What's new

What do you all think of these Swans 6.1? (1 Viewer)

Bullet Head

Agent
Real Name
Amir
I found these for sale online. The guy wants $500 for them, there arent a lot of people on here using these, so I was hoping to receive some feedback as to how they sound and what the general opinion is. Can I buy better speakers for $500 than these? I will be using a Pioneer VSX1016 receiver with them.

DaveHo

Supporting Actor
For some reason, Swans don't get much attention here. AVSForum seems to have more Swan owners. That said I have no personal experience with them, but am under the impression they are well liked in general & offer a good bang for the buck. Original retail on those was, I believe $700 ish. I wouldn't call $500 a smoking deal, but it is fair if they are in excellent condition.

-Dave

Mort Corey

Supporting Actor
Check Swan's site linked from this forum and I think you'll find the 6.1's brand new for $350 each.

Michael Saint

Auditioning
Newegg sells the 6.1 Swans in rosewood for $499 each. The $359 price is for the 6.1 in black cherry veneer.

I don't know what the going price was when they first came out and av123 was selling them.

Patrick D

Stunt Coordinator
I bought a pair when they first came out. They were $999 on sale for a pair, I think the regular price was something like $1200/pr.

They just didn't do it for me at that price. For $500 a pair, they're not bad unless you start to drift into DIY. The low end is nice, the mids were not razor-sharp thanks to the kevlar mid (I prefer metals myself). Bass/mid-bass was ok. If you like a more laid-back sound these will do it for you. Keep in mind these things are fairly large and heavy also. I would simply prefer more of the design budget from these to have gone into the drivers, and have gotten a flat black square box that sounded better.