Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HDA1 Upconversion via HDMI-DVI-RGB


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
19 replies to this topic

#1 of 20 Jimjum27

Jimjum27

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 02:51 AM

I want to purchase a Toshiba HDA1 HDDVD player. However, I know that in order to view an upconverted standard DVD image to near HD quality, the HDMI output must be used. Unfortunately my projector does not have an HDMI, DVI, or component input. I've been using a component/RGB cable with my HD receiver and XBOX and it works just fine. I've found a DVI/RGB adapter online and, since HDMI and DVI are compatible, I'd purchase an HDMI/DVI cable as well. Voila! Problemsolved...or is it? To my non-technical mind this should work, but my brain has failed me many times in the past. Does anyone know if this would work? Or if there is a better/different solution? My thanks to anyone who can help.

#2 of 20 DeeF

DeeF

    Screenwriter

  • 1,676 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2002

Posted August 08 2006 - 03:04 AM

I doubt the RGB adapter will work, because it's not HDCP compatible. From what I'm hearing, though, the new Toshiba will upconvert some DVDs over component cables -- not all, but some.

Oh, you don't have component? Hmm, high-def?

#3 of 20 Jimjum27

Jimjum27

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 03:55 AM

Quote:
Oh, you don't have component? Hmm, high-def?
I can get high-def just fine using a breakout cable with RGB/VGA on one end and component on the other. The picture is great on both my XBOX and my HD receiver. That's why my mind says it should work. I'm not very familiar with HDCP compatibility, but how would these two sources differ from the HD-DVD player? Thanks for the help and the education.

BTW: When are the new Toshibas coming out? I hadn't heard about it.

#4 of 20 Alon Goldberg

Alon Goldberg

    Screenwriter

  • 1,131 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 10 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 04:57 AM

I'm confused as to why you would want to display HD DVD on a 480p projector? It's unlikely that you will get any improvement in display over normal DVD. I would just connect a composite cable.

You may want to consider purchasing a projector that is capable of outputting 720p/1080i, and has component or DVI/HDMI inputs.

#5 of 20 Dana Rodakis

Dana Rodakis

    Extra

  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 13 2000

Posted August 08 2006 - 05:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeF
I doubt the RGB adapter will work, because it's not HDCP compatible. From what I'm hearing, though, the new Toshiba will upconvert some DVDs over component cables -- not all, but some.

Oh, you don't have component? Hmm, high-def?

It will upconvert anything that is not copy protected. I am watching it via component since my 6-year-old Pioneer has only component inputs. If I insert a copy protected SC disc, I get a warning message followed by an automatic switchover to 480p.
Dana's HT Page
Pioneer 53" Pro-510HD, Denon AVR-5800U, Dish ViP622 HD DVR, Motorola 4DTV & HDD-200, 10' Unimesh, Corotor II, Norsat 8515 & Cal Amp LNBs, Satcruiser FTA DVB, Unity Motion HDR-1000A FTA HD, Toshiba HD-A1 HD-DVD, Pioneer DV-38A DVD, Pioneer DVR-7000 DVD-R(W), Pioneer DVL-91 LD/DVD,...

#6 of 20 Jimjum27

Jimjum27

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 06:16 AM

Quote:
I'm confused as to why you would want to display HD DVD on a 480p projector?

The projector is an NEC 240k which can output up to 1080i.

#7 of 20 Alon Goldberg

Alon Goldberg

    Screenwriter

  • 1,131 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 10 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 06:54 AM

Hi Jimjum - the NEC LT240K has two component inputs that are capable of displaying full 720p/1080i You just need to purchase a Component Video to 15-Pin RGB Converter, and use one of the two RGB inputs.

#8 of 20 Jimjum27

Jimjum27

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 07:07 AM

Quote:
You just need to purchase a Component Video to 15-Pin RGB Converter
Thanks Alon. I've been using a breakout cable for just that purpose. My main question is will I get the upconversion using a combination of an HDMI/DVI cable and a DVI/RGB adapter plug.

Toshiba says I can't, but if the DVD player is processing the upconvert, then sending it out the HDMI port and transmitting it through the HDMI/DVI cable, what would stop the signal from appearing in all its almost HD glory? Would something be lost within the DVI/RGB adaptor? An RGB port is capable of handling standard HD data, what would be different about the converted data?

