Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Toshiba RPTV + Xbox/PS2 = Full mode?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 OFFLINE   Mark Yatchak

Mark Yatchak

    Agent



  • 32 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 23 1999

Posted November 12 2001 - 12:10 PM

When playing PS2 games, full mode seems to work best. I would assume the Xbox/component combo would require full mode 100% of the time. Do you agree?
I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours." - - Stephen Roberts

#2 of 13 OFFLINE   Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter



  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted November 12 2001 - 02:51 PM

Unless the game has a widescreen mode, I've been using TW1. Takes a little off the top & bottom, but there is less distortion.

-Dave

------------------
DVD List
"The page you are looking for is here no more. Quoth the Raven, 'Nevermore.'"



DVD List

#3 of 13 OFFLINE   Dave Falasco

Dave Falasco

    Screenwriter



  • 1,185 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 02 2000

Posted November 13 2001 - 03:37 AM

Don't know about your Toshibas, but on my Pioneer I expect that I won't have a choice in the matter, since the set locks in Full mode when it receives a progressive-scan signal. Sure hope Full mode does an okay job, because I don't have any other options...

I'm not sure if the Toshibas ever had the lock-in-full problem or not, but it may be something to keep in mind if you have a set that's a few years old.

#4 of 13 OFFLINE   Jason Seaver

Jason Seaver

    Lead Actor



  • 9,306 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted November 13 2001 - 04:03 AM

Time to demonstrate my ignorance...

I've got a widescreen Toshiba (TW40F80, I think) non-HDTV. It has component inputs, and I've been thinking of picking up the HD kit when I do eventually get an Xbox so that I can use the component and optical inputs. My question is, basically, will the connector work on my TV at all and is my TV capable of displaying progressive scan?
Jay's Movie Blog - A movie-viewing diary.
Transplanted Life: Sci-fi soap opera about a man placed in a new body, updated two or three times a week.
Trading Post Inn - Another gender-bending soap, with different collaborators writing different points of view.

"What? Since when was this an energy...

#5 of 13 OFFLINE   Mark Yatchak

Mark Yatchak

    Agent



  • 32 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 23 1999

Posted November 13 2001 - 04:53 AM

Jason,
Yes, buy the adapter. Guy's, correct me if I'm wrong but I believe the Xbox is capable of progressive scan when playing games. Your TV simply receives the signal. Progressive scan is done from the hardware (DVD player, Xbox, etc..) As I understand, most games will come in at 480P, some future games will ring in at 1080i. I hope this helps.

[Edited last by Mark Yatchak on November 13, 2001 at 12:00 PM]
I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours." - - Stephen Roberts

#6 of 13 OFFLINE   Jason Seaver

Jason Seaver

    Lead Actor



  • 9,306 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted November 13 2001 - 05:14 AM

But can my relatively ancient Tosh handle progressive, or is that an HDTV-only thing? I've got a strong desire to make my brothers drool when I see them over the holidays Posted Image

[Edited last by Jason Seaver on November 13, 2001 at 12:14 PM]
Jay's Movie Blog - A movie-viewing diary.
Transplanted Life: Sci-fi soap opera about a man placed in a new body, updated two or three times a week.
Trading Post Inn - Another gender-bending soap, with different collaborators writing different points of view.

"What? Since when was this an energy...

#7 of 13 OFFLINE   Dave Falasco

Dave Falasco

    Screenwriter



  • 1,185 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 02 2000

Posted November 13 2001 - 05:18 AM

That's pretty close. Progressive scanning is indeed done by the Xbox or DVD player, but it's important to know that your TV must accept progressively scanned data as well. The presence of component in's on a TV does not automatically mean it can accept a progressive signal (although it's a good sign, since right now prog-scan signals are sent only via component cables). However, I'm almost positive the Tosh model you mention does accept progressive-scanning, so you should be fine. I'm sure you can do a search in the Hardware section on your model number to confirm that.

#8 of 13 OFFLINE   Jason Seaver

Jason Seaver

    Lead Actor



  • 9,306 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted November 13 2001 - 05:44 AM

Ah, apparently it won't. Bummer, that.
Jay's Movie Blog - A movie-viewing diary.
Transplanted Life: Sci-fi soap opera about a man placed in a new body, updated two or three times a week.
Trading Post Inn - Another gender-bending soap, with different collaborators writing different points of view.

"What? Since when was this an energy...

#9 of 13 OFFLINE   Dave Falasco

Dave Falasco

    Screenwriter



  • 1,185 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 02 2000

Posted November 13 2001 - 05:51 AM

Damn, man, sorry about that. I was just doing a little reading about your model and reached the same conclusion.

Should still look pretty amazing, though. My DVD player lets me switch from progressive to interlaced scanning on the fly, and most times I can barely tell the difference. It certainly isn't something you'll miss dearly if you don't have it.

Scant comfort, I know... Posted Image

#10 of 13 OFFLINE   Graeme Clark

Graeme Clark

    Screenwriter



  • 2,181 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 05 2000

Posted November 13 2001 - 06:06 AM

Quote:
My DVD player lets me switch from progressive to interlaced scanning on the fly, and most times I can barely tell the difference.

Because your TV has a line doubler that converts the interlace signal to a progressive picture.

------------------


#11 of 13 OFFLINE   Dave Falasco

Dave Falasco

    Screenwriter



  • 1,185 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 02 2000

Posted November 13 2001 - 07:21 AM

Yes, I know that. But I'm assuming Jason's does, too. Maybe that's a bad assumption? I guess I'm just trying to say that the difference between my set's internal line doubler and the progressively-scanned image from my DVD player is pretty slight, and so hopefully Jason won't be missing too much by not having a progressively scanned Xbox image on his Toshiba.

#12 of 13 OFFLINE   Michael St. Clair

Michael St. Clair

    Producer



  • 6,009 posts
  • Join Date: May 03 1999

Posted November 13 2001 - 07:30 AM

Every progressive-compatible set has a line doubler. The only ones that even have an optional 480i mode is a couple of old panasonic models.

#13 of 13 OFFLINE   Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter



  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted November 13 2001 - 10:32 AM

The difference between progressive & interlace will vary from tv to tv, due to the different line doublers. There is a slight difference on my Toshiba, but a large difference on a familiy member's Mitsubishi.

-Dave

------------------
DVD List
"The page you are looking for is here no more. Quoth the Raven, 'Nevermore.'"



DVD List