Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

PS3 on 720P display?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 OFFLINE   Wet1

Wet1

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 2006

Posted February 05 2007 - 05:58 AM

I have a HD1000U 720p front PJ in our bedroom and I'm interested in getting a cheap BR player for it. Since the PS3 is the cheapest, will it work with my 720p PJ, or will the image be down converted to 480p? Also, my receiver in that room doesn't have HDMI inputs, but it is AC-3. Is there an audio output on the PS3 which will work for my older receiver?

#2 of 10 OFFLINE   Craig_Ehr

Craig_Ehr

    Second Unit



  • 329 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 15 2002

Posted February 05 2007 - 06:18 AM

Right now for BD playback you will only get the following on the PS3: 480i/p 1080i/p You might want to wait until next month to see if the reported huge firmware update (to coincide with the European PS3 launch) will add 720p to the list....there is speculation that it may indeed do so. Your only other option (i.e. in addition to HDMI) audio-wise - not including composite - is optical which of course limits you on lossless audio opportunities.

#3 of 10 OFFLINE   Todd H

Todd H

    Go Dawgs!



  • 2,081 posts
  • Join Date: May 27 1999
  • Real Name:Todd
  • LocationGeorgia

Posted February 05 2007 - 06:41 AM

If I'm not mistaken, your projector should take a 1080i signal. What it does with it after that is the question. A lot of times 720P displays take a 1080i picture, convert it to 540P and then scaled to 720P. So if you set the PS3 to 1080i, it should work although there will be some loss of resolution. Like Craig_Ehr said, there might be an update in March that provides scaling to 720P. The optical out of the PS3 should work fine, but you won't be able to hear any of the lossless soundtracks.

#4 of 10 OFFLINE   Wet1

Wet1

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 2006

Posted February 05 2007 - 07:34 AM

Thanks guys. I'll have to look into my PJ to see how it handles a 1080i/p signal.

#5 of 10 OFFLINE   Chris S

Chris S

    Screenwriter



  • 2,530 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2000
  • Real Name:Chris S

Posted February 08 2007 - 02:08 PM

I've had my HD1000U for about a week now and it looks phenomenal with the PS3! The manual doesn't say it, and for my knowledge it's not documented anywhere, but it will accept the 1080p signal and down convert it to the projectors native 720p. So far I haven't noticed any scaling issues.
DVD & Blu-ray - It's all about the movies!

#6 of 10 OFFLINE   Bryan Michael

Bryan Michael

    Supporting Actor



  • 564 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 2002

Posted February 10 2007 - 12:39 PM

i have a benq 8700+ and i set it up for 720 on my ps3 but the projector says it is 540p
there are olny 2 types of people in the world the irish and thoes who want to be irish

#7 of 10 OFFLINE   Sean Laughter

Sean Laughter

    Screenwriter



  • 1,385 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 1999

Posted February 12 2007 - 06:54 AM

Bryan, assuming the Benq accepts either 1080i or 1080p inputs you need to select one of them in the PS3 setup so that it outputs one of those signals. The PS3 currently will not ouput a native 720p signal when playing a blu-ray movie, so if you don't have either 1080i or 1080p selected it automatically downconverts them to 540p. You can leave 720p selected, you just need to select one of the other two in addition to 720p. If the Benq doesn't accept 1080i or 1080p (I can't imagine it doesn't accept at least 1080i) then until the PS3 can output a native 720p signal there's no way to get above 540p.

#8 of 10 OFFLINE   DavidUL

DavidUL

    Agent



  • 48 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2006

Posted February 12 2007 - 11:44 AM

hope this doesnt sound silly but.. what does the above the statement mean ? any of the lossless soundtracks ? meaning full hdmi input including audio ? if i go optical digital out from my ps3 how is that not lossless audio ? thanks dave ps sorry to jump in this thread with my questions..

#9 of 10 OFFLINE   Neal_C

Neal_C

    Second Unit



  • 476 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 15 2001

Posted February 12 2007 - 04:23 PM

You can only get lossless or uncompressed sound from HDMI on the PS3. The optical connection will give you the compressed track.

#10 of 10 OFFLINE   Dean L

Dean L

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 205 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 25 2000

Posted February 14 2007 - 04:14 PM

Which will be standard Dolby Digital or DTS sound (which are both compressed) that you currently get from standard def DVD through the PS3's optical output.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users