Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Very slow Internet with DLing with BitTorrent


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

#1 of 21 Adam Sanchez

Adam Sanchez

    Supporting Actor

  • 901 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 1999

Posted June 26 2006 - 09:27 AM

Hey guys.

Got a problem I thought and hoped you might be able to help me with. I will try to explain my situation the best I can so I can hopefully get some input on what to do.

First my setup:

I have Comcast High Speed Internet in the SF Bay Area. I have a Linksys WTR54G (I think that's the number) wireless/wireed 56G router hooked up to it.

I have:

1. Desktop PC wired directly to the Router via ethernet. This PC is set up with a static IP address.

2. Laptop with automatic IP connection via wireless G.

3. Second Desktop in another room also on auto IP connecting with wireless g.

I occationally use Bittorrent to download files. I have some ports open for BT in my routers config to make downloads come through better. But the problem is when I download ANYTHING it brings normal internet broswing literally to a standstill. I get "the operation timed out when try to blah blah" messages." It affects all the computers, including the one I am downloading on.

At first I thought maybe the BT's are just taking too much of my bandwidth so I slow down the max download... but it did not help at all. The only thing that helps is stopping the downloads alltogether but I am of course trying to fix this problem so I can download AND surf normally.

One odd thing is I play World of Warcraft and even when I download, it doesn't affect the games connection or my latency at all. I dont know why that is.

I beleive my problem lies somewhere in my port forwarding, though I admit I don't know much about networking. It seems by having the port open for the BT program (azeureus) whenever that is "In use" it like shuts down all other access. I don't have any firewall active let me also mention.

What can I do to fix this? Would another Bittorrent app work better? I have only ever trie Azureus so I don't even know what else is out there. Do I have something set wrong?

Thank you for any help!

-Adam

#2 of 21 Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

    Studio Mogul

  • 37,617 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1999

Posted June 26 2006 - 10:30 AM

http://www.google.co... torrent client
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012

#3 of 21 Rommel_L

Rommel_L

    Second Unit

  • 355 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2000

Posted June 26 2006 - 10:52 AM

http://azureus.sourceforge.net/faq.php

#4 of 21 Mike Fassler

Mike Fassler

    Supporting Actor

  • 523 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2004

Posted June 26 2006 - 11:36 AM

azureus is about the best bittorent client there is,unfortunately even if you do have things set correctly, they arent always speedy.

#5 of 21 Adam Sanchez

Adam Sanchez

    Supporting Actor

  • 901 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 1999

Posted June 26 2006 - 12:03 PM

You guys might of misunderstood me. My INTERNET, as in web browsing is very slow when I have BT downloading in the background. No matter how much I limit the DL speed, it drastically affects my simple web surfing.

My BT itself is fine. I just mentioned wondering about an alternate client if that might help my problem?

#6 of 21 Francois Caron

Francois Caron

    Screenwriter

  • 2,145 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997

Posted June 26 2006 - 12:11 PM

Just out of curiosity. Who is your service provider?

#7 of 21 Adam Sanchez

Adam Sanchez

    Supporting Actor

  • 901 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 1999

Posted June 26 2006 - 12:20 PM

Comcast. Could that make a difference?

Thank you for the replies so far.

#8 of 21 Jason Harbaugh

Jason Harbaugh

    Screenwriter

  • 2,968 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2001

Posted June 26 2006 - 01:02 PM

The download usually isn't the problem, it is the upload. Do you cap your upload b/w in your bittorrent program? If you don't, it will easily max it out and that will cause all of your timeout errors. And it is a lot easier to cap out your upload than it is your download. Infact most of the times, it just takes one person to max it out.

#9 of 21 Adam Sanchez

Adam Sanchez

    Supporting Actor

  • 901 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 1999

Posted June 26 2006 - 02:17 PM

My mind is going blank on what b/w is? And yeah I did cap my upload to 10k. I couldnt imagine that being the problem.

It doesn't have anything to do with my port forward settings? Is there a general web browser/internet port I should open?

#10 of 21 Rommel_L

Rommel_L

    Second Unit

  • 355 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2000

Posted June 26 2006 - 02:34 PM

Try uTorrent.

#11 of 21 Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Lead Actor

  • 9,540 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted June 26 2006 - 03:12 PM

Same problem with torrents on the mac side. Even if I cap upload speed, and the actual UL speed is only 4-10kbps, my internet bogs way down. Having two other PCs in the house which my gf and her bro use, I always do my torrenting late at night when everyone's asleep out of respect. If I do it in the day, no matter how slow the UL/DL speeds are, it makes the other PCs internet speed slow to a dialup speeds.

Will be interesting to see if I take it to work and try it there, if the results are the same. Especially since we are connected to the university backbone and should be about as fast as it gets. When I DL software at work from big throughput servers like MS, I get 3MBps downloads or faster...

