What's new

new ipod (1 Viewer)

EricW

Senior HTF Member
is anyone tempted to get this?

http://www.apple.com/ipod/ipod.html

my ipod is a 3rd gen (and a shuffle), so it's tempting. i wonder how the video encoding is. in terms of media players, there might be better ones on the market, but this is ipod! :P

DougWright

Stunt Coordinator
meh!

Sure it is slim, but my Dell Axim X50v has the same sound chip, a great screen, and supports SD and CF cards plus has the benefit of being a pocket pc. With my bluetooth headset I never actually have to touch the pocket pc when playing music, so size is not an issue.

I do not need to use itunes to put music on it, just drag and drop. I love everything about the ipod (especially the black nano) except having to use itunes.

Now if I can just get a pocket pc with a phone (I know they are available) I will be happy, convergence is good.

Carlo_M

Senior HTF Member
Sorry, I'm an iPod newbie, but if I want to put raw WAV files and play them back, can I do that on an iPod? Not sure what iTunes is. Music quality is of utmost importance to me so I don't want to have to use some compression on my songs. I want to rip WAVs from CD to my PC, then onto a portable device (and I'm currently interested in the new 30GB iPod). Can this be done fairly easily?

Thanks!

MarkHastings

Senior HTF Member
Carlo, You can put WAV files on an iPod (as well as many other formats). iTunes is the player that let's you transfer files back and forth between your computer and iPod:
http://www.apple.com/itunes/overview/

Obviously you won't be purchasing any music from the iTunes store (because they are compressed music), but the main reason I got the iPod is because Apple uses the MP4 technology which is much better (at the same data rates) as MP3's (which the other internet sites sell).

Thomas Newton

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas Newton