-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Official Playstation 3 Blu-Ray player Thread


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
806 replies to this topic

#1 of 807 OFFLINE   Seth=L

Seth=L

    Screenwriter

  • 1,313 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2006

Posted November 17 2006 - 04:38 PM

I hope I can make this the official thread, but I wasn't sure.

Anyway, who's got one? I know whoever has one probably won't take a break from it for a week, but just in case you get some time, let us know how it performs.

I am sure everyone would like to know about Blu-Ray performance in comparison to the Samsung, Panasonic, and the Philips. And of course how does it stack up to the Xbox 360? How good is the SACD playback?

Thanks for input in advance,

#2 of 807 OFFLINE   Chris S

Chris S

    Screenwriter

  • 2,522 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2000
  • Real Name:Chris S

Posted November 17 2006 - 05:32 PM

Got one ordered through Costco.com this morning. Only took 3+ hours but I guess that's better than sitting out in the cold for 48. I should have it (hopefully) sometime next week. Can't wait!
DVD & Blu-ray - It's all about the movies!

#3 of 807 OFFLINE   Brian Kaz

Brian Kaz

    Second Unit

  • 313 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 31 2000

Posted November 18 2006 - 09:16 AM

Got one at launch, projecting 1080/60p on a 110" screen.

In short,
-Blu-Ray PQ can be as good as the best out there (both formats).
-Menus and load times are fast like a DVD player.
-Audio is stellar (Black Hawk Down....*yum*).
-The photo slideshow with the falling prints is uber cool.
-Resistance seems pretty fun, but I haven't had the chance to play much.
-Buy Blast Factor. $8 of old school arcade goodness in 1080p.
-The controller motion sensing is cool and I hope it gets utilized a LOT.


Some bad:
-My Xmen 3 skips. I think I got a bad disc though. Will find out tonight.
-HDMI port can be fickle.
-They need more content online.

#4 of 807 OFFLINE   Robert Burkes

Robert Burkes

    Second Unit

  • 262 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2000

Posted November 18 2006 - 10:57 AM

I got one...just finished hooking it up. In the process of trying to calibrate using the DVE DVD via HDMI. Problem...it won't pass BTB. Anyone else tried this?

#5 of 807 OFFLINE   Chuck Mayer

Chuck Mayer

    Lead Actor

  • 7,987 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 06 2001
  • Real Name:Chuck Mayer
  • LocationNorthern Virginia

Posted November 18 2006 - 11:17 AM

Haven't gotten online much. Got Resistance, Black Hawk Down, and Kingdom of Heaven. Great looking machine. Don't have a calibrated image, so I can't judge the BD content so well yet.
Hey buddy...did you just see a real bright light?

#6 of 807 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor

  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted November 18 2006 - 01:44 PM

Out of all the BlueRay players I've used, this one is easily the most user friendly and fast. So fast in starting, running and managing menus that it puts every other bluray player to shame.
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#7 of 807 OFFLINE   Mark Klaus

Mark Klaus

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 1999

Posted November 18 2006 - 02:38 PM

I managed to snag one off ebay for not too much of a premium. It'll be here early next week.

My questions:

1. I want to hook up to my 720p Sony. Is HDMI the way to go or is component good enough. Do either require special cables or are normal cables usable?

2. I just saw that it plays SACD. What's the best way to hook up the sound? I assume it does not have the RCA type 5.1 channel connectors similar to what I use to connect my DVD-A player to my receiver. My receiver just has the one set of 5.1 inputs.

Help much appreciated. I want to be ready with the right cables when it arrives.

#8 of 807 OFFLINE   Seth=L

Seth=L

    Screenwriter

  • 1,313 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2006

Posted November 18 2006 - 04:27 PM

I do not believe it has 5.1 analog output. So the only way to experiance it is through HDMI. The PS3 converts SACD to 192/24 LPCM and sends it out via HDMI to a capable receiver. It also does this for Dolby True HD.

#9 of 807 OFFLINE   Mark Klaus

Mark Klaus

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 1999

Posted November 18 2006 - 05:08 PM

So its a new receiver. My wife's gonna love that news!

#10 of 807 OFFLINE   Steven Simon

Steven Simon

    Producer

  • 3,272 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 1998

Posted November 19 2006 - 01:25 AM

Guys,
I must say, I agree with what was said in another thread. The Blu Ray Playback on this is Flawless... The boot load time on my PS3 is 8 Seconds, and disc load time is approx 6 seconds....

Watched Ice Age MeltDown, and all I can say as it was Jaw dropping Video.... PQ looked 3D....

More to come... Have MAdden 2007 In Wrap still...

So I do have a question... I have the 20 Gig version. Would a Wireless Bridge work to get me online?? Output from the Bridge via Ethernet???
Steve Simon
HTF Administration
(Retired)
 

 


#11 of 807 OFFLINE   Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph

    Lead Actor

  • 8,339 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 1998
  • Real Name:Neil Joseph

Posted November 19 2006 - 01:39 AM

Congrats on the purchase. I don't have any answers about the wireless bridge but as you finish setting up and start testing, do test the lossless audio capabilities if you can and report ack here with your findings.
Click and enter " T H E . H O L O D E C K "
---------------------------------------------------------
My Home Theatre "The Holodeck"

 


#12 of 807 OFFLINE   Steven Simon

Steven Simon

    Producer

  • 3,272 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 1998

Posted November 19 2006 - 02:33 AM

Neil,
I just ran XMEN United. I have all the fox titles 11 I think.... I have Optical for Sound.... Also running HDMI converted to DVI to my 1080i Pioneer Plasma... The Audio on X3 was that DTS Lossless.. Sounded Fantastic... Super wide, robust sound imaging... The transfer on X3 looks a tad on the soft side to me, as well as some grain....

