Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Anyone using Verizon FIOS?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

#1 of 16 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,596 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 26 2005 - 04:26 AM

I currently am a Comcast broadband subscriber.

This past month Verizon wired my neighborhood
with fiber optic cable. Shortly, they will be
introducing their new Fios service which
is supposed to outpace cable company offerings
with blazingly faster broadband speed.

I am quite excited by this news -- especially
for the fact that the faster Fios is supposed
to be at least $10 cheaper a month.

Was hoping someone here is actually using Fios
and can tell me how much faster it is over cable.
I remember reading an article in USA TODAY or
THE WALL STREET JOURNAL less than 2 weeks ago from
a columnist who was touting the speed difference.

The only thing that worries me about Fios
is cable competition. I understand that once
Fios goes widespread, the cable companies
are going to increase their broadband speed to
match or exceed what the Verizon service is offering.

In other words, it may or may not be worth
switching providers if there is a cloud of
competition on the horizon.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#2 of 16 OFFLINE   SethH

SethH

    Screenwriter



  • 2,867 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 17 2003

Posted September 26 2005 - 05:16 AM

I would definitely make the switch if Fios was available in my area. I have yet to hear anyone complain about the speed of it. Everything I've heard is that it is definitely worth it to switch from cable. Especially since it is cheaper!

I would switch to Fios for now. If the cable companies do retaliate with a better offering, then wait about 6-12 months and see what financial incentives they'll give you to switch back.

Personally, I would not hesitate to switch at all.

#3 of 16 OFFLINE   Sami Kallio

Sami Kallio

    Screenwriter



  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted September 26 2005 - 07:50 AM

I've had FIOS for almost a year now and couldn't be happier. I'm getting exactly 15mbits down and 2mbits up on speed tests (when the server on the other side is up to it) which is the promised speed for my connection. Downloaded Fedore Core 3, both the DVD and 4 CD's at same time in (IIRC) about 2-2.5 hours.

#4 of 16 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Executive Producer



  • 14,315 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted September 26 2005 - 08:45 AM

If you don't need the extra speed, you can leverage the threat of switching services to get a price decrease from your current service. A quick call to ask if they will match or beat the FIOS price, with the threat of leaving, may save you some cash and the bother of switching services.

#5 of 16 OFFLINE   LDfan

LDfan

    Supporting Actor



  • 724 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 1998

Posted September 27 2005 - 01:35 AM

Verizon has been laying fiber like crazy here in Northern Va. For some strange reason my cable company Cox, all of the sudden bumped the internet speeds to match the Fios speeds without bumping the cost(5MBit and 15Mbit depending on what package).

You might want to sit and see how your cable company will react.

Jeff

#6 of 16 OFFLINE   Bob_Chase

Bob_Chase

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 101 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 12 2002

Posted September 27 2005 - 07:20 AM

Coaxial cable just doesn't have the same bandwidth as the FIOS. Sure the speeds are close now but cable is approaching its max speed and FIOS still has a waaaaaaays to go before they hit their cap. Sooner or later the coax cable companies are screwed.

Also of interest: Verizon will be offering television services via the fiber channel very soon. According to an article in last week's Wall Street Journal, the first city in the country to recieve the FIOS service last year (the name escapes me--somewhere in Texas) received television services last week via FIOS. 150 channels for $37.00/month.

The cable monopoly is just about over (at least until Comcast buys Verizon. Posted Image )

#7 of 16 OFFLINE   Sami Kallio

Sami Kallio

    Screenwriter



  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted September 27 2005 - 08:18 AM

It's where the FIOS Internet was launched as well, Keller TX. Lucky me! I'm on the phone waiting for customer service right now to order... Posted Image

Or maybe not:

"What FiOS doesn't offer are local channels or any programming that differentiates it from its cable and satellite rivals."

http://www.mediaweek...._id=1001179194

Then again from other source:

"The services include:
* Basic, with access to 15-35 local broadcast, weather and community
channels, as well as video-on-demand, for $12.95 per month. The service
is digital with a set-top box. Basic is also available as an analog
service that does not require a set-top box for viewing.

* Expanded Basic, Verizon's lead offer, delivers more than 180 video and
music channels for $39.95 a month. This tier includes access to 600 on-
demand titles now, with 1,800 by year end. This service requires a
standard-definition set-top box or a high-definition set-top box for HD
channels.

