Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

TNT-HD now available on Directv...


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
44 replies to this topic

#1 of 45 OFFLINE   todd s

todd s

    Lead Actor



  • 6,923 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1999

Posted February 17 2006 - 03:46 AM

I just read that TNT-HD went live this morning on channel 75 on Directv. Posted Image
Bring back John Doe! Or at least resolve the cliff-hanger with a 2hr movie or as an extra on a dvd release.

#2 of 45 OFFLINE   Greg Kettell

Greg Kettell

    Screenwriter



  • 1,168 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 1998
  • Real Name:Greg K.
  • LocationNY Capital Region

Posted February 17 2006 - 10:08 AM

Cool.. What do they show that's worth watching?

#3 of 45 OFFLINE   todd s

todd s

    Lead Actor



  • 6,923 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1999

Posted February 17 2006 - 11:55 AM

TNT does show a lot of sporting events, including a lot of the Nascar races that go on TNT when NBC has other programming they have to show.
Bring back John Doe! Or at least resolve the cliff-hanger with a 2hr movie or as an extra on a dvd release.

#4 of 45 OFFLINE   Dave Miller

Dave Miller

    Supporting Actor



  • 854 posts
  • Join Date: May 09 1999

Posted February 17 2006 - 01:41 PM

The NBA All Star Game will be on this Sunday night and I'll get to see it. Good timing D*.

Peace,

DM
"We all end up dead, the question is how and why."

#5 of 45 OFFLINE   Brent M

Brent M

    Producer



  • 4,486 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 15 2001

Posted February 17 2006 - 03:50 PM

Excellent news. Another reason I'm glad I upgraded to the HD package. Posted Image
"If you're good at something, never do it for free."

#6 of 45 OFFLINE   Scott Wong

Scott Wong

    Second Unit



  • 421 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1999

Posted February 18 2006 - 01:39 AM

*nod*

I'm excited to see another HD channel added in DirecTV's programming.

Has anyone heard if they're going to be adding any other HD channels anytime soon??


#7 of 45 OFFLINE   randySH

randySH

    Agent



  • 34 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2005

Posted February 18 2006 - 01:59 AM

Just noticed this myself, wonderful, and I am not a half empty kind of guy (maybe I am) but has anyone else noticed that the HD picture on TNT appears stretched and not full HD ?

it appears to be more like 480P or dvd like, I am watching Snow Day now and I cant help but think it is slightly different

anyone else?
Randy

#8 of 45 OFFLINE   Tino

Tino

    Producer



  • 5,342 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 19 1999
  • Real Name:Valentino
  • LocationMetro NYC

Posted February 18 2006 - 02:45 AM

Yup

Apparently not all their programming is in full HD.
It's gonna be a hell of a ride. I'm ready. .

#9 of 45 OFFLINE   Chad R

Chad R

    Screenwriter



  • 2,174 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 14 1999
  • Real Name:Chad Rouch

Posted February 18 2006 - 03:01 AM

I think the only regular series that's actually shown in HD is "E.R." with all the others being stretched SD. Movies are hit and miss, sometimes they are true HD sometimes they are stretched. Sporting events are typically HD though for the sports fan.

#10 of 45 OFFLINE   randySH

randySH

    Agent



  • 34 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2005

Posted February 18 2006 - 03:03 AM

thanks for the clarification

SD?

#11 of 45 OFFLINE   Bruce Hedtke

Bruce Hedtke

    Screenwriter



  • 2,249 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 11 1999

Posted February 18 2006 - 06:37 AM

Quote:
Apparently not all their programming is in full HD.


I'd say it's at about 50%. As far as HD channels go, TNT ranks near the bottom, quality-wise.
Quote:
SD?

Standard definition.

Bruce
The Mads are calling

#12 of 45 OFFLINE   randySH

randySH

    Agent



  • 34 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2005

Posted February 18 2006 - 06:40 AM

I am grateful either way...

I keep hearing DirecTV is coming out with new satellite, will need all new dish and hardware to get the upgrade but no specifics of cost or programming additions

anyone here have a clue?

#13 of 45 OFFLINE   Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent

    Screenwriter



  • 1,317 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2000

Posted February 18 2006 - 07:08 AM

Doesn't TNT show mostly 4x3 movie programming? I have DirecTV and the HD package but I don't see myself watching much TNT HD if they are not showing movies in OAR.

#14 of 45 OFFLINE   Rakesh.S

Rakesh.S

    Second Unit



  • 455 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 17 2002

Posted February 18 2006 - 08:01 AM

available in wonderful HD-Lite.

#15 of 45 OFFLINE   Jonathan

Jonathan

    Second Unit



  • 465 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 17 1998

Posted February 18 2006 - 08:27 AM

Some of the newer Law & Order episodes are HD, but the older ones are stretched.
"It's not that I'm lazy, it's that I just don't care."
- Office Space

---------------------------------------
My DVD Collection

#16 of 45 OFFLINE   Scott Wong

Scott Wong

    Second Unit



  • 421 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1999

Posted February 18 2006 - 08:43 AM

randySH:

A co-worker of mine just recently became a DirecTV subscriber and he was advised that they were going to be adding satellite... he wasn't given much as far as specifics go but perhaps it is true? I wonder when this is planning on happening? I'm just not keen on obtaining all new equipment... Posted Image


#17 of 45 OFFLINE   Greg Kettell

Greg Kettell

    Screenwriter



  • 1,168 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 1998
  • Real Name:Greg K.
  • LocationNY Capital Region

Posted February 18 2006 - 02:20 PM

The new satellites are for MPEG-4 transmission of HD channels (especially locals) to conserve bandwidth. New equipment is needed because current receivers can't decode MPEG-4.

#18 of 45 OFFLINE   Patrick_S

Patrick_S

    Producer



  • 3,037 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 01 2000

Posted February 18 2006 - 06:43 PM

Historically DTV has been very good concerning upgrade paths for subscribers. If the past is any indication it could be that there will be little to no cost involved in the upgrade.

Now that I have jinxed it the cost will probably be somewhere between an arm and a leg or your first born. Posted Image

#19 of 45 OFFLINE   randySH

randySH

    Agent



  • 34 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2005

Posted February 19 2006 - 12:08 AM

so the mpeg 4 is to conserve bandwidth, not to introduce more channels, or to make it easier to introduce them later

??

i ask about the cost of the equipment, truth is, dont matter, have to have it, like a drug, pay whatever it cost Posted Image

#20 of 45 OFFLINE   Quentin

Quentin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,507 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2002
  • Real Name:Quentin H
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted February 19 2006 - 04:43 AM

conserve bandwidth = better pic quality and the ability to add more channels more easily in the future.

The costs will be pretty high initially; however, comb the net as the dates approach (rumor has it, the new equipment will be available this summer). You are bound to find D* incentives to give equipment for discounts to retain customers.





Forum Nav Content I Follow