-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

3806 on the way!!!! Have a few questions about HDMI switching and audio


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 of 17 Mike_J_D

Mike_J_D

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2003

Posted January 04 2006 - 06:52 AM

Hey all, I've used the search feature but can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for. I know that HDMI is both uncompressed audio and video, so here is my question.

If I run HDMI out of my DVD player (Oppo 971H) into my Denon, do I need my optical cable for audio? Will the Denon automatically seperate the audio from the video?

Also, will the 3806 allow me to use both HDMI and component monitor outs?
HT - Denon 3808ci | Elite Pro-111FD | PS3 60gb | Panamax 5300PM | NHT ST4 | NHT SB2 | NHT SC1 | SVS 20-39 | NHT SA3

#2 of 17 Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Producer

  • 5,910 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 1999

Posted January 04 2006 - 08:16 AM

Quote:
If I run HDMI out of my DVD player (Oppo 971H) into my Denon, do I need my optical cable for audio? Will the Denon automatically seperate the audio from the video? .
HDMI does digital audio and video, so no other cable is needed. There may be some menu set-up in the receiver required, though.

Quote:
Also, will the 3806 allow me to use both HDMI and component monitor outs?
I doubt it, since component video is analog and HDMI is digital. You’d probably have to add component cabling to the mix if you need to do that.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

My Equipment List
“A nice mid-fi system,” according to an audiophile acquaintance.

My Tech / DIY Articles and Reviews

#3 of 17 Wayne Ernst

Wayne Ernst

    Screenwriter

  • 2,589 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2002

Posted January 04 2006 - 08:43 AM

Quote:
I doubt it, since component video is analog and HDMI is digital. You’d probably have to add component cabling to the mix if you need to do that.

Good point. Also, I wonder how the on-screen display is fed? Is it limited to component only? Or, will HDMI suffice?
"My reality check ... just bounced"

#4 of 17 Kevin T

Kevin T

    Screenwriter

  • 1,407 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 12 2001

Posted January 04 2006 - 01:24 PM

the osd will display over hdmi.

kevin t
religion is the opiate of the masses

#5 of 17 Mike_J_D

Mike_J_D

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2003

Posted January 04 2006 - 03:44 PM

thanks guys. regarding the component vs hdmi switching i was thinking that both cables would be hooked up simultaneously. but rethinking it, i wouldn't need it right now.
HT - Denon 3808ci | Elite Pro-111FD | PS3 60gb | Panamax 5300PM | NHT ST4 | NHT SB2 | NHT SC1 | SVS 20-39 | NHT SA3

#6 of 17 kurtZoom

kurtZoom

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 62 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 24 2005

Posted January 05 2006 - 12:44 AM

correct me if I'm wrong but I thought the Oppo only has a DVI out and you must have a HDMI/DVI cable. Only video will be output by the Oppo DVI out...no audio. In addition, the Oppo does not upconvert over the component cables...only the digital out. Get a digital coax or optical cable to get sound from the Oppo. Run the DVI/HDMI direct to TV or switch video only via the receiver.
Growing old is mandatory
Growing up is optional

#7 of 17 Mike_J_D

Mike_J_D

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2003

Posted January 05 2006 - 01:26 AM

You're correct, it doesn't have an actual HDMI out, just DVI. The reason I was asking is I want to do HDMI out of my cable box (if that is even a choice, I'll find out today at lunch) and DVI to HDMI out of the Oppo. But I have an Xbox that I want to hook up with component video, but I'll just run that right into the TV. So the ability for the 3806 to do both component and HDMI switching at the same time is irrelevant right now, I was more curious about future application.

I hadn't thought about the DVI only being video, thanks for pointing that out.

Would the recommendaion be to bypass the recievers video switching? Does video quality decrease that significantly if I run it from the DVD player to the reciever to the TV? Although this may be mute, if the cable box is only component video out then I won't need the HDMI switching now, but maybe in the future I will. So it's more for knowledge then anything else.
HT - Denon 3808ci | Elite Pro-111FD | PS3 60gb | Panamax 5300PM | NHT ST4 | NHT SB2 | NHT SC1 | SVS 20-39 | NHT SA3

#8 of 17 Jongyoon Lee

Jongyoon Lee

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 2002

Posted January 05 2006 - 03:27 AM

Your 3806 also converts analog video (composite, s-video, and component) to HDMI. You can run Xbox component to the receiver, and still maintain one HDMI connection from the receiver to TV. That way you don't even need to touch the video switching on the TV ever.

#9 of 17 kurtZoom

kurtZoom

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 62 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 24 2005

Posted January 05 2006 - 03:54 AM

Quote:
Does video quality decrease that significantly if I run it from the DVD player to the receiver to the TV?