#9 of 20 Alon Goldberg

Alon Goldberg

    Screenwriter

  • 1,131 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 10 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 07:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimjum27
Thanks Alon. I've been using a breakout cable for just that purpose. My main question is will I get the upconversion using a combination of an HDMI/DVI cable and a DVI/RGB adapter plug.

Toshiba says I can't, but if the DVD player is processing the upconvert, sending it out the HDMI port and transmitting it through the HDMI/DVI cable, what would stop the signal from appearing in all its almost HD glory? Would something be lost within the DVI/RGB adaptor? An RGB port is cable of handling standard HD data, what would be different about the converted data?
Hi Jimjum - I don't see any need to use a DVI/HDMI adapter - just use a RGB to Component cable and you will be able to take advantage of upconversion to 720p/1080i. This connection is far simpler if you are going analog -> analog, instead of digital -> analog.

#10 of 20 Jimjum27

Jimjum27

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 07:31 AM

Quote:
just use a RGB to Component cable
Everything I've read said you can only get an upconverted image through the HDMI output and not the component.

#11 of 20 Alon Goldberg

Alon Goldberg

    Screenwriter

  • 1,131 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 10 2006

Posted August 08 2006 - 08:25 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimjum27
Everything I've read said you can only get an upconverted image through the HDMI output and not the component.
You have a point. Posted Image I stand corrected

#12 of 20 DeeF

DeeF

    Screenwriter

  • 1,676 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2002

Posted August 08 2006 - 08:45 AM

Oy. On my other thread, I'm told I *will* get upconverted images through the component inputs, if the disk isn't copy-protected.

Doesn't anyone know the actual truth?

#13 of 20 Hayes Preston

Hayes Preston

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 183 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 15 1999

Posted August 08 2006 - 09:01 AM

The Toshiba will output up to 1080i via component for HD DVD's. It will output up to 1080i via component for no-copy protected SD DVD's. It will only output 480p via component for copy protected SD DVD's

#14 of 20 TedD

TedD

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 09 2001

Posted August 09 2006 - 02:21 AM

The truth is simple. If the DVD HAS Macrovision encoding, upscaling over analog outputs will NOT occur.

If the DVD does NOT have Macrovision encoding, upscaling over analog outputs WILL occur.

Ted

#15 of 20 DeeF

DeeF

    Screenwriter

  • 1,676 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2002

Posted August 09 2006 - 02:56 AM

Aren't all commercial disks encoded?

#16 of 20 TedD

TedD

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 09 2001

Posted August 09 2006 - 08:21 AM

No.

Ted

#17 of 20 Clinton McClure

Clinton McClure

    Screenwriter

  • 2,690 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 28 1999
  • Real Name:Clint
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted August 16 2006 - 04:46 AM

The original version of Video Essentials, for example, is not encoded so my HD-A1 upconverts it to 1080i.

#18 of 20 Tim Glover

Tim Glover

    Lead Actor

  • 7,604 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 12 1999
  • Real Name:Tim Glover

Posted August 17 2006 - 04:09 PM

So the moral to the story here is---if one is comtemplating a purchase of a monitor it should have at least a DVI port if one is to enjoy the upconversion of this HD-A1? It's the safest way to go??? Posted Image

#19 of 20 Larry Sutliff

Larry Sutliff

    Screenwriter

  • 2,852 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 17 2000

Posted August 17 2006 - 09:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Glover
So the moral to the story here is---if one is comtemplating a purchase of a monitor it should have at least a DVI port if one is to enjoy the upconversion of this HD-A1? It's the safest way to go??? Posted Image


Yep.

#20 of 20 Jeff>K>B

Jeff>K>B

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 51 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2003

Posted August 23 2006 - 06:11 AM

My Yamaha LPX-500 front pj has DVI input, but it is not HDCP enabled. So will I get upconversion on macrovision-protected SD-DVDs using HDMI to DVI, or does my lack of HDCP kill the deal? This may be difficult to predict, so I'm wondering if anyone who has actually tried it can answer?


Back to Blu-ray, DVD, LD, Tivo, Satellite and Other Playback Devices



Forum Nav Content I Follow