Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Harsh Times - quick review

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 of 4 OFFLINE   Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

Studio Mogul

• 38,122 posts

Posted November 11 2006 - 02:22 PM

While I had fun watching Christian Bale and Freddy Rodriguez chew up the scenery in this film with an aimlessly thin plotline, after seeing Bale's name as an exec producer, I have to chalk this film up as a vanity acting project for him because he truly has a blast hamming it up on the screen. The first 2/3 of the film is unabashedly a testosterone-unleashed slacker buddy-buddy flick, and then it gets much darker and chaotic for the characters. It's worth a matinee if you like either of the 2 main actors, just go along for the ride and don't ascribe too much common sense to either of them. I give it 2.5 stars, or a grade of C+.
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012

#2 of 4 OFFLINE   Elizabeth S

Elizabeth S

Producer

• 4,544 posts

Posted November 13 2006 - 05:47 AM