-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

HDMI cable for HD or Upconverting DVD?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Mike Milillo

Mike Milillo

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 142 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 14 2003

Posted December 22 2005 - 09:00 AM

Hello, I have one HDMI input on my set. Does anybody know which source would benefit most from using the HDMI cable? DirecTV HD DVR box. or panasonic s77 720p dvd player.

I would use component for the source that doesn't get the HDMI.

thanks

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Mort Corey

Mort Corey

    Supporting Actor

  • 981 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 21 2003

Posted December 22 2005 - 10:03 AM

IIRC, your upconverting DVD player won't upconvert over component anyway. If so, your choice is easyPosted Image

Mort

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Mike Milillo

Mike Milillo

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 142 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 14 2003

Posted December 23 2005 - 05:48 AM

right, I got that. But my question is, is it worth it to upconvert over HDMI, or to use the HDMI for the HD source?

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Andrew Beckmen

Andrew Beckmen

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 95 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 25 2001

Posted December 23 2005 - 07:02 PM

I'd say use the HDMI for a TRUE HD source and not upscaling. The S-77 should look fine over component (though I have never tried it, IMO it doesn't look THAT differant on 480p via HDMI than 720p/1080i on HDMI).

But do they make some kind of HDMI hub or switching box or something to rectify this? I might be in the same boat if I ever finally get HD cable and/or an X-Box 360.
My DVD Collection--DVDAficionado
My Home Theatre
My Star Wars Collection

"Psychos do not EXPLODE when sunlight hits them, Carlos. I don't a give a f--- HOW crazy they are!"

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   Dick Knisely

Dick Knisely

    Second Unit

  • 372 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 22 2005

Posted December 24 2005 - 03:18 AM

If you can, try it and see if it matters. But I'd give the HDMI input to whatever device was had a true HD signal to work with and that's not the DVD. Both the TV and the DVD will upconvert and component will support 480P from the DVD.
I am not young enough to know everything. -Oscar Wilde-

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   Mike Milillo

Mike Milillo

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 142 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 14 2003

Posted December 26 2005 - 05:32 AM

yeah, that makes sense. thanks