Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

new ipod


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
34 replies to this topic

#1 of 35 OFFLINE   EricW

EricW

    Screenwriter



  • 2,309 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 01 2001

Posted October 13 2005 - 06:17 AM

is anyone tempted to get this?

http://www.apple.com/ipod/ipod.html

my ipod is a 3rd gen (and a shuffle), so it's tempting. i wonder how the video encoding is. in terms of media players, there might be better ones on the market, but this is ipod! Posted Image
"now, if that's a fact, tell me... am i lying?"

#2 of 35 OFFLINE   DougWright

DougWright

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 155 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 24 2000

Posted October 13 2005 - 08:14 AM

meh!

Sure it is slim, but my Dell Axim X50v has the same sound chip, a great screen, and supports SD and CF cards plus has the benefit of being a pocket pc. With my bluetooth headset I never actually have to touch the pocket pc when playing music, so size is not an issue.

I do not need to use itunes to put music on it, just drag and drop. I love everything about the ipod (especially the black nano) except having to use itunes.

Now if I can just get a pocket pc with a phone (I know they are available) I will be happy, convergence is good.
Doug "Thread Killer" Wright

#3 of 35 OFFLINE   dpippel

dpippel

    Producer



  • 3,295 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2000
  • Real Name:Doug

Posted October 13 2005 - 08:42 AM

Still no customizable EQ. Posted Image

Careful man, there's a beverage here!


#4 of 35 OFFLINE   Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Lead Actor



  • 9,753 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted October 13 2005 - 09:15 AM

Quote:
I love everything about the ipod (especially the black nano) except having to use itunes.
Sorry, I'm an iPod newbie, but if I want to put raw WAV files and play them back, can I do that on an iPod? Not sure what iTunes is. Music quality is of utmost importance to me so I don't want to have to use some compression on my songs. I want to rip WAVs from CD to my PC, then onto a portable device (and I'm currently interested in the new 30GB iPod). Can this be done fairly easily?

Thanks!

XBox Live: TheL1brarian (let's play Destiny on XB1)


#5 of 35 OFFLINE   MarkHastings

MarkHastings

    Executive Producer



  • 12,013 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 27 2003

Posted October 13 2005 - 09:23 AM

Carlo, You can put WAV files on an iPod (as well as many other formats). iTunes is the player that let's you transfer files back and forth between your computer and iPod:
http://www.apple.com/itunes/overview/

Obviously you won't be purchasing any music from the iTunes store (because they are compressed music), but the main reason I got the iPod is because Apple uses the MP4 technology which is much better (at the same data rates) as MP3's (which the other internet sites sell).

#6 of 35 OFFLINE   Thomas Newton

Thomas Newton

    Screenwriter



  • 1,454 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 16 1999

Posted October 13 2005 - 09:36 AM

Quote:
Sorry, I'm an iPod newbie, but if I want to put raw WAV files and play them back, can I do that on an iPod?

Yes, you can store music in uncompressed format, at least on the full-size iPods. Though "Apple Lossless" might be easier on the battery.

Quote:
Not sure what iTunes is.

An Apple music player program for Mac or PC. Combination jukebox, CD audio extractor, MP3 / AAC encoder, CD burner, and iPod manager. You put your music in it, and it syncs the music to the iPod when you plug in the iPod.

Quote:
Music quality is of utmost importance to me so I don't want to have to use some compression on my songs. I want to rip WAVs from CD to my PC, then onto a portable device (and I'm currently interested in the new 30GB iPod). Can this be done fairly easily?

If you're going to use .WAVs, get the 60GB iPod. 30GB is only enough to store about 40 full-length (74-minute) CDs' worth of music in .WAV or .AIFF format.

#7 of 35 OFFLINE   Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Lead Actor



  • 9,753 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted October 13 2005 - 09:47 AM

Thanks guys.

Thomas good point about the size...if I can scare up another $100 when I'm ready to buy (probably around XMas) I'll definitely go for the 60GB version.

If iTunes is simply the gateway program for me to get WAVs onto the iPod, then I'm not going to sweat it too much (though I can understand why others may not like it).

