Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

I have a question


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Leonard B

Leonard B

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 99 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 2002

Posted December 18 2005 - 05:02 AM

I have a Directv receiver that I want to use to watch tv in two rooms. I have done this before; I split the signal, then, depending which room I was watching tv in, use one of those wireless extenders (the name escapes me). In my new house I planned on doing the same. The problem is that I can only get satellite tv on the tv that is connected directly to the satellite receiver. The other tv shows no signal. I am using a high quality Acoustic Research splitter. Does anyone know what I am missing? Thanks in advance.

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted December 18 2005 - 08:04 AM

What receiver? Some HD receivers will turn off all but their HDMI or component outputs when viewing HD. Assuming it's an SD receiver, how are you sending video/audio to the other TV? RF, composite video or s-video? Have you checked your cables to the other room? You say you are using a spliter. Have you connected both outputs of the splitter to the TV that you know is working? Is the other TV even working? Can you haul it into the other room so you can see them side by side?

Basically, you have given us very few details to work with so I only guessed at your problem. You will have to do basic troubleshooting and test each item that is in both signal chains.

-Robert

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Leonard B

Leonard B

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 99 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 2002

Posted December 18 2005 - 02:06 PM

I have an older 422 receiver (SD). I am connecting it to my HDTV via S-video and the tv in the other room is connected by RG6 cable. I tried the receiver on the tv's in both rooms and they are both working. But the problem is that I am not getting a picture on the tv that is not connected directly to the receiver. I checked the tv's setup and that seems to be working. Still very puzzling...

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted December 19 2005 - 12:28 AM

Sounds like you may have a bad cable. Connect your VCR to it and send the output to the other TV to test the cable. It may not be the actual cable though. Most of thet time it's a bad F-connector. Cut the old one off and put a new one on. Takes 2 minutes.

-Robert

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   Leonard B

Leonard B

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 99 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 2002

Posted December 19 2005 - 03:43 PM

I figured it out. My problem is that I split the signal before it went to the receiver. I connected the cable from the dish directly to the receiver and ran a cable from the OUT to TV to the tv in the other room. Voila! I now have a picture on both tv's. Thanks for all the replies!

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt

    Producer



  • 3,813 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 08 1998

Posted December 21 2005 - 02:21 AM

Glad you got it figured out Leonard and nice to see another local!