Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

36" tube vs. 36" computer monitor


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 of 5 OFFLINE   Thomas_Berg

Thomas_Berg

    Screenwriter



  • 1,427 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2001

Posted October 12 2001 - 05:38 AM

well i think i've decided to upgrade my 19" computer monitor (which i watch dvds on right now...see my webpage for details) to either a 32" or 36" tv. however, when i talked to my brother last night about this, he told me he picked up a hard-to-find 36" computer monitor for $500. it runs at 800x600 resolution (thru the computer) and can show dvds progressive scan. i'm not too sure on the specs, but what would you guys recommend me do? get a TV (i'm looking to spend $600 tops) or get this monitor thing?

i know it has VGA-in (which is supposed to be basically component-in, but better), but i'm not sure about a cable input. i'll update this post when i get more info on the imputs. opinions??

------------------
-Thomas

My HT

#2 of 5 OFFLINE   Thomas_Berg

Thomas_Berg

    Screenwriter



  • 1,427 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2001

Posted October 12 2001 - 06:39 AM

here's the link to the huge monitor. my brother is standing next to it.
http://richardberg.n...ig gateway (big).jpg

------------------
-Thomas

My HT

#3 of 5 OFFLINE   Oren

Oren

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 178 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 10 1999

Posted October 12 2001 - 09:10 AM

I think you should use the right tool for the job. A computer monitor is high resolution and designed to be viewed up close. A TV is low resolution, designed to be viewed from afar and much easier to use for its intended purpose.

I say get a TV for a TV and a monitor for a monitor. Otherwise you'll end up with a low-res monitor and a difficult-to-use TV.

#4 of 5 OFFLINE   John Morton

John Morton

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 120 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2001

Posted October 12 2001 - 10:03 AM

Check out this link:
http://www.prgr.com/

They are Prinston Graphics Systems.

I've used their monitors in the past and had little to no problems. Their web page says it'll go to 1024x768, but recommends 800x600. Who knows, maybe it'll go higher and they've mis-stated themselves?

$500 is expecting a bit much though!!

------------------


#5 of 5 ONLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,334 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted October 12 2001 - 10:41 AM

I suggest using your computer with your current monitor set at 800x600 for a while. If you like that, then this TV/monitor might be what you need.

However, I suspect that you'd rather keep running at 1024x768, 1280x1024, or 1600x1200 (which are all very nice on a 19" monitor).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users