What's new

New owner of Old G-4 (1 Viewer)

Michael Harris

Screenwriter
Yesterday I bought a surplus Power Mac G4 with OS X 10.3.9 for $599.00 and included a 17" Apple digital LCD monitor. I bought because I thought the price was right for learning an OS that I've never used before and I'll use it for photo editing since my Photoshop Elements can be loaded on a Mac.

Here are the specs:

733MhZ (can this be upgraded?)
512 MB RAM (but I bought and installed another 512 stick)
40 GB Hard drive (but I bought a $40 80GB, which I'll install shortly)
32 MB Video (any recommended upgrade?)

One odd thing, I can't seem to access the CD drive. It is in there, it is hooked up, but there is no eject button on the front of the machine. Also, the face looks a bit different then the ones I've seen in the .pdf manuals that I've downloaded. I'll have to call the seller and find out. I think this machine was used more as workstation and the CD was locked out to keep users from loading stuff.

I do like how easy it is to access the innards. Very clean on the inside. Also like the way the monitor just requires the DVI cable to provide power and USB connectivity.

Looking forward to playing with this.

Carl Johnson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl III
I just bought a new used emac and it took me a week to figure out how to open the DVD drive. Are you using an Apple keyboard? If so look in the upper right hand corner above the numerical pad. That's where I found the eject button.

After having owned a PC for five years there are plenty of features that I used to be able to access without even looking at the screen but that's ok. I'm looking forward to mastering the art of being a MAC :)

Michael Harris

Screenwriter

I am using an Apple keyboard but the only keys above the numerical pad are the page up, page down, help, and home keys. Fortunately I bought it from a business with a real location, I'll just give them a call.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Reviewer
HW Reviewer