* La Conexion, a tier designed for bilingual consumers who enjoy TV
programs in English and Spanish, for $32.95 per month. The package
includes nearly 140 channels with English- and Spanish-language
programming and access to nearly 600 on-demand titles.
This service requires a standard-definition set-top box or a high-
definition set-top box for HD channels."

http://www.prnewswir....4113325&EDATE=

#8 of 16 OFFLINE   Todd Harlan

Todd Harlan

    Agent



  • 33 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 25 2000

Posted September 28 2005 - 02:11 AM

I have had FIOS for about a year and couldn't be more pleased with it. I have had zero problems and everytime I check the speed it's exactly as advertised (15/2).

Here are the some PDF's of the FIOS TV lineup/rates...

FIOS TV Lineup

FIOS TV Rates

#9 of 16 OFFLINE   DeathStar1

DeathStar1

    Producer



  • 3,291 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 28 2001

Posted September 28 2005 - 05:27 AM

Be wary at first about switching to FIOS. There are two things you should know...

1)You'll loose any DSL connection you currently have if you subscribe to Verison Buisness DSL. We found this out the hard way...

2)You also loose dialup service, unless you specifically tell them to wire it to receive dial up signals. That means in case the service ever goes out(wich it did for us in the first month, has been running smoothly since May), you're stuck without dialup to rely on...

good part is, the customer service people are pretty darn reliable and know there stuff, so you shouldn't have a problem there..

Anyway, we've been running it since April, and after a few false starts, things have been running smoothly since May.

Good luck Posted Image


Edit: Also if anyone hears about Verizon TV Testing for my town, please be sure to psot it. I emailed the local government and havn't gotten a response yet.

#10 of 16 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer



  • 17,092 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 28 2005 - 07:01 AM

As soon as I can get it, I will. Comcast has GOT to go.

Sam

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#11 of 16 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,596 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 28 2005 - 08:51 AM

Sam,

We live close to one another. I expect they
will be in your neighborhood soon.

Another question....

Is the speed of Fios dependent on how many people
are on-line in your neighborhood at the given moment?
I know cable is -- just wondering if it is the same
for Fios?

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#12 of 16 OFFLINE   Sami Kallio

Sami Kallio

    Screenwriter



  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted September 28 2005 - 09:28 AM

Quote:
Is the speed of Fios dependent on how many people
No, the bandwidth is so much wider that there is much more room for higher speeds.

#13 of 16 OFFLINE   Greg_R

Greg_R

    Screenwriter



  • 1,998 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2000
  • Real Name:Greg
  • LocationPortland, OR

Posted September 29 2005 - 05:02 AM

How does FiOS enter the home? Does the installer need to run a new cable (fiber) or does it come in on an existing cable or phone line?

#14 of 16 OFFLINE   Sami Kallio

Sami Kallio

    Screenwriter



  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted September 29 2005 - 06:01 AM

They will need to run fiber to the premise. Then they will install a distributing box inside your house. Internet will be Cat5 cable, TV was said to be still coax and I'm not sure about telephone (as I didn't subscribe for it).

#15 of 16 OFFLINE   SarahG

SarahG

    Second Unit



  • 494 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 06 2003

Posted September 30 2005 - 05:39 AM

I may have to check into this FIOS. I've been hearing about it for a little while but never really found out enough about it to switch. I've heard that the FIOS also can improve the quality of VoIP service. Probably wouldn't matter in my case because the quality I get is fine anyway.

Comcast is going to really be in for it if they don't keep up. They have enough going against them already with the customer service issues this year and the fact they wouldn't show the nationals games. Cable companies in general I think are going to have to really keep up to stay up.
Fish are Friends, not Food!

#16 of 16 OFFLINE   Sami Kallio

Sami Kallio

    Screenwriter



  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted November 14 2005 - 08:14 AM

Update: I received FIOS TV a few weeks ago and I have to say so far I'm VERY HAPPY customer. Much better PQ than Dish Network, receivers have much better connectivity (USB, RS232, optical sound etc.) but I haven't searched yet if there is software that supports them. And it comes with a much better price than Dish, even before the discount I got by having both internet and TV from them.

And no more $5/month charges per receiver for not having a phone line to connect to. These receivers get their updates from the FIOS internet connection. Posted Image