Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

MS releases HD DVD add-on update to address SQ issues


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   ppltd

ppltd

    Producer



  • 3,044 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 30 2006

Posted May 15 2007 - 02:17 AM

Microsoft has released an update for the HD Add-on that addresses disk compatibility and SQ issues. Can't wait to try it out...

Thomas Eisenmann(Last updated 09/30/11)

Blu-Ray Collection  DVD Collection, Numerous BD players,

LG 55LX6500 55-Inch 3D 1080p 240 Hz LED

Pioneer VSX-94TXH, Panasonic PT-AE7000U 3D 1080p (PT-AE8000 Just Ordered, 

1124 BDs and going up, 1028 - DVDs and going down.


#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Manuel

Manuel

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 202 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 1999

Posted May 15 2007 - 05:53 AM

I had a chance to play with this a few mninutes this morning. First, you have to put in a HD-DVD for the update to load. Setting the player to DTS is done after your HD-DVD movie is on, press the Display button on the remote, then go to digital audio. My initial impressions: I have always had a hard time to get the player to read my Batman Begins disc. Usually takes 4 to 5 eject/loads to work IF it works. It now worked 2 times after 2 loads and the 3rd time it loaded right away. Not only did I have loading problems with BB but I had major audio issues where the video and audio were just slightly off. It is now perfect ( at least to my eyes) and have checked it after every load. Also, I have set my audio for HD-DVDs to DTS. I hear a little bit better range and clarity. However, I am no expert so it could be that I am trying too hard to hear a difference. Question for those of you in the know. i have a Harmony 659 that I run everything through. Is there any way to get the remote to learn the code for pressing to the side on the 360's left thumb stick? I cannot get this to work.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   David Allen

David Allen

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 138 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 20 2002

Posted May 15 2007 - 06:36 AM

How do you access the software upgrade for the HD-DVD player?

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   russell sparks

russell sparks

    Agent



  • 38 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 1999

Posted May 15 2007 - 07:31 AM

hi david just hddvd in the add on and it will update before the movie starts. i did it this morning with batman begins.

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   captainjoe

captainjoe

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 168 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 2006

Posted May 15 2007 - 02:43 PM

How can you make your sound option set to DTS? Is it something you have to do on the X-box itself?

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Joe RZ

Joe RZ

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 51 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 06 2002

Posted May 15 2007 - 05:42 PM

Insert hd-dvd. Hit the display button on remote. Navigate over to audio options. The settings are not on dashboard blades.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Mike.B

Mike.B

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 185 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 09 2003

Posted May 21 2007 - 12:15 AM

I like how you can turn subtitles off/on using the display button on the remote now. Previously you had to go through the disc menu.

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   captainjoe

captainjoe

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 168 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 2006

Posted May 21 2007 - 07:18 AM

Thanks.