-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Cable box has ethernet port on back: what for?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 RobertCharlotte

RobertCharlotte

    Supporting Actor

  • 661 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2002

Posted July 05 2007 - 06:57 AM

I moved recently and noticed that one of my cable STBs has an ethernet port on the back. Anybody know what that's there for? No chance I could do away with my cable modem, is there?
Blücher!

#2 of 8 Jean D

Jean D

    Screenwriter

  • 1,329 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 08 2004

Posted July 05 2007 - 06:59 AM

no chance of using it as a modem. its likely its there for a possible future firmware update that could utilize it. But I wouldn't hold my breath it will happen
Gear: Crestron AADS, Crestron 4L, RTI T2C, SVS PC 16-46, Xbox 360, Wii, Bass Shakers, TiVo HD, Toshiba A3 HD-DVD, 42" Panasonic TH-42PWD8UK, two Denon AVR-2106's, Speaker Craft Aim 7 Five's, Samsung HD-950 DVD player.

#3 of 8 JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin

    Producer

  • 3,219 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2001

Posted July 05 2007 - 08:20 AM

nah, that would be too simple. I downloaded a manual for a generic cable box with a 100BaseT port, and came across this bit
Quote:

Do not attempt to connect data devices without contacting your service
provider. Advanced data features require the proper application and
network infrastructure to operate.
Data Features
In addition to high quality audio and video, the DCT* has the capability to
deliver high-speed data services such as Internet access, e-mail, IP
Telephony, E-Commerce, and home banking.
Your DCT* may be equipped with the interface connections illustrated,
but their functionality depends on the services offered by your service
provider.

You could try plugging it into a network, and seeing if it has an interesting web interface.

#4 of 8 Glenn Overholt

Glenn Overholt

    Producer

  • 4,207 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 24 1999

Posted July 05 2007 - 10:13 AM

I am pretty sure that this is for Internet use too. Some of the new TV's have them, and someday they will enable us to download movies, but don't hold your breath.

Glenn

#5 of 8 Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor

  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted July 05 2007 - 03:05 PM

On most they are disabled.
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#6 of 8 RobertCharlotte

RobertCharlotte

    Supporting Actor

  • 661 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2002

Posted July 06 2007 - 01:58 AM

I figured life couldn't be that simple. Thanks, all!
Blücher!

#7 of 8 Paul McElligott

Paul McElligott

    Screenwriter

  • 2,598 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted July 06 2007 - 04:36 AM

When Big Brother takes over and all TVs have two-way monitoring, this is how they will hook it up.
R.I.P. DVDSpot

#8 of 8 jose050559

jose050559

    Auditioning

  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 11 2011

Posted November 11 2011 - 03:28 PM

i have just tried earlier to hook my xbox up to the back of my cable box but it said unable to connect to xbox live. the only reason why i did this is because i figured that since my computer has a low jack cable going into it and a ethernet cable going to my wirles router i thought the cable box would act the same. :( so basically i now cant platy online i wish i had looked on this earlier :f