Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Best way to hook up HD-A2 audio??


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   king

king

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 57 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 09 2006

Posted December 14 2006 - 02:51 AM

I currently own the HD-A1 player and have it hooked up to my Harman Kardon receiver through the Digital Coax output. Video goes straight to the projector through HDMI and it works great.

Now with the lack of the digital coax output on the HD-A2, what's the best way to hook up the audio? I guess my only choice is optical since my receiver has no HDMI inputs??

The new Harman Kardon receivers have HDMI inputs but the manual suggests that a separate digital coax connection is still required for audio.Posted Image

Why did Toshiba get rid of the digital coax outputs??Posted Image
Sony VPL-VW50 1080p Projector, Da-Lite 106" Cinema Contour screen, Toshiba HD-A2 DVD player,
Harman Kardon 335 7.1ch receiver, Polk Audio RTi10 speakers, CSi5 center, RC615i surrounds, Velodyne DPS-12 Sub, Monster 400, THX cables

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   buggs

buggs

    Extra



  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 04 2006

Posted December 14 2006 - 02:38 PM

TSO Link cable is going to be your best choice. Frankly, I would choose that over the Digital Coax cable anyway. Either way you are going to get full digital sound from the system - and the TSO cables are relitively inexpensive. I have the Denon AVR 3805 receiver and I will use the same solution. HDMI from the A2 to the Sanyo Z5, Optical Digital Cable from the player to the A2 to the receiver. Best of both worlds!

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   Clinton McClure

Clinton McClure

    Casual Enthusiast



  • 2,856 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 28 1999
  • Real Name:Clint
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted December 14 2006 - 06:07 PM

TOS-Link and digital coax will yield the same results. 1s and 0s are being moved, nothing more, nothing less. I prefer the digital coax because the connection is more stable. (Same reason I loathe HDMI.) Given your options, however, the TOS-link connection is better than the 2-channel analog.

#4 of 11 OFFLINE   Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate

    Screenwriter



  • 2,937 posts
  • Join Date: May 23 1999

Posted December 15 2006 - 01:22 AM

King, does your HK have 5.1 channel inputs?
Listen Up People.., Rack Em and Pack Em.., We're Phantoms in 15.

#5 of 11 OFFLINE   king

king

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 57 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 09 2006

Posted December 15 2006 - 07:38 AM

Yup, the HK receiver has 5.1 inputs but I don't think the HD-A2 has anything other than optical out & HDMI...
Sony VPL-VW50 1080p Projector, Da-Lite 106" Cinema Contour screen, Toshiba HD-A2 DVD player,
Harman Kardon 335 7.1ch receiver, Polk Audio RTi10 speakers, CSi5 center, RC615i surrounds, Velodyne DPS-12 Sub, Monster 400, THX cables

#6 of 11 OFFLINE   Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate

    Screenwriter



  • 2,937 posts
  • Join Date: May 23 1999

Posted December 15 2006 - 08:22 AM

From what was read hear, HD-A1 benefits from being connected via the 5.1 inputs since you get uncompressed sound. I think you can enjoy Dolby Digital Plus via the 5.1 inputs. As to the HD-A2 use the toslink connection, I was under the impression HK a toslink in and out. What Model #HK? Just curious.
Listen Up People.., Rack Em and Pack Em.., We're Phantoms in 15.

#7 of 11 OFFLINE   dpippel

dpippel

    HTF Premium Member



  • 3,426 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2000
  • Real Name:Doug

Posted December 15 2006 - 08:35 AM

The only way you can get Dolby TrueHD and DD+ from the HD-A2 is over HDMI. If your receiver/processor doesn't support HDMI then you're stuck with the DTS downmix that the HD-A2 converts these audio streams into via the Toslink optical output. The only way to enjoy the advanced HD-DVD audio codecs with the A2 is to get a new receiver/processor that handles HDMI audio.

Careful man, there's a beverage here!


#8 of 11 OFFLINE   buggs

buggs

    Extra



  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 04 2006

Posted December 15 2006 - 09:25 AM

Are you sure about that Doug? I looked for quite a while last night before I posted an answer to this question. I could not fine any specific reference that the TOSlink optical was downgraded. If you have somewhere to direct me, I would appreciate it. That will definately affect my future purchasing decisions.

#9 of 11 OFFLINE   king

king

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 57 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 09 2006

Posted December 15 2006 - 10:42 AM

That brings me back to the same question. The Harman Kardon receivers that DO have HDMI inputs still require a separate digital coax or optical link for audio. The HDMI is only used for video switching. Does that mean they are not getting Dolby TrueHD sound from the HD player? I currently have the HK-AVR335 and was considering upgrading to the newer model which has HDMI inputs...but if that's the case then I won't be any further ahead.
Sony VPL-VW50 1080p Projector, Da-Lite 106" Cinema Contour screen, Toshiba HD-A2 DVD player,
Harman Kardon 335 7.1ch receiver, Polk Audio RTi10 speakers, CSi5 center, RC615i surrounds, Velodyne DPS-12 Sub, Monster 400, THX cables

#10 of 11 OFFLINE   dpippel

dpippel

    HTF Premium Member



  • 3,426 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2000
  • Real Name:Doug

Posted December 15 2006 - 12:07 PM

I am absolutely, 100% sure. You can search for more info at AVS Forum:

http://www.avsforum.com/

The HD-A2 only passes decoded Dolby TrueHD and Dolby Digital Plus over HDMI. There's a reason that the HD-A1/XA1 had 5.1 *analog* outputs.

Careful man, there's a beverage here!


#11 of 11 OFFLINE   dpippel

dpippel

    HTF Premium Member



  • 3,426 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2000
  • Real Name:Doug

Posted December 15 2006 - 12:10 PM

I can't answer your question king, as I'm not familiar with the possible limitations of HDMI audio support in Harman Kardon's receivers. However if what you say is true then I'd imagine that they do NOT support audio over HDMI, in which case you'd be correct about not being any better off than you are now audio-wise with the HD-A2.

Careful man, there's a beverage here!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users