Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Huge High Deff DLP w/ a computer


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   SciPunk

SciPunk

    Auditioning



  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 2006

Posted September 05 2006 - 01:56 AM

Hi all. This is my first post here.

I'm about to purchase a 56" DLP projection Samsung:
Click Here

I'm not married to this TV yet, so if anybody has any better suggestions, please let me know.

I'm very interested in using it to play computer games. I'm pretty computer savy, and I build my own PCs. I have an NVidia 7600 graphics card which I will upgrade if necessary. The Samsung TV has an HDMI input, and my graphics card (all graphics cards these days) has DVI out. I got the little DVI-HDMI adapter and an HDMI cable. (BTW: I already have a dual-monitor setup w/ a 27" HD LCD TV which has a DVI in... but it's only 1280x720... and "only" 27")

I'd hate to drop all that money on this TV just to find out that I can't connect via the DVI-HDMI input, or that I can't use all 1920 x 1080 resolution. So, will this do what I want it to do? If not, what should I be looking at?

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall

    Supporting Actor



  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2003

Posted September 06 2006 - 11:56 AM

Where you gonna put the screen? 56 inches might be to big for a monitor.
I work on Film, Animation & Sound Design in downtown Chicago.
 

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   Dennis*G

Dennis*G

    Supporting Actor



  • 524 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 07 2003

Posted September 06 2006 - 02:28 PM

I'd be surprised if you can play any games at that resolution with any decent frame rates also. Unless you turn off all the effects, then maybe....

#4 of 11 OFFLINE   John_Bonner

John_Bonner

    Supporting Actor



  • 667 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2000

Posted September 07 2006 - 02:33 AM



If you go to the Samsung website click on Support and download the manual for that tv you'll see that on page 100 of the manual titled "Using Your TV as a Computer (PC) Display" it states "You cannot connect this TV to a PC via HDMI/DVI"

I have a Samsung DLP (purchased in 2004) and I have a home built HTPC connected via VGA. I don't play games too often but Call of Duty 2 at 1280x720 looks great with no lag and no dropped frames. I am using an NVidia 6600 card. I also have an XBOX connected via component (Y, Pb, Pr) and the picture is awesome.
JB

#5 of 11 OFFLINE   SciPunk

SciPunk

    Auditioning



  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 2006

Posted September 08 2006 - 05:52 AM

Thanks a million for taking the time to find that information, John. I've been doing some research and I guess it all boils down to HDCP being enabled. As of right now, there are HDCP enabled video cards just begining to come out on the market. Apparently HDCP has been "supported" by "Graphic Processing Units" for a while now, but it was not implemented all the way through the entire video card. I'm hopful that one day soon these compaitibility issues will be behind us... especially if they are political barrier and not technical barriers.

#6 of 11 OFFLINE   EdQ

EdQ

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2000

Posted September 13 2006 - 10:03 AM

Is HDMI the better way to connect up my PC. I currently use component outputs from my ATI card. And I can run 1920 x 1080 with everything on high. Frame rates 50 -100 depending on what game I play.
Mits 62628 DLP HDTV 1080p
Integra DTR 9.1 THX Ultra Receiver
Polk RTi12 - Fronts | Polk CSi5 - Center | Polk FXi5 - Surround Sides | Polk RTi6 - Surround Rear | Energy MicroStar 12.1 - Sub
HTPC

 


#7 of 11 OFFLINE   Sami Kallio

Sami Kallio

    Screenwriter



  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted September 13 2006 - 10:13 AM

Use either components or the VGA connector. I used VGA on my HL-R hooked up to a PC and there was nothing wrong with the picture, playing games or watching a DVD.

#8 of 11 OFFLINE   EdQ

EdQ

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2000

Posted September 13 2006 - 10:15 AM

I don't have a VGA input on the Mits, just Component and HDMI. Just didn't know if i was missing anything. Thanks.
Mits 62628 DLP HDTV 1080p
Integra DTR 9.1 THX Ultra Receiver
Polk RTi12 - Fronts | Polk CSi5 - Center | Polk FXi5 - Surround Sides | Polk RTi6 - Surround Rear | Energy MicroStar 12.1 - Sub
HTPC

 


#9 of 11 OFFLINE   Sami Kallio

Sami Kallio

    Screenwriter



  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted September 13 2006 - 10:26 AM

Component provides as good PQ as HDMI IMO. If there is difference it is really subtle.

#10 of 11 OFFLINE   EdQ

EdQ

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2000

Posted September 13 2006 - 10:38 AM

I will need to buy a new cable for the PC. So if HDMI is a bit better. I will get one. Thanks.
Mits 62628 DLP HDTV 1080p
Integra DTR 9.1 THX Ultra Receiver
Polk RTi12 - Fronts | Polk CSi5 - Center | Polk FXi5 - Surround Sides | Polk RTi6 - Surround Rear | Energy MicroStar 12.1 - Sub
HTPC

 


#11 of 11 OFFLINE   JediFonger

JediFonger

    Producer



  • 3,954 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 02 2006

Posted September 16 2006 - 12:08 PM

here's a list of CURRENT video cards that are for sale NOW with full HDCP support:

http://www.hardforum...d.php?t=1071342
some even have HDMI outputs.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users