Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Denon AVR 1803 Cutting Out


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Steve_Blazer

Steve_Blazer

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2003

Posted December 30 2005 - 05:41 AM

Wondered if anyone else has or had problems with one of these cutting out ?

It only does it when in DTS and during particularly intense parts of a movie.
If keep the sound down to about -20 its runs through ok.
Anything above this and it trips into protect mode with the LED blinking away happily...

ARG.

War Of The Worlds and Master & Commander in particular do this every time.

I did a search on here and found a few comments and possible solutions, but none of these applied to Denon equipment.

Any ideas??

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Shane Martin

Shane Martin

    Producer



  • 6,017 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 1999

Posted December 30 2005 - 06:46 AM

Steve,
During intense sequences it is putting a bigger load on the amplifier and making it go into clipping. The short answer is you need more power or keep the volume lower and make due. Nothing is wrong with your Denon but it doesn't appear to be suiting your needs at this point if you like it loud.

I assume you have a subwoofer correct? If that is correct then I assume you have your mains, center and rears set to small correct? If not then change it. If you do not have a subwoofer then you should consider a good one and set your mains, center and rears to small.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Steve_Blazer

Steve_Blazer

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2003

Posted December 30 2005 - 07:14 AM

I did have the fronts set to large, and yes, I do have a subwoofer.
During my search of prior posts this small/large thing came up so I checked and reset them to small.
I havnt tested since, was waiting til I got finished with the new banana plugs.

I also found little fingers had unscrewed one of the surround sound speaker cables from their posts Posted Image

A little history to shed light on the possibility of lack of pwer :
I used to be able to run this LOUD (at reference level) and just wondered what had changed to make this start cutting out at such a reduced volume.

I'lll finish up the banana plugs and test drive it this afternoon.

Thanks for the help so far!

PS ... The new Denon 3806 looks sooo inviting as an upgrade if power does turn out to be an issue.

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Yong Chan

Yong Chan

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 28 2002

Posted December 30 2005 - 08:34 AM

You should upgrade anyways...just because you have the urge..Posted Image

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Steve_Blazer

Steve_Blazer

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2003

Posted December 30 2005 - 01:01 PM

Well I soldered everything .. all banana plugs and spade connectors at the speakers etc.

Set the speakers to 'small' and made sure the crossover was set properly.

Cranked it up and never made it past the titles ..

ARG...

Tripped to protect mode immediately.

Any ideas?

I'm running 8ohm Infinity Primus speakers & sub.
Towers at the front and 150s at the back.

Any help most appreciated.

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Shane Martin

Shane Martin

    Producer



  • 6,017 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 1999

Posted December 30 2005 - 02:33 PM

If any loose connections are present it will send it into clipping quicklike. Double and triple check that.

It's also very possible that the receiver is not working properly(broke). If you could play it at reference in the past, I don't see why you couldn't now unless something was up with the unit or your wiring.

Maybe others have better ideas and I'm missing something.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   John S

John S

    Producer



  • 5,460 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2003

Posted December 30 2005 - 10:26 PM

Replace the AVR....

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   douglas-b

douglas-b

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 196 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2003
  • Real Name:Douglas Berry
  • LocationIndiana

Posted December 31 2005 - 01:09 AM

Is it calibrated properly with tones and a SPL meter or do you have all channels turned up as high as they will go? Just wondering?