Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

ABC HD Sound Cutout


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Dave Schofield

Dave Schofield

    Second Unit



  • 403 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 1999

Posted April 02 2006 - 09:59 AM

I'm sorry if this has been addressed before, or if this is the wrong forum for this question... In my defense searched the archives and didn't find anything in a quick thread name scan.

Has anyone else had a problem with the sound cutting out for the last second or so before ABC HD programming goes to commmercial? It drives me bonkers because typically the most important words or sounds of a program are at the last second before a commercial or the end of the show. My wife and I usually have to try to figure out what would have been said in the situation. It doesn't occur on NBC HD, CBS HD or any other station (we've got about 15 or so HD stations). As far as I can recall, it occurs with both Live and DVR recorded programming.

It seems to only effect DD5.1 programs (i.e. local news doesn't do it). This problem perplexes me because, if this were a format issue (i.e. when the receiver had to switch from DD5.1 to Pro Logic II) I would expect it to occur AFTER the format switch, not before. I've tried to set the receiver to Pro Logic II for all formats (instead of Auto) but this didn't solve the problem.

I don't know who to complain to (Charter or the local ABC HD affiliate), or even what to complain about at this point... Any suggestions?

Background Info:
Charter Digital/HD Cable
Denon AVR-2803
Motorola BMC9012 (Moxi) DVR

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Rakesh.S

Rakesh.S

    Second Unit



  • 455 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 17 2002

Posted April 02 2006 - 11:08 AM

This is an affiliate issue. I believe it's got something to do with the dd 5.1 decoder/encoder that they use.

Your other local affiliates are probably using better equipment that allows for instantaneous switching. I'm guessing your market doesn't have any owned and operated stations. Privately owned stations are a normally a bitch to deal with, so good luck getting them to change.

Try looking around at avsforum.com in the local reception forum for your local city's thread and try discussing it with other folks there.

I know how annoying it can be dealing with this issue, because I had to put up with it in Dayton, when I lived there. Normally the last few seconds going into a break, or the first few seconds after coming back from a break don't have audio, depending on what you're affiliate is doing.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor



  • 8,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted April 02 2006 - 11:35 AM

Yeah, this definitely sounds like an affiliate issue. Since commercials (like previews and recaps of previsous episodes) are generally not HD and not 5.1, there is a switching issue. I swear some of my local affiliates do the switching manually, or use faulty equipment that misses the switch flag, because I've seen entire acts of HD shows ocntinue in standard def after a commercial, only to be corrected after the next act break, and I once called the local ABC station to ask why I was seeing a critical Mondy Night Football game in SD. A few seconds later there was a "click" and I was watching the game in all its HD glory. Posted Image

The most recent such fiasco involved the local CBS affiliate, which managed to lose just the center channel of its DD 5.1 mix, so I got all the music and sound from The Unit (watched live) and NCIS (on the DVR) but none of the dialogue. (And for some reason I can't get closed-captioning to work on my JVC HD-ILA if the video source is component. I'm waiting to hear from JVC on that one.)

Regards,

Joe

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Jon Martin

Jon Martin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,219 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 19 2002

Posted April 02 2006 - 12:43 PM

Yes, I'd also blame your affiliate.

Where I live, the HD broadcasts are very glitchy. The sound will often be out of sync, they will forget to switch back to widescreen mode after an ad, etc.

It is still in the experimental stages it seems. I've told people who were thinking about getting an HDTV for broadcast programs they may want to wait, since it seems they are still trying to work it all out.

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Rakesh.S

Rakesh.S

    Second Unit



  • 455 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 17 2002

Posted April 02 2006 - 02:34 PM

A lot of people have worked it out..HDTV has been around for a long time now. I have no problems, no glitches in my market (dallas).

If you live in a smaller market, you're at the mercy of private station owners who only see $$$ in their eyes and don't care about their viewers.

I wouldn't tell them to wait..I'd tell them to do their research before they buy.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Dave Schofield

Dave Schofield

    Second Unit



  • 403 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 1999

Posted April 03 2006 - 04:19 AM

After receiving your replies, I drafted a nicely worded letter the the affiliate's Chief Engineer. I also copied the Station Manager. If I don't receive a response I'll send a letter to the VP.

While looking up their contact information, I found another affiliate's "Engineering Q&A" page. Their response to one of the questions made me laugh so I've reprinted it here in its entirety:

Quote:
Do you broadcast an HD (High Definition) or SD (Standard Definition) Digital signal yet?

Yes, we do broadcast a digital signal on WLAX-DT (25.1) and WEUX-DT (48.1) ... it is an "SD/480i" formatted signal. Due to space & equipment conditions, WLAX and WEUX are having to "upgrade" the tower in the La Crosse area, the transmitter building facilities in the Eau Claire area, and the infrastructure for transporting each station's signal to each station's respective transmitter site. All of these upgrades/improvements will require a bit of time to get ordered, delivered, built, installed and tested. However, when those tasks are finally met and the signal is ready to be put on the air, there will be no delay in getting it out to you, the viewer.


This station, a FOX affiliate, still doesn't broadcast in Stereo, so I won't hold my breath while they delay before not delaying getting an HD signal out to their viewers.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   todbnla

todbnla

    Screenwriter



  • 1,521 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 17 1999
  • Real Name:Todd
  • Location39466

Posted April 03 2006 - 05:05 AM

I had some drop outs too both sound and pixelation....
Regards,
Todd

My Blue-Ray & SD DVD's


Current HT setup: Vizio E601-A3 60" Led display, Pioneer VSX-521-k, Panasonic DMP-BDT320 Integrated Wi-Fi 3D Blu-ray DVD Player, SVS 2531PCi sub, Polk R30 mains, Polk CS125 center, Polk R15 x4 rears