Using the receiver to video swith is a convenience issue...like was posted above...just send one cable to the TV. However, you add another cable to the signal path and the switch or whatever the receiver does to it. Does the quality decrease? probably not enough for most people (including myself) to actually notice...but it might. Lots of other factors might influence the quality more than the switch.
Growing old is mandatory
Growing up is optional

#10 of 17 Mike_J_D

Mike_J_D

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2003

Posted January 05 2006 - 05:45 AM

Quote:
Your 3806 also converts analog video (composite, s-video, and component) to HDMI. You can run Xbox component to the receiver, and still maintain one HDMI connection from the receiver to TV. That way you don't even need to touch the video switching on the TV ever.


thats exactly what i was looking for. thank you. looks like i need another HDMI cable, yikes!! i bought one at BB last night and was shocked by the price. no biggie, it will make things easier in the long run. thanks again for all the information.
HT - Denon 3808ci | Elite Pro-111FD | PS3 60gb | Panamax 5300PM | NHT ST4 | NHT SB2 | NHT SC1 | SVS 20-39 | NHT SA3

#11 of 17 Yong Chan

Yong Chan

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 28 2002

Posted January 06 2006 - 03:24 PM

Quote:
bought one at BB last night and was shocked by the price. no biggie, it will make things easier in the long run. thanks again for all the information.


Return the HDMI cable to BB. Buy one at blue jeans cable

I can't personally attest to the quality of these cables, but they are the cheapest that I have seen on the internet. Don't buy the crap they try to feed you at BB regarding more expensive cables. HDMI is a digital cable, so there will be no interference with other equipment making extra shielding and thicker cables not necessary.

yc

#12 of 17 Jongyoon Lee

Jongyoon Lee

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 2002

Posted January 07 2006 - 10:13 AM

The cheapest HDMI cable can be found on eBay. The ones on eBay are insanely cheap and will make you wonder if you are getting a pice of junk at that price (~$10). I've tried two different ones from different vendors, and they work just fine for me. YMMV.

Regarding blue jean cables, I actually have a couple of their digital coax. They use Canare cables and connectors and I believe they cut and terminate their own. The quality is very good. I don't know about their HDMI cables. It looks like they are just reselling other brands.

#13 of 17 Mike_J_D

Mike_J_D

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2003

Posted January 08 2006 - 05:20 AM

I did take the HDMI cable back to BB. I was wondering about Blue Jeans and their quality. The high end store I visit occasionally has Straight Wire, which are IMO insanely expensive. I did order a custom .5 meter digital coax cable from them. They say I will hear a big difference between the Straight Wire and Monster Toslink I'm running now. Has anyone ever used Straight Wire?
HT - Denon 3808ci | Elite Pro-111FD | PS3 60gb | Panamax 5300PM | NHT ST4 | NHT SB2 | NHT SC1 | SVS 20-39 | NHT SA3

#14 of 17 Kwang Suh

Kwang Suh

    Supporting Actor

  • 849 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 04 1999

Posted January 08 2006 - 07:24 PM

Try http://www.monoprice.com for inexpensive cables.

I'm using component switching on my receiver and have no noticed no difference in picture quality.

#15 of 17 HiHoStevo

HiHoStevo

    Agent

  • 34 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 1999

Posted March 29 2006 - 12:49 PM

check out the cables at www.monoprice.com
There are two theories for successfully arguing with a woman – neither one works!

#16 of 17 Steve_Blazer

Steve_Blazer

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2003

Posted March 30 2006 - 11:54 AM

HDMI out from the cable box to the 3806 prolly wont work.

HDCP issues are well documented and affect most HDMI devices.

The 3806 is no exception.

I would use whichever HDMI devices work and stick to component with the rest.
The component to HDMI conversion feature in the 3806 means you still only have to use 1 cable to the TV regardless of what comes in.


Apart from the HDCP thing I really like my 3806.

#17 of 17 Kimo Bonnelycke

Kimo Bonnelycke

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 98 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 01 1999

Posted March 31 2006 - 09:23 AM

I have purchased many blue jeans cable, and I think they are fantastic. You get great quality cables (Mostly belden, but the HDMI/DVI are from avlink) and great connectors.

As for HDMI/DVI/Toslink and such (digital signal medium) I believe using decent/good quality cables (such as the avlink cables) is fine. It is just 0's and 1's. They either get there or they don't IMHO. Of course if the cable is crap, they might not get there.

Kimo


Back to Receivers/Separates/Amps



Forum Nav Content I Follow