XBox Live: TheL1brarian (let's play Destiny on XB1)


#8 of 35 OFFLINE   MarkHastings

MarkHastings

    Executive Producer



  • 12,013 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 27 2003

Posted October 13 2005 - 09:54 AM

Carlo, I don't mind it, but others complain that iTunes can be rather 'bloating' on a PC. The Mac generally is great, but there are a lot of processes that get thrown into the startup on a PC.

Also, the one thing that always bugged me about iTunes is, it automatically updates your QuickTime. I had a QT pro key for my Mac and when I updated iTunes, it updated my QT to the newest version and my key no longer worked.

#9 of 35 OFFLINE   Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Lead Actor



  • 9,753 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted October 13 2005 - 09:59 AM

Oh that sucks, Mark. You'd think they'd write a program that is smart enough not to do something like that automatically, especially when you've purchased the Pro version.

Sucks about iTunes being such a bloated program. Luckily my work PC (where all my WAVs are stored so I don't have to bring CDs to work) is pretty robust, hopefully it can handle it. I may have to get into the startup settings and manually disable whatever iTunes programs try to start themselves up at boot-up.

Posted Image Posted Image for these kind of programs (the ones that try to take over your PC)

XBox Live: TheL1brarian (let's play Destiny on XB1)


#10 of 35 OFFLINE   Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor



  • 8,399 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted October 13 2005 - 10:39 AM

Quote:
Also, the one thing that always bugged me about iTunes is, it automatically updates your QuickTime.
and vice-freaking-versa. i wanted to install qt on one of my pc's, but i couldn't do it without also installing itunes. stupid that the install forces you to do two programs.

as for the new ipod, gimme a break. i just barely bought my nano ... how much upgrading can they expect from their customers. those bastages! Posted Image
 

#11 of 35 OFFLINE   MarkHastings

MarkHastings

    Executive Producer



  • 12,013 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 27 2003

Posted October 13 2005 - 11:13 AM

I wonder if the stand alone QT installer has iTunes attached to it?:
http://www.apple.com...standalone.html
Quote:
Luckily my work PC (where all my WAVs are stored so I don't have to bring CDs to work) is pretty robust
Yeah, that's why I don't mind it (i.e. my pc is pretty up to date), but I hear a lot of other complaining about it.

Also, check into the exact details of the sharing policy. I know I can only connect my iPod to the computer that I registered it to (i.e. my PC). I can connect it to my Mac, but it won't allow me to upload or download songs.

Obviously I can share the tunes (on 5 systems) that I download from iTunes, but I've never been able to use the iPod on more than one system.

It really doesn't bother me too much though, but it may for others.

#12 of 35 OFFLINE   Craig S

Craig S

    Producer



  • 5,513 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2000
  • Real Name:Craig Seanor
  • LocationLeague City, Texas

Posted October 13 2005 - 11:14 AM

There are several third-party solution for getting music onto an iPod for those who don't like iTunes. One of the most widely used (and loved by drag'n'droppers) is Anapod Explorer.

Note that you can turn off the auto-sync and populate your iPod with drag'n'drop using iTunes as well.

I've gotta say I have grown to love iTunes after an initial period of distaste. I had to give up my natural tendency to micro-manage everything. Once I turned my music collection over to iTunes, I just don't worry about it any more. Pop in a CD, rip it, repeat. At the end of a ripping session, pop in my iPod and it automatically copies all the new stuff down while I go grab another beer. Posted Image

Manual drag'n'dropping seems pretty archaic once you get used to the iLife... Posted Image

Three truths about movies, as noted by Roger Ebert:

 

* It's not what a movie is about, it's how it is about it.

* No good movie is too long, and no bad movie is short enough.

* No good movie is depressing, all bad movies are depressing.


#13 of 35 OFFLINE   Craig S

Craig S

    Producer



  • 5,513 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2000
  • Real Name:Craig Seanor
  • LocationLeague City, Texas

Posted October 13 2005 - 11:22 AM

Quote:
I wonder if the stand alone QT installer has iTunes attached to it?
No, it is truly stand-alone. That's the one we use at work.

Three truths about movies, as noted by Roger Ebert:

 

* It's not what a movie is about, it's how it is about it.

* No good movie is too long, and no bad movie is short enough.

* No good movie is depressing, all bad movies are depressing.


#14 of 35 OFFLINE   Thomas Newton

Thomas Newton

    Screenwriter



  • 1,454 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 16 1999

Posted October 13 2005 - 03:45 PM

Quote:
I can connect it to my Mac, but it won't allow me to upload or download songs.

