-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HD vs SD aspect ratios ( newbie alert )


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

#1 of 16 steve.g.szabo

steve.g.szabo

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 11 2006

Posted May 11 2006 - 09:20 AM

I'm new to the site - please forgive me if this has been addressed in another thread.

I have The Last Samurai in SD-DVD and HD-DVD formats. According to the
packages the SD is in 2.35:1 and the HD is in 2.40:1. When I view the SD version on my SD player the black bars are about 3" thick while if I view the HD version on my new Toshiba HD player the black bars are about 1/2 the thickness ( running at 1080i ).

Example:

SD-DVD version:

Posted Image

HD-DVD version:

Posted Image

Keep in mind that these pics illustrate the ratio not the actual content ( the image on my TV is not warped as in these pics )

Is this to be expected? I thought that if both versions were using the same apsect ratio that the thickness of the black bars would be almost the same.

I just want to ensure that I'm not loosing any of the frame ( left and right )

Thanks

#2 of 16 Mark Zimmer

Mark Zimmer

    Producer

  • 4,263 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted May 11 2006 - 10:55 AM

Depends on a lot of things. Is your overscan set the same for both inputs? The difference can be enormous.

#3 of 16 Michael TLV

Michael TLV

    Screenwriter

  • 2,909 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 16 2000
  • Real Name:Michael Chen
  • LocationCalgary, Alberta

Posted May 11 2006 - 10:56 AM

Greetings

Depends on your TV. Many TV's have separate height and width settings for SD and HD. AKA Overscan. Likely you are seeing this. It's more your Tv's fault than anything else.

Regards
Michael @ The Laser Video Experience
THX Video Systems Instructor/ISF Instructor
Lion A/V Consultants Network - TLVEXP.com


#4 of 16 Rob_HD

Rob_HD

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: May 09 2006

Posted May 11 2006 - 11:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Zimmer
Depends on a lot of things. Is your overscan set the same for both inputs? The difference can be enormous.
That's just what I was going to say Posted Image check overscan settings.

#5 of 16 steve.g.szabo

steve.g.szabo

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 11 2006

Posted May 12 2006 - 01:28 AM

I don't think my TV has any overscan options

HITACHI 46F500

#6 of 16 Michael TLV

Michael TLV

    Screenwriter

  • 2,909 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 16 2000
  • Real Name:Michael Chen
  • LocationCalgary, Alberta

Posted May 12 2006 - 01:46 AM

Greetings

See if you can run an HD DVD downconverted image via the S video to the TV to tell if the transfer aspect ratio is the offender here rather than your TV.

Regards
Michael @ The Laser Video Experience
THX Video Systems Instructor/ISF Instructor
Lion A/V Consultants Network - TLVEXP.com


#7 of 16 Michael TLV

Michael TLV

    Screenwriter

  • 2,909 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 16 2000
  • Real Name:Michael Chen
  • LocationCalgary, Alberta

Posted May 12 2006 - 01:46 AM

Delete double post
Michael @ The Laser Video Experience
THX Video Systems Instructor/ISF Instructor
Lion A/V Consultants Network - TLVEXP.com


#8 of 16 GlennH

GlennH

    Screenwriter

  • 2,120 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 28 1998

Posted May 12 2006 - 02:06 AM

The overscan on my Pioneer Elite is much larger with HD input (1080i, 33 kHz) vs. on SD (480p, 31.5 kHz).

#9 of 16 JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin

    Producer

  • 3,219 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2001

Posted May 12 2006 - 03:14 AM

steve, try running a 1:1.85 or 1:1.77 480i dvd in your player. Do you still get black bars?

#10 of 16 steve.g.szabo

steve.g.szabo

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 11 2006

Posted May 12 2006 - 06:34 AM

I'll try this when I get home this eve ( at work now )

I should also mention that I have the same problem with the HD player viewing
SD-DVD titles at 1080i

When I do this it looks like the TV has zoomed in on the image

#11 of 16 steve.g.szabo

steve.g.szabo

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 11 2006

Posted May 12 2006 - 11:55 AM

I've been playing with various configs using HDMI, S-Video and Component
which all generate the same output. I've also tried changing the video settings
of the HD player with nothing to report. After playing some SD titles I've decided that the best thing for me to do is to return the HD player as the aspect
ratio is also changed when viewing these older titles.

Thanks for your suggestions

#12 of 16 JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin

    Producer

  • 3,219 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2001

Posted May 12 2006 - 12:23 PM

hmm. it sounded as though the player with the wide borders was set to 4:3 mode (instead of 16:9). oh well.

#13 of 16 Sean Bryan

Sean Bryan

    Screenwriter

  • 2,555 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Sean

Posted May 12 2006 - 12:43 PM

Quote:
I don't think my TV has any overscan options

Well, they certainly wouldn't be in any user menus. Overscan adjustments would only be accessable through the service menu I would think.
I don't believe in transcending the genre, I believe IN the genre - Joss Whedon

#14 of 16 steve.g.szabo

steve.g.szabo

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 11 2006

Posted May 13 2006 - 02:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyErwin
hmm. it sounded as though the player with the wide borders was set to 4:3 mode (instead of 16:9). oh well.

I tried all 3 settings with the same results:

16:9
4:3
4:3 letterbox

#15 of 16 Robert Harris

Robert Harris

    Lead Actor

  • 7,350 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 08 1999
  • Real Name:Robert Harris

Posted May 16 2006 - 11:17 AM

Please consider calling Toshiba tech support and allowing them to walk you through setup. Something must be amiss, and they're generally quite good.

Both player and monitor must be set up to sync with one another.

Welcome to HTF.

RAH

"All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. This I did." T.E. Lawrence


#16 of 16 steve.g.szabo

steve.g.szabo

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 11 2006

Posted May 18 2006 - 02:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Harris
Please consider calling Toshiba tech support and allowing them to walk you through setup. Something must be amiss, and they're generally quite good.

Both player and monitor must be set up to sync with one another.

Welcome to HTF.

RAH


I did and they told me that this was to be expected


Back to Blu-ray



Forum Nav Content I Follow