What's new

Leak in the central air/heat unit (1 Viewer)

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
I noticed I had a leak from my central air/heat unit inside my house. Well, I thought it was my condensation pump going bad, so I replaced it, but then I noticed that I still had a leak, so I took off the cover and took out the air filter, and saw that there is water leaking from the turbine-looking fan unit just underneath the furnace portion of the air/heat unit (I think the leak is from higher up in the cooling system and the water is just draining downward). For now I have some pans collecting the water, but I was wondering if this is going to be an expensive repair (as in having to replace the entire unit), or something where a repair guy could locate and repair the leak without me having to do take out a second mortgage or something. Heh.

JoeyR

Second Unit
Real Name
Joey
Patrick,

I do commercial HVAC for a living, you could have a few things going on.

1st your drain line may be stopped up, if you have a wet vac there should be a vent in the drain line as soon as it comes out of the unit, pull the other end of the drain line out of the condensate pump, either purchase a 3/4" pvc cap and cap the vent and suck the drain out from the condensate pump end or have someone cover the vent with their hand and try to make a seal as best as possible.

********************PLEASE REFRAIN FROM TOUCHING ANY PART OF THE UNIT/ANY METAL TIED TO THE UNIT BECAUSE YOU DONT KNOW WHAT ALL IS BEING LEAKED ON***************************************

2nd the unit could be freezing up, you want be able to figure the reason out without a certified technician(dirty evaporator, dirty blower, low on freon)

3rd you didnt state the age of the unit, the primary pan in the evaporator coil may have a hole in it, you probably will have to change the coil and that opens a new can of worms.