Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Wireless audio from PC to stereo receiver 12' away?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
43 replies to this topic

#1 of 44 CRyan

CRyan

    Screenwriter

  • 1,244 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 1999

Posted January 25 2006 - 03:36 PM

What options are there? Anything new? I have several connection possibilities from my PC - Bluetooth, 802.11g, FM transmitter maybe? I know there are always those 900mhz audio transievers.

I want the best quality, but I have never done it before, and thought someone else might have a best way to do it. Thanks for any help.

They key here is I want to control the music by my PC.

#2 of 44 Mike LS

Mike LS

    Supporting Actor

  • 840 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2000

Posted January 26 2006 - 08:32 AM

Do you have a wireless router in your system now?

#3 of 44 CRyan

CRyan

    Screenwriter

  • 1,244 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 1999

Posted January 26 2006 - 09:15 AM

Yep. Wireless router.

House is wired - Forgot to mention that I have a physical ethernet port in the wall where the stereo is.

#4 of 44 CRyan

CRyan

    Screenwriter

  • 1,244 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 1999

Posted January 26 2006 - 03:40 PM

OK. I see that Airtunes will work with the PC. This is basically what I want but there is no way to stream music from other applications besides iTunes.

So any other ideas before I buy a $130 piece of Apple hardware?

#5 of 44 Michael_K_Sr

Michael_K_Sr

    Screenwriter

  • 1,336 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2005
  • Real Name:MichaelK
  • LocationChicago 'burbs

Posted January 26 2006 - 03:55 PM

No other ideas, but I have two AirPort Express units in use and they work great. Make sure you get the stereo connection kit because no connectors come with the unit itself.

#6 of 44 Mike LS

Mike LS

    Supporting Actor

  • 840 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2000

Posted January 27 2006 - 01:18 AM

How about something like

http://www.usr.com/p....sp?sku=USR6003

There are a ton of wireless media servers you could use, but since you're wanting to control playback from the PC, you'd have to go a little lower tech.

The page above says that it's no longer available for purchase, but it's pretty easy to find in stock at other retailers.

#7 of 44 Robert_Gaither

Robert_Gaither

    Screenwriter

  • 1,370 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 12 2002

Posted January 27 2006 - 10:19 AM

How good of a tuner do you have on the stereo and does your home computer have an optical or coax digital out? How about your stereo what input options do you have?

#8 of 44 CRyan

CRyan

    Screenwriter

  • 1,244 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 1999

Posted January 27 2006 - 11:08 AM

Thanks for the responses. Yeah, I saw that US Robotics thingy. Not bad.
I am going to control this from a wireless laptop - hence why the airtunes hardware looks so promising. I dont have to physically attach anything to the PC - this is my ultimate goal.

What sucks is that there is an add-on for the MacOS that allows you to control the Airport Express with other programs besides iTunes.

#9 of 44 Jeffrey_Jones

Jeffrey_Jones

    Second Unit

  • 287 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 06 2001

Posted January 27 2006 - 09:06 PM

Have you taken a look at the upcoming Linksys WMB54G Wireless-G Music Bridge (http://www.amazon.co....Fencoding=UTF8)?

It looks promising assuming you want to control your audio using the PC. This combined with a good RF remote could be what I've been waiting for myself.

Jeff

#10 of 44 CRyan

CRyan

    Screenwriter

  • 1,244 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 1999

Posted January 28 2006 - 01:06 AM

Been looking at that as well! However, I was concerned that it will not be controlled by the PC. Their current version uses the TV and a supplied remote to control your music. BUt it looks like this will work just like the Airport. I wish it would hurry up and come out!

#11 of 44 JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin

    Producer

  • 3,219 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2001

Posted January 28 2006 - 03:22 AM

There is a remote available for airport. Apparently, you can plug the receiver directly into the airport's USB. I've only used the remote to control a mac though, and even then, I had my Harmony learn its functions.

#12 of 44 Mike Fassler

Mike Fassler

    Supporting Actor

  • 523 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2004

Posted January 28 2006 - 07:40 AM

check this out Posted Image

link originally posted by Ron Epstein


http://slimdevices.com/

#13 of 44 CRyan

CRyan

    Screenwriter

  • 1,244 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 1999

Posted January 28 2006 - 11:31 AM

Yes. Very Very cool. But it does not allow control from the PC which is what I need.

#14 of 44 Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent

    Screenwriter

  • 1,317 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2000

Posted January 28 2006 - 03:09 PM

What about this....?

http://www.govideo.c...ex.asp?GV=D2740

available from

http://www.ecost.com....pno~579330.asp

#15 of 44 Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent

    Screenwriter

  • 1,317 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2000

Posted January 28 2006 - 03:13 PM

I forgot to mention that unit also works by connecting to a ethernet port. Posted Image

http://www.govideo.c...x.asp?GV=DVDAll

#16 of 44 CRyan

CRyan

    Screenwriter

  • 1,244 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 1999

Posted January 28 2006 - 04:26 PM

Another cool device but not computer controlled so not for me. I am trying to control house speakers with the amps in a closet. So I don't need another remote. I just want to use my PC.

However, looking at this and other similar devices for video, I really wish they would access VOB and IFO files. Or at least ISO. Oh well on that note too.

#17 of 44 Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent

    Screenwriter

  • 1,317 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2000

Posted January 28 2006 - 06:10 PM

Sure its computer controlled. Unless I missed something, the DVD player basically only provides the connection between your computer and the amp/reciever thus you control everything from the PC.

#18 of 44 MarkHastings

MarkHastings

    Executive Producer

  • 12,013 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 27 2003

Posted July 13 2006 - 01:46 AM

Instead of starting a new thread, I wanted to piggy back here. I want to send music from my PC laptop to my HT setup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey_Jones
Have you taken a look at the upcoming Linksys WMB54G Wireless-G Music Bridge (http://www.amazon.co....Fencoding=UTF8)?

It looks promising assuming you want to control your audio using the PC. This combined with a good RF remote could be what I've been waiting for myself.

Jeff
I like this because I don't want to have to be concerned with plugging something into the laptop (i.e a USB device or something that plugs into the audio outs). I read the reviews and the cons don't seem to bother me (i.e. you have to close out of your media player if you want to switch between the wireless and the built-in PC speakers). Also, not being able to hear the music on the laptop (when wireless is turned on) isn't a big deal either because I'll be using the laptop in the same room as my HT.

I just basically want to send music to my receiver (from my laptop) without having to plug a wire in. The Linksys sounds like it would do the trick (I also have a Linksys wireless network), but I just wanted to see if anyone had any other 'cooler' recommendations?

p.s. No "Radio" transmitters.

#19 of 44 Cameron Yee

Cameron Yee

    Executive Producer

  • 10,283 posts
  • Join Date: May 09 2002
  • Real Name:Cameron Yee
  • LocationSince 2006

Posted July 13 2006 - 03:19 AM

For those of you with an Airport Express, a $25 app called Airfoil will allow you to send all your computer's audio to it. PC and Mac available!

http://rogueamoeba.com/airfoil/
One thing leads to another at cameronyee.com

#20 of 44 CRyan

CRyan

    Screenwriter

  • 1,244 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 1999

Posted July 13 2006 - 12:04 PM

That is what you need. I have it and love it. I control it from my wireless laptop, but you do need a newer router imo. I had to buy a MIMO to get it to work well.

http://www.linksys.c....VisitorWrapper