Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Dell keeps sending me monitors?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
209 replies to this topic

#1 of 210 OFFLINE   Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall

    Supporting Actor



  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2003

Posted October 19 2005 - 08:25 AM

I feel like by posting this I'll jynx myself and won't get another one but oh well. I'm curious as to if anybody else has had a similar "problem".

I wanted to replace the first one I got because it had a good number of dead pixels. So they sent me one and I sent the one I had back. 2 or 3 days later they send me another monitor. Then Friday at the end of that week they sent me another one. So by the weekend I have 3. I decided to take one out (hehehe) and hook it up cause i've never had dual monitors before. Very cool, still got them hooked up now. So weekend goes by, nothing on monday. Yesterday, another one arrives at the door. By now im going "what....in....the....hell" and at the sametime i'm laughing. Low and behold, today....another one.... Including the one that is truely mine, I have five 24" widescreens. The rest are being collected in the corner in the dining room.

Can anybody relate to this limbo?
I work on Film, Animation & Sound Design in downtown Chicago.
 

#2 of 210 OFFLINE   RickER

RickER

    Producer



  • 5,130 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 04 2003
  • Real Name:Rick
  • LocationTulsa, Oklahoma

Posted October 19 2005 - 08:29 AM

I hope your not being charged for this! Have you called them?

#3 of 210 OFFLINE   Jeff Peake

Jeff Peake

    Supporting Actor



  • 505 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 12 1998

Posted October 19 2005 - 08:56 AM

Sweet!

I just bought a 24" dell widescreen, and have already called for a replacement because it makes a high pitched squealing noise when it gets warm. Make sure yours dont do that. See this thread for more info.

Here is a pic of my setup:

I have 2 17" viewsonics and the 24" dell:


Pic 1

Pic 2

#4 of 210 OFFLINE   Jerry Almeida

Jerry Almeida

    Second Unit



  • 422 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 07 1999
  • Real Name:Jerry Almeida
  • LocationTampa, FL

Posted October 19 2005 - 09:16 AM

Can I have one?
Everybody relax, I'm here. -Jack Burton

#5 of 210 OFFLINE   Paul Padilla

Paul Padilla

    Supporting Actor



  • 767 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 15 2002

Posted October 19 2005 - 09:41 AM

They'll figure out they've screwed up eventually and try to collect for them after (hopefully) contacting you. Technically you requested at least the first one so the "If I never asked for it, I can keep it." rule of thumb is out the window.

Even if that weren't the case it's not worth it...you know they're not yours and Kharma will bite you in the butt eventually. Posted Image

Call Dell and make them give you return air bills.

I'll bet that dual monitor setup looks sweet, though.Posted Image
I'm a ****ing idiot 'cause I can't make a lamp?
No, you're a genius 'cause you can't make a lamp.
What do you know about trigonometry?
I could care less about trigonometry.
Did you know without trigonometry there would be no engineering? Without lamps there'd be no light.

#6 of 210 OFFLINE   Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall

    Supporting Actor



  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2003

Posted October 19 2005 - 11:10 AM

I'm gonna call them once im sure the monitors stop comming.

http://www.law.corne....9----000-.html

That seems to suggest I can keep them. Paul I've been through enough emotionally damaging stuff in my life to make a priest commit suicide, if once in my life something extraordinary happens to me at the small expense of a billion dollar company, it doesn't bother me to much. I do have strong morals but to make a percentage comparison it would be like me dropping a nickel on the ground and somebody else picking it up. What does bother me is the chance that whoever made the mistake could lose their job, that I don't want to be a part of. Still I'm going to wait and see if anymore come. If none come by next Friday I'll suppose it's all done with.

I don't think anymore will come anyways. Seems like the way of the universe to make this stop happening when I bring it up to a mass amount of people, if I kept it a secret maybe I'd end up getting a bunch more. God needs to leave me be and get a map of africa. I've never deserved anything I've ever gotten so the fact that something like this would happen to me just makes me stutter.
I work on Film, Animation & Sound Design in downtown Chicago.
 

#7 of 210 OFFLINE   Mark Giles

Mark Giles

    Second Unit



  • 272 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 30 2002

Posted October 19 2005 - 11:36 AM

OR....

Just hold on to them until they contact you. Dont open them or anything. Give them....say a year or so to request them back.


Hey Jeff, that monitor setup looks very nice! I have a three-monitor setup with 3 19inch Sony lcd's that look similar to your setup. They each have two inputs (one dvi and one 15pin) so I utilize my two computers video cards and my Tivo cable TV DVI out to swap between different views. It's lovely!! When I'm not using it, I have a screen saver from one computer that spreads out over all three screens. It looks so cool in pitch dark! I wouldnt have it no other way now!!

I originally bought it for surround gaming but it turned out to be harder than it seems. Still the possibilities alone were too much to turn down. $1500 for all three after rebates hurt but the 12ms sold me.

#8 of 210 OFFLINE   Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall

    Supporting Actor



  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2003

Posted October 19 2005 - 11:43 AM

Yes lookin good there Jeff. I'm curious on whether or not I can get 3 monitors going, my video card only has two connections, well....3, DVI VGA and S-Video. My card is an ATI X850 XT PE.
I work on Film, Animation & Sound Design in downtown Chicago.
 