It should allow you to download songs from the Mac ... if you don't mind blowing away all the songs currently on the iPod, and making the Mac the new "master", that is.

If you have a Mac and a PC in different locations, and you were hoping to use the iPod to synchronize the Mac and the PC, you're out of luck. You'll have to choose whether the iPod belongs to the Light Side or the Dark Side. Posted Image

#15 of 35 OFFLINE   Yee-Ming

Yee-Ming

    Producer



  • 4,330 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 04 2002
  • Real Name:Yee Ming Lim

Posted October 13 2005 - 04:18 PM

Quote:
If you have a Mac and a PC in different locations, and you were hoping to use the iPod to synchronize the Mac and the PC, you're out of luck. You'll have to choose whether the iPod belongs to the Light Side or the Dark Side.

Nuts. My wife already has an iPod and we have an iMac at home, and she's getting me a Nano for my birthday. I was thinking of using my office PC as the main machine for using my Nano, but once in a while might use the home machine to upload something. Guess that's out of the question.

#16 of 35 OFFLINE   Shane D

Shane D

    Supporting Actor



  • 651 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2001

Posted October 14 2005 - 01:22 AM

with real ipods (non shuffle) i think you can plug them into any machine and grab songs. you just cant sync them an have it do it automatically. But drag and drop will still work from itunes

#17 of 35 OFFLINE   MarkHastings

MarkHastings

    Executive Producer



  • 12,013 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 27 2003

Posted October 14 2005 - 01:55 AM

I know the whole 'synch' issue can only be used with one computer (i.e. it asks me to erase the contents when I plug it into another computer), but can you REALLY hook up a non-synched iPod into 2 computers and download/upload songs??

Again, my iPod's "Master" is my PC (at home) - I have a Mac at work and I think I've even tried turning off the 'synching' and I still can't access the songs on the Mac...is that because of the platform difference?

I don't think I've ever tried to connect the iPod to another PC to see if I can pull songs that way.
Quote:
with real ipods (non shuffle) i think you can plug them into any machine and grab songs.
Interesting. If no one has an answer, I'll have to try hooking my iPod up to my PC at work. Unfortunately I don't have the firewire adapter here at work to try it, and plus, it's still set to 'synch', so I'll have to turn that off at home and try to hook it up next Monday.

#18 of 35 OFFLINE   Brian L

Brian L

    Screenwriter



  • 2,882 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1998

Posted October 14 2005 - 03:10 AM

Quote:
I know the whole 'synch' issue can only be used with one computer (i.e. it asks me to erase the contents when I plug it into another computer), but can you REALLY hook up a non-synched iPod into 2 computers and download/upload songs??


Yup. I do it all the time between my PC and my daughters PC. Can't do it with a Shuffle, but I have done it with my 3g 40g and my wife's Mini.

I never liked the auto-sync feature. Step one with every iPod is Turn Off Auto Sync!

Now, when you say upload/download though, I am not so sure. What I mean is that I can transfer songs from either PC to any of our iPods.

I don't think you can go the other way w/o a 3rd party solution.

Brian

#19 of 35 OFFLINE   Cameron Yee

Cameron Yee

    Executive Producer



  • 10,642 posts
  • Join Date: May 09 2002
  • Real Name:Cameron Yee
  • LocationSince 2006

Posted October 14 2005 - 03:15 AM

There is a sync setting on the iPod itself. As long as you are synced to any computer, you will have issues when trying to connect to another. I have about 21 GB of music and a 20 GB iPod so I had to disable the sync function awhile ago. I use both a Mac and PC at work and have a PC at home and I connect to the three frequently. The problem I run into is when I want to move music from the iPod to another computer, since it doesn't have drag-drop functionality. But there are third party apps to do that.
One thing leads to another at cameronyee.com

#20 of 35 OFFLINE   Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs

    Executive Producer



  • 16,725 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 03 1999

Posted October 14 2005 - 04:05 AM

Gentlemen, the iPod, being a music (and, now, video) source, is best discussed here in A/V Sources. The Music area is for discussion of the music itself. Thank you. Carry on.


Back to Blu-ray, DVD, LD, Tivo, Satellite and Other Playback Devices



Forum Nav Content I Follow