Now Kingdom Of Heaven is Playing as we speak.. The image on this BD is stunning.. Night and day..... Super sharp, vivid colors, and super rich detail.... I guess it all goes by the authoring and Codec they used...

Let me ask u this... Is this PS3 capable of doing these higher end Audio tracks? Do I not need to be using HDMI or 5.1 Analog to achieve??

If not, I pressume my PS3 is Downsampling on the Bitstream??
Steve Simon
HTF Administration
(Retired)
 

 


#13 of 807 OFFLINE   Dave_P.

Dave_P.

    Supporting Actor

  • 983 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 1999

Posted November 19 2006 - 03:58 AM

Sounds great, looks like I'll try to snag one of these when they actually become easily available, for use as a backup player/occasional game.

#14 of 807 OFFLINE   Brian Kaz

Brian Kaz

    Second Unit

  • 313 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 31 2000

Posted November 19 2006 - 08:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Joseph
Congrats on the purchase. I don't have any answers about the wireless bridge but as you finish setting up and start testing, do test the lossless audio capabilities if you can and report ack here with your findings.

Neil, I'm running the PS3s HDMI into my Elite receiver for uncompressed sound and it's damn impressive. It will not disappoint.

#15 of 807 OFFLINE   Leo

Leo

    Second Unit

  • 293 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 04 1999

Posted November 19 2006 - 11:52 AM

It will also output via the 2-ch analog out with SACD, but to get multi-ch, HDMI is what you'll have to go.

#16 of 807 OFFLINE   Chris S

Chris S

    Screenwriter

  • 2,522 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2000
  • Real Name:Chris S

Posted November 19 2006 - 01:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Klaus
1. I want to hook up to my 720p Sony. Is HDMI the way to go or is component good enough. Do either require special cables or are normal cables usable?

I've been reading that the HDMI is having a few problems for different people. Check out the end of this thread for a few of the details. That being the case (and the fact that my projector doesn't have HDMI Posted Image) I'm going to use my PS2 component cables.

If you are going to go the HDMI route then please PLEASE don't spend a ton of money on an HDMI cable. Since HDMI is all 1's and 0's and not frequencies like RCA cables (I know I'm simplifying this way too much) the cable quality doesn't make any difference. I've seen people shell out a ton of money for Moster HDMI cables no longer than 6 feet and they're going to get the same quality image as the cheaper cables. For inexpensive long runs of HDMI I would suggest Blue Jean Cables or Monoprice. I personally have used BJC for most of my cables and they are really great. Plus they're a HTF sponor. Posted Image
DVD & Blu-ray - It's all about the movies!

#17 of 807 OFFLINE   Mark Klaus

Mark Klaus

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 1999

Posted November 19 2006 - 02:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris S
I've been reading that the HDMI is having a few problems for different people. Check out the end of this thread for a few of the details. That being the case (and the fact that my projector doesn't have HDMI Posted Image) I'm going to use my PS2 component cables.

If you are going to go the HDMI route then please PLEASE don't spend a ton of money on an HDMI cable. Since HDMI is all 1's and 0's and not frequencies like RCA cables (I know I'm simplifying this way too much) the cable quality doesn't make any difference. I've seen people shell out a ton of money for Moster HDMI cables no longer than 6 feet and they're going to get the same quality image as the cheaper cables. For inexpensive long runs of HDMI I would suggest Blue Jean Cables or Monoprice. I personally have used BJC for most of my cables and they are really great. Plus they're a HTF sponor. Posted Image

Since I don't have any component cables that would work with the PS3, I just ordered an 8' HDMI cable from BJC, thanks for the tip. The $100 cable at BB
was freaking me out a bit, much more reasonable to spend $30.

I'll figure out the audio when it gets here, should have something that will get me by until I get the nerve up to propose the new receiver.

#18 of 807 OFFLINE   Chuck Mayer

Chuck Mayer

    Lead Actor

  • 7,987 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 06 2001
  • Real Name:Chuck Mayer
  • LocationNorthern Virginia

Posted November 20 2006 - 01:18 AM

Managed to screen a decent portion of Kingdom of Heaven last night. HDMI to the TV, optical to my receiver (old receiver). The picture, calibrated per a cnet review on a Sony 60" 1080P looked fantastic. Ridley loads his frames up, and the PS3 handled them like a gem. Very happy with the choice to use it as a BD player.

Kingdom of Heaven looks good, by the by. REALLY good. Couldn't test the DTS-MA (but I did get high quality DTS through my receiver from that signal).
Hey buddy...did you just see a real bright light?

#19 of 807 OFFLINE   Ron Z

Ron Z

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 15 1999

Posted November 20 2006 - 10:42 AM

Is the PS3 WiFi enabled or have an option for WiFi? If so, is it possible to stream audio, pictures and video from your PC through the PS3 for display or listening - much like a media server?

I've been looking at the possibility of getting a media server, but if the PS3 will do that, then it's another reason to convince the S.O. to get one! Posted Image

#20 of 807 OFFLINE   Grant H

Grant H

    Screenwriter

  • 2,844 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 24 2002

Posted November 20 2006 - 12:21 PM

Steven, I'm guessing X-3 looks a bit softer and grainier to you than other titles since it was shot Super 35, which is grainier and not as sharp and clean an image as if it were shot anamorphic.

And yeah, if you're running optical you're just getting max bitrate DTS. You'll need to run HDMI to pass the lossless signal--unless they come out with analog breakout cables down the road.

So, Brian, PS3 passes decoded PCM over HDMI right out of the box?
My midis bring all the Force to the yard; my midis are better than yours!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Forum Nav Content I Follow