What's new

Suggestions for a set-up for good sound quality- limited budget (1 Viewer)

someet

Auditioning
Real Name
Someet
Hi,
I am very new to this field... would greatly appreciate some input. I do see a thread wrt a configuration for around $1000. Well, I too am looking for something similar but with perhaps different needs.

What are your suggestions of a set-up (reciever, speakers and cables) for the following needs:
  1. I do not think I will be able to upgrade very frequently... so i would want something that is the best that I can get for that kind of money and be safe (wrt new technologies - inputs etc) for atleast the next 4 yrs or so.
  2. Would like a 5.1 kind of a system may be (7.1)... but space could be limiting as of now... however, later on I might be able to plug in 2 additional speakers.
  3. Sound Quality is extremely important - I really dont care how loud it can get... I would not be using it for parties etc. Also, I do not play computer games that much... mainly music from my computer and sometimes movies and TV.
  4. Budget is around $1000... but somewhat flexible if it is a worthwhile upgrade... really dont want to be regretting
  5. I would like magnetic shielding
  6. I will use it for my living room.. which is not too big... so power might not be a big factor.... moreover I do not listen to the music very loud... - live in an apartment and have neighbors :)
  7. I would be mainly using it to connect it to my DVD player for movies (15% of the time) , to my TV (25% of the time) and to my computer for playing mp3s (60% of the time). In my computer I have the Cambridge X-Fi soundcard.
  8. Also, I have very little eperience is choosing the right connections and cables... basically I would like to connect my DVD player, TV, Computer and also have another free port - all at the same time and not have to worry about disconnecting and connecting back the wires

All suggestions are welcome... :)

Thanks

someet

Auditioning
Real Name
Someet