-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Universal Remote won't work on Xbox 360

Xbox

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Bill Griffith

Bill Griffith

    Supporting Actor

  • 581 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 08 2002

Posted December 26 2006 - 10:30 AM

I have an Onkyo programmable remote which I love using and runs all my home theater components, I just recently got the xbox 360 and want to use it as my dvd movie player in place of my Toshiba (SD-4980).

So I program the XBox 360 remote functions into the Onkyo remote just as I would any other component, but it doesn't seem to work, it says its learning (gives 2 long flashes when key is successfully programmed, as opposed to 3 short flashes if it doesn't work) but when I point the onkyo remote at the xbox, it doesn't seem to be able to read the signal coming from it.

Any reason anyone know about for this?

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Hank_P

Hank_P

    Second Unit

  • 280 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 15 2000

Posted December 28 2006 - 02:31 AM

does the xbox use bluetooth like the PS3? I'm not sure, but it may be the issue?

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Jimi C

Jimi C

    Screenwriter

  • 1,209 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 22 2004

Posted December 28 2006 - 09:46 AM

It uses RF.
[IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v488/theend13/sabres.jpg[/IMG]

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Bill Griffith

Bill Griffith

    Supporting Actor

  • 581 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 08 2002

Posted December 28 2006 - 11:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimi C
It uses RF.

does this mean my old Onkyo remote won't work???

Because it was excepting the programming from the XBOX remote. If the remote flashed twice slowly then it learned the function and it did almost everytime.

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Arthur Legardo

Arthur Legardo

    Second Unit

  • 443 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 21 1999

Posted December 29 2006 - 12:35 AM

The 360 uses IR. I can control it through my (first generation) Philips Pronto which is IR only. The controllers may use RF.

The IR window on the 360 is rather small, point the universal remote directly at the IR window and see if that helps.

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Bill Griffith

Bill Griffith

    Supporting Actor

  • 581 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 08 2002

Posted December 30 2006 - 01:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Legardo
The 360 uses IR. I can control it through my (first generation) Philips Pronto which is IR only. The controllers may use RF.

The IR window on the 360 is rather small, point the universal remote directly at the IR window and see if that helps.


Nope, still doesn't work. I tried reprogramming it under 2 other device switches, SAT and CD as well as the DVD device and nothing on all three yet the remote says it is learning the codes.

Very frustrating, I hate having 2 remotes.

So now I'm looking at the Harmony for the Xbox, and the Harmony 880, But I'm now worried that anything other than something that says xbox will work.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Jeremy Little

Jeremy Little

    Supporting Actor

  • 772 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 09 2001

Posted December 30 2006 - 12:28 PM

You probably will have to get a remote to get the 360 to work. I am using a 1st gen Pronto without any issues at all, but I also know that every Harmony will work it as well. That's the great thing about Web-based remotes, if it doesn't work today it will soon.
If it wasn't for my horse, I wouldn't have spent that year in college.

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   Bill Griffith

Bill Griffith

    Supporting Actor

  • 581 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 08 2002

Posted December 31 2006 - 05:31 AM

well I got the Harmoney 880, and after a few short minutes, I'm back to just one remote.

The 5 year reign of the Onkyo remote is now gone, let the new king of remotes live longer.





Forum Nav Content I Follow