#12 of 21 Tekara

Tekara

    Supporting Actor

  • 783 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 08 2003

Posted June 26 2006 - 03:19 PM

What is the modem that you are using to connect to your internet service?

Does this happen if you bypass the router and connect directly to the modem?
"Computers are a lot like air conditioners - they both work great until you open windows." -Anonymous
"The danger from computers is not that they will eventually get as smart as men, but that we will agree to meet them halfway." -Bernard Avishai

#13 of 21 Mike Fassler

Mike Fassler

    Supporting Actor

  • 523 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2004

Posted June 26 2006 - 03:47 PM

of course it will bog down,torrents lag the heck out of any connection, all depends on how good the host is your connected to.

#14 of 21 John_Bonner

John_Bonner

    Supporting Actor

  • 667 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2000

Posted June 27 2006 - 09:05 AM

I found Azureus brought my surfing to a crawl when active.
I agree with Rommel_L go with uTorrent. It barely uses any system resources when running.
JB

#15 of 21 Sami Kallio

Sami Kallio

    Screenwriter

  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted June 27 2006 - 04:48 PM

Definately upload problem, it can/will happen even with upload limited. Cable modems give you 128-256kb/s of upload which really isn't much. I am now on 2MB/s upload and that has solved the connection problems (not that I use peer-to-peer programs that much anymore) while downloading.

#16 of 21 Adam Sanchez

Adam Sanchez

    Supporting Actor

  • 901 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 1999

Posted June 27 2006 - 04:56 PM

Oops I almost forgot to come here.

I got it fixed tonight. I downloaded a new firmware for my router, the WTR54G v.3. They released a new firmware very recently. This was something I was not keeping up on!

It actually made a light on my router go on that I didn't know I have. Actually it's a button. I think it is what's called "Easy setup" in later versions of the router. It's undocumented in mine though. I did not use it, in any case.

But after getting the firmware and having to redo all my settings (Unfortunately) I am able to download AND surf now. I still limit my download during the time I am at home, but least now I can do both. And I still have my uploaded limited as well.

Thank you for the input guys. I am all set.

#17 of 21 John_Bonner

John_Bonner

    Supporting Actor

  • 667 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2000

Posted June 28 2006 - 08:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Simoneau
For the most part, agreed.

I've had BIG TIME problems with the latest uTorrents, though. My internet connection is brought to a stand-still in no time as soon as I fire it up. Yes, I've tweaked all the parameters in uTorrent (DHT and max-conns), and I'm using uTorrent-approved hardware/firmware (WRT54Gv3 w/ Thibor), but it still sucks. Hell, I write router/switch code for a living, so I know what the hell I'm doing. Ask about this situation over on the uTorrent forums, and you'll be berated and made to feel like an idiot and told your hardware sucks. Like everyone wants to run a Cisco at home... Posted Image

So, I've backed down from 1.5 to 1.4, and things are back to normal.

I'm still on version 1.1.7 of uTorrent. It's worked so efficiently I never bothered installing any newer versions.
JB

#18 of 21 Kimmo Jaskari

Kimmo Jaskari

    Screenwriter

  • 1,529 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2000

Posted June 29 2006 - 08:39 PM

I was just about to point out that some routers go nuts (with older firmwares) when you use Bittorrent. Bittorrent usually opens up massive amounts of connections going in and out, and that can wreak havoc with some routers.

Glad it got sorted out with new firmware, though.
"If we do happen to step on a mine, Sir, what do we do?"
"Normal procedure, Lieutenant, is to jump 200 feet in the air and scatter oneself over a wide area." -- "BlackAdder 4"

#19 of 21 Rommel_L

Rommel_L

    Second Unit

  • 355 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2000

Posted June 29 2006 - 09:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimmo Jaskari
I was just about to point out that some routers go nuts (with older firmwares) when you use Bittorrent. Bittorrent usually opens up massive amounts of connections going in and out, and that can wreak havoc with some routers.

Glad it got sorted out with new firmware, though.
If that's generally the case, wouldn't limiting the connections (10 in/out, for example) would minimize the problem?

#20 of 21 Francois Caron

Francois Caron

    Screenwriter

  • 2,145 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997

Posted June 30 2006 - 01:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rommel_L
If that's generally the case, wouldn't limiting the connections (10 in/out, for example) would minimize the problem?

Not necessarily. Even when you reduce the maximum allowable connections, the combined number of connections from all the torrents may still be enough to screw up most home-based routers in a few days or even a few hours.

I'm surprised so many cheap router products have this much trouble handling multiple connections. Whoever are programming these things aren't doing a very good job.





Forum Nav Content I Follow