-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Lossless audio over 5.1 analog.


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 Jaxon's Dad

Jaxon's Dad

    Supporting Actor

  • 837 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 27 1999
  • Real Name:Doug
  • LocationMid-West, USA

Posted June 02 2007 - 04:58 AM

Question - What BD Players out of the box will allow uncompressed PCM or lossless audio over 5.1 analog outs? Or is this only possible by way of a firmware update a la Toshiba's HD-A1? It's my birthday in a couple of weeks and I'm going to give myself the gift of blu. My receiver does not have HDMI and I'm quite satisfied with the lossless audio I get from my HD-A1, so if I can find a BD player with this same feature, my journey to format neutrality will be that much more painless.

Thanx in advance!

D
The Star Wars Special Editions: Just 'cause you can, don't mean you should.

 


#2 of 9 Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer

    Producer

  • 3,759 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 1999

Posted June 02 2007 - 09:03 AM

All of them except the PS3.
Steve S.
I prefer not to push the subwoofers until they're properly run in.

#3 of 9 Jaxon's Dad

Jaxon's Dad

    Supporting Actor

  • 837 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 27 1999
  • Real Name:Doug
  • LocationMid-West, USA

Posted June 02 2007 - 11:20 AM

Thanx for the info.
The Star Wars Special Editions: Just 'cause you can, don't mean you should.

 


#4 of 9 john a hunter

john a hunter

    Supporting Actor

  • 628 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 11 2005

Posted June 02 2007 - 01:38 PM

I was in a similar position to you.I enjoy the lossless audio over the XA1 and purchased the Sammy 1200 recently.The picture is great and to my mind better than the Tosh at upsampling. It has 5.1 outs but the only setting it allows is whether your speakers are large or small etc.
The Tosh,in addition, allows you to set cross overs, channel volume separately,and most importantly,IMO, time delay.
I expect Sammy intends that you set these in your pre-amp or receiver and just take the data stream from the 1200 in the hopefully not too distant future when this equipment is available. That's OK for me but you may like to what adjustments are available on any player you are thinking to buy.

#5 of 9 Gary Kellerman

Gary Kellerman

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 127 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 1999

Posted August 06 2007 - 12:13 AM

Had the receiver manufacturers had the 5.1 analog inputs connected to the chip inside the a/v receivers that performs bass mangagement, crossover, and time delay, all the analog ouputs on any kind of surround sound player(sacd,dvd-audio,pcm uncompressed) would have had to do is output the audio alone. It seems that the 5.1 channel analog inputs on the receiver was simply designed to receive raw audio and the machines that output that audio were supposed to do any adjustments internally in those machines. I believe that they may have been one or two receivers out there that did have the bass mangement etc adjustments in those analog inputs; I cannot recall who had it at this time. Gee, doesn't it sound like a "handshake" ordeal!!!

#6 of 9 Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph

    Lead Actor

  • 8,338 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 1998

Posted August 06 2007 - 12:46 AM

You guys that use multiple players that both use the multi analogue out, how do you connect to your receiver that has only one set of multi analogue ins? Do you use a switcher?
Click on above image to enter " T H E . H O L O D E C K "
---------------------------------------------------------
The Holodeck. My DIY Screen. DIY Subwoofer: The MaxCaliber
My humble collection of DVD's. HTF Beginner's Primer and FAQ

#7 of 9 Chris Gerhard

Chris Gerhard

    Screenwriter

  • 1,271 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 08 2002
  • Real Name:Chris Gerhard

Posted August 06 2007 - 01:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Joseph
You guys that use multiple players that both use the multi analogue out, how do you connect to your receiver that has only one set of multi analogue ins? Do you use a switcher?

I don't do it but the switcher sure beats connecting and disconnecting. The thought of a maze of cables means I only have my DVD-A/SACD player connected by the analog 5.1 connections. There are some switchers that perform the function nicely including some designed to switch component video and composite audio, accounting for the 5 inputs and outputs. For my three players with 5.1 analog outputs, I would need 24 cables connected. The thought of that ugly mess distracts me from doing it.

Chris

#8 of 9 DavidUL

DavidUL

    Agent

  • 48 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2006

Posted August 08 2007 - 12:25 PM

wouldnt a switcher defeat the purpose of pure analog out to a source ?

#9 of 9 RobertR

RobertR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,492 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 19 1998

Posted August 11 2007 - 10:34 AM

Quote:
wouldnt a switcher defeat the purpose of pure analog out to a source ?
There's no reason why a competently designed switcher should have any significant effect on the analog signal.





Forum Nav Content I Follow