#9 of 210 OFFLINE   James T

James T

    Screenwriter



  • 1,643 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 08 1999

Posted October 19 2005 - 12:08 PM

That's pretty funny. I guess someone forgot to close your ticket when they recieved their monitor back. I agree with exeryone else and double check my credit card bill to make sure there isn't a few extra charges on it.

#10 of 210 OFFLINE   Mark Giles

Mark Giles

    Second Unit



  • 272 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 30 2002

Posted October 19 2005 - 12:21 PM

I dont think the svideo will work along with the other two Allen. I think I read that somewhere.

Anyway, what you can do is use the AGP card to connect two monitors and then buy a cheap $15-$30 PCI video card for the third one.

I have a motherboard the supports the PCI-express video cards, so I bought two video cards that have 2 DVI outputs each on them. But this is the extream route if you want the 3 moniter setup.

#11 of 210 OFFLINE   Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall

    Supporting Actor



  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2003

Posted October 19 2005 - 12:45 PM

Mark wouldn't there be a resolution support issue with a cheap video card? 1920x1200.

Getting an adaptor that lets me hook up two cords into one input wouldnt work right, the only result would be displaying the samething on two monitors?
I work on Film, Animation & Sound Design in downtown Chicago.
 

#12 of 210 OFFLINE   Christ Reynolds

Christ Reynolds

    Producer



  • 3,597 posts
  • Join Date: May 06 2002

Posted October 19 2005 - 01:15 PM

i'd keep a close watch on any credit card you've used with dell.

also, you'd most likely be getting a call (or contacted somehow) before anyone loses their job.

CJ
And then when I feel so stuffed I can't eat anymore, I just use the restroom! And then I CAN eat more!

#13 of 210 OFFLINE   Mark Giles

Mark Giles

    Second Unit



  • 272 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 30 2002

Posted October 19 2005 - 03:11 PM

Well yeah, just make sure the card supports up to the resolution your looking for. From my experience, most cards these days...even most older ones suppport pretty high resolutions.

Heres a PCI Video Card that supports the resolution up to 2048x1536 and 32 bit color. Only $40. Im sure you can find cheaper than this too out there.

I think an adaptor that your speaking of will just split the signal out, cloning the same image on both moniters. Maybe someone else can confirm this since I've never actually tried it.

#14 of 210 OFFLINE   Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall

    Supporting Actor



  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2003

Posted October 19 2005 - 10:53 PM

I'm confused how it works. Rather im confused how putting something like that Radeon 7000 in with a Radeon X850 XT PE will work out so the 7000 knows it's the left monitor. Also confused on how switching system heavy media or programs from an X850 screen to that screen. Can you explain?
I work on Film, Animation & Sound Design in downtown Chicago.
 

#15 of 210 OFFLINE   MarcoBiscotti

MarcoBiscotti

    Producer



  • 4,796 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 2003

Posted October 19 2005 - 11:09 PM

Give them 3 weeks and than... EBAY!!

Posted Image

#16 of 210 OFFLINE   Dennis*G

Dennis*G

    Supporting Actor



  • 524 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 07 2003

Posted October 20 2005 - 12:47 AM

Quote:
I'm confused how it works. Rather im confused how putting something like that Radeon 7000 in with a Radeon X850 XT PE will work out so the 7000 knows it's the left monitor. Also confused on how switching system heavy media or programs from an X850 screen to that screen. Can you explain?


The OS itself will take care of that. Once the vid cards are installed, when you bring up the monitor properties box, you can choose which monitor you wish to be what.

Moving programs between the two monitors is basically drag and drop, the two monitors can act as just one big desktop. The only problem is sometimes if you move a dvd movie playing or anything that is running a video, the video may go black. But basic windows (like word or IE) will simply just move over.

That make any sense??

#17 of 210 OFFLINE   Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall

    Supporting Actor



  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2003

Posted October 20 2005 - 01:23 AM

The graphics card wont be able to work together as ar as gaming and stuff? What about those Dual 7800 GTX setups, does those guys work together to be even more powerful or are they seperate?
I work on Film, Animation & Sound Design in downtown Chicago.
 

#18 of 210 OFFLINE   Dave Poehlman

Dave Poehlman

    Producer



  • 3,817 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 08 2000

Posted October 20 2005 - 03:43 AM

Here at work, the engineering department ordered a $11,000 HP 42" plotter.

Two of them showed up on the loading dock.

These things are 250 lbs each! How can you accidentally put an extra one on the truck!??! I mean, it's not like they were stuck together and you didn't see it!

#19 of 210 OFFLINE   Jeff Peake

Jeff Peake

    Supporting Actor



  • 505 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 12 1998

Posted October 20 2005 - 03:47 AM

When I ordered a Viewsonic 17" LCD from dell, they shipped 2 of them.

Only one was on the credit card. I hooked them both up, and once that was done there was no way I could go back to a single monitor. A few days later, the 2nd one showed up on my credit card :-(

I kept them both though, multi-monitors are great.

Jeff

#20 of 210 OFFLINE   Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

    Studio Mogul



  • 37,891 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1999

Posted October 20 2005 - 04:14 AM

Now there's a nice way to sell more monitors, just ship people an extra one and then bill them for it, and hope the people don't return them.
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012