ad.php?t=793241