-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

PC multimedia connectivity


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 12:09 AM

I will build a new PC soon I am looking for suitable solution for good multimedia connectivity.
My TV is wide-screen CRT (not HD) and supports RGB (through SCART), S-Video and composite inputs.
I need gfx card capable of good quality 16:9 RGB output in the ideal case. If this feature is not available on mainstream GFX card, then maybe a separate PCI
extension card like tuner of whatever is a good solution? Or something like multimedia box, that has network connection with the PC?
Opinions? Experience? Other options?

#2 of 17 OFFLINE   ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 07 2006 - 04:34 AM

Most modern graphics cards can do pretty much any output resolution and refresh you want manually.

#3 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 04:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles
Most modern graphics cards can do pretty much any output resolution and refresh you want manually.

What about quality? Which TV out chip should I look for? Should I choose ATI or NVIDIA card? What about RGB support? Are you sure that they all support 16:9 natively without squeezing the picture?

#4 of 17 OFFLINE   ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 07 2006 - 05:12 AM

Both have some excellent cards out right now, I believe ATI released some new cards that are excellent with video/film stuff, Nvidia had been the go-to card for a while.

Yes they should all support pretty much any resolution you want. Desktop may be distorted, but video should be fine if you use a proper player.

I use an HTPC as my main source using an Nvidia card in 16:9 output (1440x720p72hz) driving a CRT in 16:9.

You'll want to get a video card with a VGA output if you need analog RGB. A lot now have both VGA and DVI output, some only have DVI. You'll want to check the outputs to make sure you're getting what you need.

#5 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 05:36 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles
Both have some excellent cards out right now, I believe ATI released some new cards that are excellent with video/film stuff, Nvidia had been the go-to card for a while.

Yes they should all support pretty much any resolution you want. Desktop may be distorted, but video should be fine if you use a proper player.

I use an HTPC as my main source using an Nvidia card in 16:9 output (1440x720p72hz) driving a CRT in 16:9.

You'll want to get a video card with a VGA output if you need analog RGB. A lot now have both VGA and DVI output, some only have DVI. You'll want to check the outputs to make sure you're getting what you need.

Do you connect your card to the TV with RGB?

#6 of 17 OFFLINE   ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 07 2006 - 05:48 AM

Yes, I use a CRT Front Projector that takes RGBhv input(same as VGA).

#7 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 05:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles
Yes, I use a CRT Front Projector that takes RGBhv input(same as VGA).

But all VGA output cards I have seen have only composite video out. How can I make RGB out of it? I remember seeing an article how to solder some elements on NVIDIA card to make is support RGB. Is that the only way?

#8 of 17 OFFLINE   ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 07 2006 - 06:03 AM

What? Pretty much every video card on the planet has VGA output, except as mentioned some of the newest who have DVI output (often in addition to VGA output). It is actually extremely rare to have component video output, I am not aware of many or any regular video cards with component video output. They are all VGA out.

#9 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 06:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles
What? Pretty much every video card on the planet has VGA output, except as mentioned some of the newest who have DVI output (often in addition to VGA output). It is actually extremely rare to have component video output, I am not aware of many or any regular video cards with component video output. They are all VGA out.

I believe I used the word composite, not component. I mean the cards have a single video out called composite video. This is not compatible with RGB in any way.

#10 of 17 OFFLINE   ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 07 2006 - 06:51 AM

I'm sorry, you're correct I misread that. REgardless you wouldn't want to use composite output (or s-video which many cards have). Again, I don't understand why you're even concerned about that, video cards have VGA output. That's RGB, so why are the other outputs even a concern? You have your RGB, so use it.

#11 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 07:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles
I'm sorry, you're correct I misread that. REgardless you wouldn't want to use composite output (or s-video which many cards have). Again, I don't understand why you're even concerned about that, video cards have VGA output. That's RGB, so why are the other outputs even a concern? You have your RGB, so use it.

Oh, sorry, now I understand what you mean by VGA. The analog output to the PC monitor right?

This is RGB, but what cable do I need? Maybe some converter between VGA and SCART? And how long the cable can be? Because now I use S-Video cable 15 meter long.

#12 of 17 OFFLINE   ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 07 2006 - 07:14 AM

I'm not familair with SCART connectors, but I would assume there are adaptors for that. There are certainly break-out cables for VGA that go to 5xBNC for more common professional display connectors that use BNC. That's what I do in my system a short VGA->5xBNC breakout cable, then a full run of BNC coax to the RGBhv input on my display.

#13 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 07:15 AM

Look what I found. http://www.grandtec.com/prod01.htm
Do you use some of those? Or maybe you projector supports direct VGA connection? I think TV-s does not support this and I'll need one of those converters.

#14 of 17 OFFLINE   ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 07 2006 - 07:25 AM

No, again I just use a plain VGA->BNC breakout cable. The signal is exactly the same, it's just the physical connecter is different. It's just an adapter. Like this: http://www.ramelectr....html#hd15rgbhv

#15 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 07:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles
No, again I just use a plain VGA->BNC breakout cable. The signal is exactly the same, it's just the physical connecter is different. It's just an adapter. Like this: http://www.ramelectr....html#hd15rgbhv

Ok, so you must be adjusting your video card display resolution manually with software like powerstrip right? I think there is a danger of damaging your TV if you don't know what you are doing very well. Like me Posted Image

#16 of 17 OFFLINE   ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 07 2006 - 07:54 AM

Powerstrip isn't really necessary anymore, most of the newer drivers allow you to select resolutions and everything manually (just like what powerstrip allowed you to do). Yes, presumably you could damae your display I suppose, my display is a multiscan professional CRT display, so not a risk for me.

#17 of 17 OFFLINE   BorisH

BorisH

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2006

Posted May 07 2006 - 07:59 AM

Thank you very much for your time! I will make some tests when I buy new gfx card.


Back to Beginners, General Questions & HTiB (Home Theater in a Box)



Forum Nav Content I Follow