What's new

Help me pick between these receivers... (warning, noobie) (1 Viewer)

Bullet Head

Agent
Real Name
Amir
Im a total noobie. I have a pair of real old Kenwood floor speakers for now, they can easily handle 100W. I am about to buy a Samsung plasma tv and a dvd player and want to setup a home theatre. The room is about 15x15.

My friend is selling a Rotel RSX-1056 for about $700, is that a good deal? The bummer part is that it doesnt have HDMI, is that realllyyyy that much of an issue?

Then I also am looking at the Pioneer Elite VSX-80TXV, retail at $650, anyone know where I can get a better price for this?

Any Yamaha receivers under the $700 price tag? Ive seen Yamaha THX receivers, does the THX really sound that good?

Then there are also the Marantz lineup, the SR5600, SR4001 or SR5001.
http://us.marantz.com/Products/172.asp
I dont know why the SR5600 doesnt have the HDMI but I think I would want that if its going to be necessary in the future. What is the biggest advantage of HDMI? Is it the best way of getting the data across from the source to the processor without losing it in between or is there another way to achieve this without the HDMI? Also what are the differences between HDMI v1.1, v1.2 and v1.3?

Basically $700 is my limit on the receiver alone and would like to use it primarily for movies and sometimes music, maybe 90/10%. I dont have good speakers yet, but I will look into those in the near future. If you can recommend any other brand at this price mark, that would be appreciated.

Thanks all.

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg
Rotel RSX-1056 gets my vote, if you can get her down to $600. You'll get better quality components, honest wattage, and less bells and whistles than the Pioneer Elite or Marantz models. You just need to decide if the Rotel has all the features that you will need. The RSX-1056 was $1,100 new.

Another receiver to deeply consider would be the Denon AVR-2807.