Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Stop-Motion Animation Software


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 of 17 OFFLINE   BrianW

BrianW

    Screenwriter



  • 2,557 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 1999

Posted September 19 2006 - 01:23 PM

Does anyone here know of any software that will allow me to take jpg files from a digital camera and assemble them into a movie? I would like to do stop-motion animation, but digitally. I know the film equipment is available to do this, but c'mon, this is the 21st century! I thought if anybody would know, this forum would. Thanks.
-Brian
Come, Rubidia. Let's blow this epoch.

#2 of 17 OFFLINE   Matt-Z

Matt-Z

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 63 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 01 2004

Posted September 19 2006 - 02:03 PM

Hey Brian! Yeah, what's up with this? This is a great question. I too have stop motion aspirations. Plus, how about time lapse stuff? I'd love to be able to do just what you're talking about. Hmmm...

#3 of 17 OFFLINE   Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall

    Supporting Actor



  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2003

Posted September 19 2006 - 02:21 PM

I dont know of any stop-motion programs (not saying there aren't any). Here's what I used to do. I used to shoot the shots then import the folder with the pictures into windows movie maker and one by one bring the images to the timeline. In the options under advanced you can pick a picture duration which basically translates to framers per second. I always brought it down to .25 or 4 frames per second and it looked smooth enough for my preference. If you have windows, that might be an interesting option. Thats an option if you can't find a better way to do it.
I work on Film, Animation & Sound Design in downtown Chicago.
 

#4 of 17 OFFLINE   ChristopherDAC

ChristopherDAC

    Producer



  • 3,729 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2004

Posted September 20 2006 - 03:42 AM

Well, if you convert the pictures to .GIF format, you can make them into a .GIF animation, but I gather that's not quite what you want. Possibly something like the GIMP picture-editing package, or Adobe's current bundle, will make MPEG or at worst MJPEG files from images?

#5 of 17 OFFLINE   Radioman970

Radioman970

    Producer



  • 6,054 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 22 2006
  • Real Name:James Perry
  • LocationCould be anywhere

Posted September 20 2006 - 04:03 AM

I used Sony Vegas to do that and even put in some voice work that was easily sync'd on the time line with the animation. It's a hell of fun thing to do.
Silly Party Candidate: Tarquin Fin- tim- lim- bim- whin- bim- lim- bus- stop- F'tang- F'tang- Olè- Biscuitbarrel

#6 of 17 OFFLINE   Paul McElligott

Paul McElligott

    Screenwriter



  • 2,598 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted September 20 2006 - 04:24 AM

I think a lot of the mid-to-higher end editing and compositing software can do this (I'm pretty sure you can do it in After Effects). Tim Burton shot Corpse Bride this way, using a modified version of a Canon digital SLR.
R.I.P. DVDSpot

#7 of 17 OFFLINE   Jason Harbaugh

Jason Harbaugh

    Screenwriter



  • 2,968 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2001

Posted September 20 2006 - 06:14 AM

Sony Vegas does it easily, with little effort from you. It can bring in an image sequence and automatically make each 1 frame and create the video for you. You just need to name the files in sequential order image001, image002, etc.

Pick it up for $99 at www.bhphotovideo.com (version 6)

Although I think most editors can do this, but I doubt you will find any as good as Vegas for a hundred bucks.

#8 of 17 OFFLINE   Christ Reynolds

Christ Reynolds

    Producer



  • 3,597 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2002

Posted September 20 2006 - 07:20 AM

if youre going to buy a piece of software for video, vegas is well worth the $100. CJ
And then when I feel so stuffed I can't eat anymore, I just use the restroom! And then I CAN eat more!

#9 of 17 OFFLINE   BrianW

BrianW

    Screenwriter



  • 2,557 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 1999

Posted September 21 2006 - 10:28 AM

Thanks, everyone! I didn't think to look at video editing software, and Googling "stop-motion animation software" (no quotes) didn't turn up anything useful. I'll give Sony Vegas a shot!
-Brian
Come, Rubidia. Let's blow this epoch.

#10 of 17 OFFLINE   Paul McElligott

Paul McElligott

    Screenwriter



  • 2,598 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted September 21 2006 - 12:10 PM

The full Sony Vegas is not $100. That's their consumer product based on Vegas. The full Vegas is $500-$1000.
R.I.P. DVDSpot

#11 of 17 OFFLINE   Jason Harbaugh

Jason Harbaugh

    Screenwriter



  • 2,968 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2001

Posted September 21 2006 - 12:26 PM

No it is the professional full version of Vegas 6 for $99, not Vegas Movie Studio which is the consumer version. It doesn't come with DVD Architect though. It went on sale just at BandH right before v7 was released last week.

Here's the link to the sale item: http://www.bhphotovi....goryNavigation

It is an incredible bargain. Hell it is cheaper to buy that, then buy the upgrade to version 7, than just purchase version 7 on its own.

#12 of 17 OFFLINE   BrianW

BrianW

    Screenwriter



  • 2,557 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 1999

Posted September 21 2006 - 01:57 PM

I ordered Sony Vegas 6.0, but I see that it requires Windows XP to run, which I don't have. So at some point, I'll have to purchase Windows XP to run it. Still, it looks like it's worth it, not just for stop-motion animation, but as a worthwhile tool to finally get my home videos digitized, produced, and archived. Thanks for the tip.

But in the mean time, I found THIS.

It's an open-source stop-motion program (called, what else, Stopmotion) for Linux. It's definitely a toy rather than a tool, but it looks like fun. And it's something I can get running while I'm arranging to build or acquire a WinXP box for the real deal, Vegas 6.0.
Matt, if you want, I'll be happy to get the Linux program up and running in the next week and report back. I don't know if you have ever run Linux, but if Stopmotion turns out to be a lot of fun, you may want to look into getting a Linux box up and running. And, hey, you can't beat free fun! Posted Image

Thanks, again, for everyone's help.
-Brian
Come, Rubidia. Let's blow this epoch.

#13 of 17 OFFLINE   drobbins

drobbins

    Screenwriter



  • 1,870 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 02 2004

Posted September 21 2006 - 02:39 PM

I made a couple of Lego movies with my kids. We used Windows Movie Maker and it is free. Posted Image I don't think any of them were longer than 3-4 minutes. My computer ran out of resources for longer movies though. If you just want to play, it is easy to learn. I could e-mail you a compressed video (under 4mb) if you are interested
Dave

#14 of 17 OFFLINE   Jeff Jacobson

Jeff Jacobson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,116 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 24 2001

Posted September 21 2006 - 02:43 PM

VirtualDub can open image sequences, and is free.

#15 of 17 OFFLINE   Christ Reynolds

Christ Reynolds

    Producer



  • 3,597 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2002

Posted September 21 2006 - 04:35 PM

if you have a linux box but can't get a separate box to run winxp on, get vmware server (free) and run the stop motion software in a windows xp virtual machine. CJ
And then when I feel so stuffed I can't eat anymore, I just use the restroom! And then I CAN eat more!

#16 of 17 OFFLINE   Paul McElligott

Paul McElligott

    Screenwriter



  • 2,598 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted September 22 2006 - 05:17 AM

You can download the PDF of the manual from Sony, of course.
R.I.P. DVDSpot

#17 of 17 OFFLINE   Matt-Z

Matt-Z

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 63 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 01 2004

Posted September 22 2006 - 06:36 AM

Hey Brian, nope never tried Linux, but am eager to hear how your expirience goes. Free is always good, but I wouldn't mind throwing down $99 for a nice program. I've got a Canon 20D and a couple of nice lenses that I really want to use in this capacity. Good luck! Let us know how you do.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users