What's new

Majorly Dissapointed With My Denon (and the rest of the system) (1 Viewer)

ChristinasDream

Auditioning
Real Name
Mike
Hey all, I joined this forum not too long ago, but didn't have much of a chance to join in and get some help.

Anyway, the name is Mike. I've been a dedicated musician for years, so of course, I have quite a large collection of vinyl and CD.

Unfortunately, I can't stand playing any of 'em on my system I built 3 or so years ago. It sounded great back then, but everyday since then it has gotten more painful to listen to anything on it. This is most likely due to the fact that over years of using more and more analog equipment with my electric instruments, the digital sound of all this new equipment is just not for me. I equate it to having an ice-pick in the ear.

I think it's about time to upgrade with a downgrade to analog.

Here's a quick list of what I have now:

Denon AV-1705 Reciever
Denon DCM-280 5-disc changer
Audio-Technica AT-PL50 turntable
Pair of Signet SL280ex floor speakers

Right now, I'd at least like to trade in my reciever for something that's truly analog. Preferably would like to go with something older for some vintage vibe. Something with tubes would be even more awesome (I need a lot of warmth) I know nothing about older stereo equipment to be 100% honest, and I figured a forum like this would know it way better than me :)

Any other suggestions are certainly welcome. I'm looking forward to finally getting to enjoy my music the way it was meant to be. And I hope this is the right forum for these kind of questions? :confused:

SethH

Senior HTF Member
You might search around on Audiogon to find some older stuff in good shape. Honestly though, I think I would start by auditioning lots of new speakers.

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed