-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

7.1 receiver not working???


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 leafswillwin

leafswillwin

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 78 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2007

Posted May 14 2007 - 01:24 AM

Hey guys,

I have an rxv -659 and i am having a problem with the output. when i have a 5.1 source the surround back speakers are not on. I understand this because its not 6.1 or 7.1 source. But i thought the receiver would send the same signals to the surround back as well. So for example the the surround left and surround back left have the same signal, and the same for the right side. This way the sound behind you sounds better. how can i get the surround back to also work with 5.1??

How can I get my receiver to do this??

thanks

#2 of 12 Jack Gilvey

Jack Gilvey

    Producer

  • 4,952 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 13 1999

Posted May 14 2007 - 02:28 AM

Do you have the back surrounds enabled in "setup"?
SVS Customer Service
http://www.svsound.com
sales@svsound.com
techsupport@svsound.com

#3 of 12 leafswillwin

leafswillwin

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 78 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2007

Posted May 14 2007 - 02:40 AM

yes when I ran the mic setup the surround back was configured. It is fine, for example with 6.1 movies my surround backs operate also with 7ch stereo (which is the same signal on all 7 speakers) also works. Its just for 5.1 movies where the surround backs dont run but i want them to sound with the same signal as the side surrounds. any ideas?

thanks

#4 of 12 Jack Gilvey

Jack Gilvey

    Producer

  • 4,952 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 13 1999

Posted May 14 2007 - 02:57 AM

Not really sure (just 5.1 here), but do you have to engage Pro Logic II or something to get it to extract those back channels from 5.1?
SVS Customer Service
http://www.svsound.com
sales@svsound.com
techsupport@svsound.com

#5 of 12 Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley

    Screenwriter

  • 2,701 posts
  • Join Date: May 25 2003
  • Real Name:Ed
  • LocationEastern NC

Posted May 14 2007 - 04:31 AM

Pro Logic IIx should send it to the back speakers.
So, you won't be listening to DD or DTS, to do this...............
Samsung HL61A750 (LED DLP)            Onkyo TX-SR805
Oppo BDP-83 Blu ray                                  Polk Audio LSi9
Polk Audio LSiC                                  Sony SS-MB100H
SVS PC12-NSD (Sub)                       ...

#6 of 12 leafswillwin

leafswillwin

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 78 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2007

Posted May 14 2007 - 06:57 AM

ummmm? what?, sorry i dont understand, how do i fix this?

#7 of 12 Jack Gilvey

Jack Gilvey

    Producer

  • 4,952 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 13 1999

Posted May 14 2007 - 08:00 AM

Check out page 52 of your owner's manual.

http://www.abtelectr....659_manual.pdf

It's as I guessed above.
SVS Customer Service
http://www.svsound.com
sales@svsound.com
techsupport@svsound.com

#8 of 12 Jack Gilvey

Jack Gilvey

    Producer

  • 4,952 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 13 1999

Posted May 16 2007 - 12:01 AM

Any luck?
SVS Customer Service
http://www.svsound.com
sales@svsound.com
techsupport@svsound.com

#9 of 12 John Brill

John Brill

    Supporting Actor

  • 519 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2003

Posted May 16 2007 - 12:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Gilvey
Not really sure (just 5.1 here), but do you have to engage Pro Logic II or something to get it to extract those back channels from 5.1?

Actually, you have two options. You can engage PLIIx and use the Pro Logic decoder to matrix 5.1 into 6.1/7.1 (depending on what you have your system set-up as, in your case 7.1) or you can engage DD EX which will use the Dolby Digital decoder to matrix 5.1 into 6.1/7.1

Page 52 of your manual should explain this. My older RX-V540 works this way as well to convert 5.1 into 6.1 by hitting the "auto" button on the remote to switch between off, auto, 6.1.

#10 of 12 familyguy

familyguy

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 77 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 21 2006

Posted May 16 2007 - 08:00 AM

?

#11 of 12 Jack Gilvey

Jack Gilvey

    Producer

  • 4,952 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 13 1999

Posted May 17 2007 - 12:39 AM

Posted Image
SVS Customer Service
http://www.svsound.com
sales@svsound.com
techsupport@svsound.com

#12 of 12 leafswillwin

leafswillwin

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 78 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2007

Posted May 17 2007 - 04:06 AM

works, thanks