What's new

Can it be done? HT for $750 (1 Viewer)

BigJoeCypressTexas

Auditioning
Real Name
Joe Beitler
OK, I'm a noob.

I've been on a mission to find some components for a small HT in my house. I converted a bay of my three car garage into a man cave. It's small, about 175 sqft. However, I have purchased a 50" plasma HDTV and it's perfect. I've got a couple of strato-loungers and A/C and I'm ready to watch "300" in all it's glory. So, now it's time for the audio.

I've set a budget of $750 for the components. I've been having a back-and-forth discussion with a self-described audiophile here at work. He's trying to convince me that individual components are preferred to a Big Box Store package ala Bose or Pioneer. IS that really true? So I started to piece some things together. Some based on price, some features. I'm pre-wired for 5.1. as I didn't know the world had move to 7.1 :frowning:

Here's what I came up with:

Sony STR-DG910 Receiver $366
Sony SA-W2500 Subs(2) $198
Sony SSC-N5000 Center $89
Sony SSB-N1000 (2) $99
----------------------------
Total$752

No Tax.
No Shipping.

Would 2 10" dubs be better than a single 12"?

I like the idea of HDMI switching.

I just picked Sony because he unit was cheap and had HDMI switching.

Here's his opinion:

"
...no guarantees on such a piddly budget. I'd normally say $1.5k for good entry level, and $3k for "decently nice".

Component to hdmi conversion only makes your wiring tidier to the TV & saves you having to change the TV source.

I would downgrade the receiver & spend the $100 on better speakers. 1 sub is easier to setup, and this one is good for small to mid sized rooms. Spend the leftovers on cables & movie rentals, and call it a day.
"

Can I get a decent HT of $750? So far it seems to be a lesson in frustration in figuring out what to buy.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Joe

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim