Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HD-DVD players PAL/NTSC issue?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Martin S

Martin S

Stunt Coordinator

• 118 posts

Posted May 17 2007 - 11:09 PM

Excuse me if this is a basic question that any idiot should know but I'm new to all this. As I'm thinking of getting an HD-DVD player, as opposed to Blu-RAy because of the region encoding issue (I stay in the UK..nuff said!!), I remember reading somewhere that there might be issues with players, that are basically PAL, not playing an NTSC encoded disc as a sort of double protection region encoding move. Any truth in this as I'd hate to get an HD-DVD player and find I couldn't play discs from the US.?
Cheers folks.

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Marko Berg

Marko Berg

Supporting Actor

• 856 posts

Posted May 18 2007 - 01:53 AM

HD DVD software is region free since no region-encoding system exists on the platform. The hardware, however, will enforce region encoding on standard definition DVDs; therefore, HD DVD players sold in North America will only play back Region 1 standard DVDs, and European HD DVD players will only play back Region 2 standard DVDs.

PAL/NTSC is not really the issue, the region encoding is.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Cees Alons

Cees Alons

Executive Producer

• 18,666 posts

Posted May 18 2007 - 11:19 AM

But they will play HD DVDs from all regions - because there are no regions.

BD-players however, support region coding (labeled "A", "B" and "C"). Posted Image

Cees

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Ensign Eddie

Ensign Eddie

Stunt Coordinator

• 164 posts

Posted February 21 2008 - 07:16 AM